LibGuides Home: History Day Previous Topics: Native Americans

Native Americans

Native Americans (2016)

General

National Museum of the American Indian (SI)
Part of the Smithsonian Institute (SI).
Bureau of Indian Affairs
more...less...
US Government Manual : The Office of the Assistant Secretary for Indian Affairs establishes and implements Indian policy and programs; maintains the Federal-tribal Government-to-government relationship; assists the Secretary of the Interior with carrying out the Department's Federal trust and treaty responsibilities; directs and supervises the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the Bureau of Indian Education; supervises the Offices of Federal Acknowledgement, of Self-Governance, of Indian Gaming, of Indian Economic Development, and all administrative and financial resource management activities; and maintains liaison coordination between the Department and other Federal agencies that provide services or funding to the federally recognized tribes and to the eligible American Indians and Alaska Natives.

The Office of the Special Trustee for American Indians oversees departmentwide Indian trust reform efforts to increase the Secretary of the Interior's effectiveness at carrying out trust responsibilities to Indians. The Office also has programmatic responsibility for the management of financial trust assets, appraisals, and fiduciary trust beneficiary services.

Specific

American Indians in the U.S. Army
An Army.mil News & Media Profile that includes links to information in other agencies as well.
Native Americans in the U.S. Army
From U.S. Army Center of Military History. They are reorganizing their site 2024
Willing to Serve: American Indians (VHP)
Veterans History Project (VHP) description: "American Indians have eagerly served a government which did not always keep its word to their ancestors. All of the Native Americans featured here volunteered to serve in conflicts from World War II to Iraq. Few encountered any overt prejudice while in uniform, though Navajo Code Talkers were sometimes mistaken by their own men for Japanese soldiers. But as one code talker recalled, Navajos had a chance to prove wrong the bigots back home; the military prized them for speaking their own language. For all American Indian veterans, the honor of defending their country overrode all other considerations."

Indians as the First Enslaved People

During the Pequot Wars, defeated tribes were dispersed and/or sent to Caribbean

lost many of the results

Suggested Search Terms
- Slavery -- Indian Territory
- Indian slaves -- North America -- History
- Slaveholders -- Massachusetts -- Deerfield
- Indians, Treatment of -- United States -- History
- Pequot War, 1636-1638
- King Philip's War, 1675-1676
- Pequot Indians -- Connecticut -- History
- Mashpee (Mass.) -- History
- Indians of North America -- New England
- Indians of North America -- New England -- History -- 17th century
- Indians of North America -- Wars
- Ex-slaves of Indian tribes
- Slave trade -- United States -- History
- Slave trade -- North America -- History
- Indian Territory Slavery
- Indians -- First contact with Europeans
- Indians -- History
- Slavery -- Connecticut River Valley -- History
Indian battles: with incidents in the early history of New England F7 .W59
Puritan Parker : historical narrative of Sergeant William Parker, one of the founders of Hartford, Connecticut and a veteran of the Pequot Indian War F104.H353 P375 2011
1704 : the French and Indian raid on Deerfield, Massachusetts E197 .S48 2008
Slavery before race : Europeans, Africans, and Indians at Long Island's Sylvester Manor Plantation, 1651-1821 E445.N56 H39 2013
Slavery in the Connecticut Valley of Massachusetts E445.M4 R65 2009
Children in colonial America / edited by James Marten ; with a foreword by Philip J. Greven E162 .C47 2007
American Indians and state law : sovereignty, race, and citizenship, 1790-1880 KF8205.Z95 R67 2007
Slavery/antislavery in New England E445.N5 S52 2003
Bodies politic : negotiating race in the American North, 1730-1830 F7 .S88 2003
Slavery in America : from colonial times to the Civil War : an eyewitness history StLib GIRS Reference E441 .S36 2000
? The early history of New England : illustrated by numerous interesting incidents 8th edition StLib Special Collections F7 .W58 1843 online at HathiTrust catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/13626012.html
? Gathered sketches from the early history of New Hampshire and Vermont : containing vivid and interesting account of a great variety of the adventures of our forefathers, and of other incidents of olden times ; original and selected F37 .C48 online Internet Archive hdl.loc.gov/loc.gdc/scd0001.00140414918
The history of Philip's war : commonly called the great Indian war of 1675 and 1676 ; Also of the French and Indian wars at the eastward in 1689, 1690, 1692, 1696, and 1704 StLib Special Collections E83.67 .C575 1840 1829 edition online HathiTrust catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/2220724.html
? History of the discovery of America; of the landing of our forefathers at Plymouth and of their most remarkable engagements with the Indians in New-England, from their first landing in 1620 until the final subjugation of the natives in 1679. To which is annexed, the particulars of almost every important engagement with the savages at the westward to the present day. Including the defeat of Generals Braddock, Harmer and St. Clair, by the Indians at the westward; the Creek and Seminole war, etc StLib Charles T. Wells Collection E81 .T89 1828 HathiTrust catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/699730.html
James DeWolf and the Rhode Island slave trade F83.D49 J64 2014
A brief history of the Pequot War E83.63 .M38 1736a

Selected Databases. Others may be of help.

suggested terms: Indians, slavery, enslavement, pauper apprenticeship

Other terms used during the time period being studied

NewspaperARCHIVE.com : Connecticut
Historical newspaper database covering over 100 newspaper titles from cities and towns in Connecticut from 1786 to 2005. You may find newspaper articles, births, deaths, and more with browse by location, date and publication.
American Indian History Online
Biographies, events, primary sources, timelines, images, maps and charts, tribes and culture areas. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
American Indian History Educator's Guide American Indian History Educator's Guide – Infobase Database Platform (zendesk.com)
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940
Digitized images of over 1,100 American magazines and journals that began publication between 1740 and 1900. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
Colonial State Papers
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
ProQuest About Colonial State Papers https://www.proquest.com/csp/productfulldescdetail?accountid=10341
Congressional Legislative & Executive Publications
Public policy issues from Congressional Research Service. Coverage: CRS reports, 1916 - ; Committee Prints, 1830 -. Updated continuously. National and international.
Search tips at https://proquest.libguides.com/congressionalhelp/advanced
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922, Series 1 through 7, 10, 18 & Custom CT Historical Newspapers
Full-text of American newspapers, 1690-1922.
Vendor's Guide - How to Use This Database https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/product-help/eanx?p=EANX
Hartford Courant (1764-1999)
Newspaper. Coverage: Access to 1764 - 1998 is a separate subscription provided by the Connecticut State Library and requires a CT State Library card.
New York Times (1851-2019) with Index (1851-1993)
Historical New York Times with Index.Coverage: Full-text: 1851-2019. Index: 1851-1993.
ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
User help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/congressionalhelp
U.S. Documents Masterfile: 1774-2023
Find U.S. Federal government information from 1744 to present that aggregates foundational governmental document indexes and current collections to create a single index to U.S. government publications. Many collections include links to full text. Includes GPO and non-GPO distributed publications.
U.S. Congressional Documents
A HeinOnline digitized collection of the bound and daily versions of the Congressional Record, and its predecessors. Coverage: 1789-.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/us-congressional-documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
This Readex database provides reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Coverage: 1817-1980. For online content beyond 1980, try ProQuest Congressional or U.S. Congressional Serial Set from HeinOnline.
U.S. Federal Agency Library (HeinOnline)
Official case law of some of the most important United States government institutions. Coverage: Varies, earliest is 1894.