History Day Previous Topics

Library of Congress (LOC) research guide on using Chronicling America newspapers. "In 1904, Theodore Roosevelt won the Presidential election over Alton Parker. This guide provides access to materials related to the “1904 Presidential Election” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."

Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "As the 26th U.S. President, Theodore Roosevelt enacted domestic and foreign policies. This guide provides access to material related to the "Roosevelt's Presidential Administration" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."

LOC: "The papers of Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919), public official, author, decorated veteran of the Spanish-American War, governor of New York, and president of the United States (1901-1909), consist of approximately 276,000 documents (roughly 461,000 images), most of which were digitized from 485 reels of previously reproduced microfilm. Held in the Library of Congress Manuscript Division, these papers constitute the largest collection of original Roosevelt documents in the world. The collection contains personal, family, and official correspondence, diaries, book drafts, articles, speeches, and scrapbooks, dating from 1759 to 1993 with the bulk of material from the period between 1878 and 1919."

LOC: " Consisting of 104 motion pictures and four sound recordings, the majority of the motion pictures (87) are from the Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection in the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division (M/B/RS) at the Library of Congress.

Founded in 1919, the Theodore Roosevelt Association was organized to perpetuate the legacy of Theodore Roosevelt. As part of its mission, it amassed a collection of motion pictures relating to the life and times of the former president. The collection contained films of persons and events from the period in which he lived, as well as films which featured Roosevelt. Much of the footage was taken from newsreels and other actuality films of the time. The association also compiled some of this footage to make silent documentaries on various aspects of Roosevelt's life, such as his trip on the River of Doubt in Brazil or the building of the Roosevelt Dam."