U.S. Constitution and Slavery
U.S. Constitution and Slavery
The Delegates Moral Dilemma Addressing Slavery When Writing the United States
Also look under the term Representation - the North and South differed. There was issue of property and people. Ex. Morris thought property shuld be taken into account, as well as population, when determining representation.
Particular People - We have many of their papers. The State Papers, but also copies of the personal/office papers of the person - especially if they held office.
Citations - As you come across citations within the text, you may notice that they are referenced slightly differently. Be sure you use the History Day recommended/required style. We can help you find the documents when you have citations. The Links below will go to the general pages.
U.S. Constitution - Books, Documents, etc.
U.S. Constitution - Books, Documents, etc.
These are only a few examples.
Friends of the Constitution: writings of the "other" Federalists, 1787-1788 by
Call Number: Stacks KF4515 .F75 1998 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 1998
We have hardbound, so our cover looks different
Papers of James Madison by
Call Number: Stacks E302 .M19 multi-volume Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: -1991
Clicking on the title should take you to the library catalog record, which gives more information on the volumes in this set.
Civil Rights since 1787 by
Call Number: Stacks E184.6 .C595 2000 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 2000
America's Founding Documents (NARA)
From National Archives (NARA): "These three documents, known collectively as the Charters of Freedom, have secured the rights of the American people for more than two and a quarter centuries and are considered instrumental to the founding and philosophy of the United States."
National Archives: "Through Founders Online, you can read and search through thousands of documents and records to and from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison and see firsthand the growth of democracy and the birth of the Republic. Their letters and journals are a kind of "first draft" of the Charters of Freedom."
U.S. Constitution: Acts of Congress Relating to Slavery
Part of an online collection at the Library of Congress
CONAN: Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis & Interpretation
Comprehensive and authoritative history, analysis, and interpretation of the Constitution
Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation
From the Library of Congress. Collection of U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates for the early years of the U.S.A. Detailed description available on their website
Racial thought in America; a documentary history by
Call Number: Stacks E185 .R89 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 1969-
The Constitution in Congress by
LibGuides: "This acclaimed series serves as a biography of the U.S. Constitution, offering an indispensable survey of the congressional history behind its development. In a rare examination of the role that both the legislative and executive branches have played in the development of constitutional interpretation, The Constitution in Congress shows how the actions and proceedings of these branches reveal perhaps even more about constitutional disputes than Supreme Court decisions of the time. The centerpiece for the fourth volume in this series is the great debate over slavery and how this divisive issue led the country into the maelstrom of the Civil War. From the Jacksonian revolution of 1829 to the secession of Southern states from the Union, legal scholar David P. Currie provides an unrivaled analysis of the significant constitutional events--the Wilmot Proviso, the Compromise of 1850, the Kansas-Nebraska Act, the Lincoln-Douglas Debates, and "Bleeding Kansas"--that led up to the war. Exploring how slavery was addressed in presidential speeches and debated in Congress, Currie shows how the Southern Democrats dangerously diminished federal authority and expanded states' rights, threatening the nation's very survival. Like its predecessors, this fourth volume of The Constitution in Congress will be an invaluable reference for legal scholars and constitutional historians alike."
Call Number: Stacks KF4541 .C833 2005 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 2006
Indians as the First Enslaved People
During the Pequot Wars, defeated tribes were dispersed and/or sent to Caribbean
lost many of the results
- Suggested Search Terms
- Slavery -- Indian Territory
- Indian slaves -- North America -- History
- Slaveholders -- Massachusetts -- Deerfield
- Indians, Treatment of -- United States -- History
- Pequot War, 1636-1638
- King Philip's War, 1675-1676
- Pequot Indians -- Connecticut -- History
- Mashpee (Mass.) -- History
- Indians of North America -- New England
- Indians of North America -- New England -- History -- 17th century
- Indians of North America -- Wars
- Ex-slaves of Indian tribes
- Slave trade -- United States -- History
- Slave trade -- North America -- History
- Indian Territory Slavery
- Indians -- First contact with Europeans
- Indians -- History
- Slavery -- Connecticut River Valley -- History
- Indian battles: with incidents in the early history of New England F7 .W59
- Puritan Parker : historical narrative of Sergeant William Parker, one of the founders of Hartford, Connecticut and a veteran of the Pequot Indian War F104.H353 P375 2011
- 1704 : the French and Indian raid on Deerfield, Massachusetts E197 .S48 2008
- Slavery before race : Europeans, Africans, and Indians at Long Island's Sylvester Manor Plantation, 1651-1821 E445.N56 H39 2013
- Slavery in the Connecticut Valley of Massachusetts E445.M4 R65 2009
- Children in colonial America / edited by James Marten ; with a foreword by Philip J. Greven E162 .C47 2007
- American Indians and state law : sovereignty, race, and citizenship, 1790-1880 KF8205.Z95 R67 2007
- Slavery/antislavery in New England E445.N5 S52 2003
- Bodies politic : negotiating race in the American North, 1730-1830 F7 .S88 2003
- Slavery in America : from colonial times to the Civil War : an eyewitness history StLib GIRS Reference E441 .S36 2000
- ? The early history of New England : illustrated by numerous interesting incidents 8th edition StLib Special Collections F7 .W58 1843 online at HathiTrust catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/13626012.html
- ? Gathered sketches from the early history of New Hampshire and Vermont : containing vivid and interesting account of a great variety of the adventures of our forefathers, and of other incidents of olden times ; original and selected F37 .C48 online Internet Archive hdl.loc.gov/loc.gdc/scd0001.00140414918
- The history of Philip's war : commonly called the great Indian war of 1675 and 1676 ; Also of the French and Indian wars at the eastward in 1689, 1690, 1692, 1696, and 1704 StLib Special Collections E83.67 .C575 1840 1829 edition online HathiTrust catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/2220724.html
- ? History of the discovery of America; of the landing of our forefathers at Plymouth and of their most remarkable engagements with the Indians in New-England, from their first landing in 1620 until the final subjugation of the natives in 1679. To which is annexed, the particulars of almost every important engagement with the savages at the westward to the present day. Including the defeat of Generals Braddock, Harmer and St. Clair, by the Indians at the westward; the Creek and Seminole war, etc StLib Charles T. Wells Collection E81 .T89 1828 HathiTrust catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/699730.html
- James DeWolf and the Rhode Island slave trade F83.D49 J64 2014
- A brief history of the Pequot War E83.63 .M38 1736a
Selected Databases. Others may be of help.
suggested terms: Indians, slavery, enslavement, pauper apprenticeship
Other terms used during the time period being studied
NewspaperARCHIVE.com : Connecticut
Historical newspaper database covering over 100 newspaper titles from cities and towns in Connecticut from 1786 to 2005. You may find newspaper articles, births, deaths, and more with browse by location, date and publication.
American Indian History Online
Biographies, events, primary sources, timelines, images, maps and charts, tribes and culture areas. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940
Digitized images of over 1,100 American magazines and journals that began publication between 1740 and 1900. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
Colonial State Papers
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
Congressional Legislative & Executive Publications
Public policy issues from Congressional Research Service. Coverage: CRS reports, 1916 - ; Committee Prints, 1830 -. Updated continuously. National and international.
Hartford Courant (1764-1997)
Newspaper. Coverage: Access to 1764 - 1997 is a separate subscription provided by the Connecticut State Library and requires a CT State Library card.
New York Times (1851-2019) with Index (1851-1993)
Historical New York Times with Index.Coverage: Full-text: 1851-2019. Index: 1851-1993.
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
U.S. Documents Masterfile: 1774-2023
Find U.S. Federal government information from 1744 to present that aggregates foundational governmental document indexes and current collections to create a single index to U.S. government publications. Many collections include links to full text. Includes GPO and non-GPO distributed publications.
U.S. Congressional Documents
A HeinOnline digitized collection of the bound and daily versions of the Congressional Record, and its predecessors. Coverage: 1789-.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
Reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Coverage: 1817-1980. For online content beyond 1980, try ProQuest Congressional
U.S. Federal Agency Library (HeinOnline)
Official case law of some of the most important United States government institutions. Coverage: Varies, earliest is 1894.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478