History Day Previous Topics

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA): "This exhibit showcases the 38 Tuskegee Institute Experiment Station Bulletins held by NAL that were written by George Washington Carver during his tenure as Director."
Previous pages archived in WayBack Machine at https://web.archive.org/web/20240901000000*/https://www.nal.usda.gov/exhibits/ipd/carver/exhibits/show/bulletins/carver

1917
From InternetArchive

Online digital library search.
Sometimes the author is the organization for which he worked (called a corporate author). These won't necessarily show up in these searches.

Online digital library search.
Sometimes the author is the organization for which he worked (called a corporate author). These won't necessarily show up in these searches.

From Tuskegee University
Use links for additional information.

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA): "This exhibit showcases the 38 Tuskegee Institute Experiment Station Bulletins held by NAL that were written by George Washington Carver during his tenure as Director."
Previous pages archived in WayBack Machine at https://web.archive.org/web/20240901000000*/https://www.nal.usda.gov/exhibits/ipd/carver/exhibits/show/bulletins/carver

From the USDA George Washington Carver Center

Also archived in WayBack Machine at https://web.archive.org/web/20250215000000*/https://www.nps.gov/museum/exhibits/tuskegee/gwcwagon.htm

Iowa PBS: "While George Washington Carver's rise from slavery to scientific accomplishment has inspired millions, time has reduced him to the man who did something with peanuts. This documentary uncovers Carver's complexities and reveals the full impact of his life and work."

Feb. 24, 2024 archived page in WayBack Machine
From the U.S. Mint

National Park Service (NPS). Includes links to many resources.
Previous versions archived in WayBack Machine at https://web.archive.org/web/20250215000000*/https://www.nps.gov/gwca/index.htm

National Park Service (NPS)
Previous versions archived in WayBack Machine at https://web.archive.org/web/20250215000000*/https://www.nps.gov/articles/george-washington-carver-national-monument-500391.htm#3/26.75/-125.51

National Park Service (NPS): "In 1881, Booker T. Washington arrived in Alabama and started building Tuskegee Institute both in reputation and literally brick by brick. He recruited the best and the brightest to come and teach here including George Washington Carver who arrived in 1896. Carver’s innovations in agriculture, especially with peanuts, expanded Tuskegee’s standing throughout the country. The story continues…. "
Previous pages archived in WayBack Machine at https://web.archive.org/web/20250000000000*/https://www.nps.gov/tuin/index.htm

National Park Service (NPS) online exhibit: "his three-part web exhibit highlights the achievements of Washington, Carver and the Tuskegee Airmen. It features collections at Tuskegee Institute National Historic Site and Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site located in Tuskegee, Alabama, and selected items from the Booker T. Washington National Monument in Hardy, Virginia, and George Washington Carver National Monument in Diamond, Missouri. The exhibit also features collections from the Library of Congress, National Digital Library; National Archives and Records Administration; and the Department of Defense."
Previous pages archived in WayBack Machine at https://web.archive.org/web/20170601000000*/https://www.nps.gov/museum/exhibits/tuskegee/index.htm

Archived page in WayBack Machine. National Park Service (NPS) publication. Full title: George Washington Carver: For His Time and Ours Special History Study: Natural History Related to George Washington Carver National Monument

National Park Service (NPS): "This 28-minute film explores the life of the George Washington Carver. The film features Altorro Prince Black as the adult George Washington Carver and Tyler Black as the young Carver, narration by Sheryl Lee Ralph, and music by Bobby Horton."
Previous pages archived in WayBack Machine at https://web.archive.org/web/20220701000000*/https://www.nps.gov/media/video/view.htm?id=99F39FF2-1DD8-B71B-0B9C1B5168C62DBE

By Rachel Kaufman, smithsonianmag.com, February 21, 2019

February 6, 2020 Posted by: Wendi Williams, Alabama Cooperative Extension System

National Archives (NARA) blog post in Rediscovering Black History posted October 20, 2015 by Ligon