History Day Previous Topics

Cold War

People

Suggested terms

• Cold War and Berlin
• Iron Curtin and Berlin
• Berlin Blockade
• East Berlin Uprising
• Berlin Quadripartite Agreement
• Federal Republic of Germany
• German Democratic Republic
• Vienna Summit and Khrushchev
• Kennedy and Berlin
• Checkpoint Charlie or Check Point Charlie
• Search catalog
  • Berlin Wall, Berlin, Germany, 1961-1989
  • Berlin Wall, Berlin, Germany, 1961-1989 -- Congresses
  • Berlin (Germany) -- Politics and government -- 1945-1990
  • Berlin (Germany) -- Politics and government -- 1945-1990 -- Congresses
  • Berlin (Germany) -- History -- 1945-1990
  • Soviet Union -- Foreign relations -- United States
  • United States -- Foreign relations -- Soviet Union
  • Berlin (Germany) -- History -- 1945-1990 -- Congresses
  • Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963
  • United States -- Politics and government -- 1961-1963
  • Soviet Union -- Foreign relations -- United States -- Congresses
  • United States -- Foreign relations -- Soviet Union -- Congresses
  • United States. Central Intelligence Agency. Historical Collections Division

Suggested Books

• A city torn apart [electronic resource] : building of the Berlin Wall Connect to http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo15403
• A City Divided, Life & Death in the Shadow of the Wall - Download the document and access other resources from the National Archives  http://www.archives.gov/research/foreign-policy/cold-war/berlin-wall-1962-1987/
• The Berlin Wall collection [electronic resource] Connect to http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo15407
• The Berlin wall [electronic resource] : 20 years later
• The Berlin Crisis of 1961 - from the National Archives. Links to other resources.  http://www.archives.gov/research/foreign-policy/cold-war/1961-berlin-crisis/2011-conference.html
• Forging the shield : the U.S. Army in Europe, 1951-1962 FedDocs D 114.2:C 67/2/SHIELD   
• President Kennedy : profile of power / Richard Reeves E842 .R358 1993  
• Foreign Relations of the United States, 1961–1963, Volume XIV, Berlin Crisis, 1961–1962 Fed Docs S 1.1: 1961-1963/v.14 also online at US State Department.  https://history.state.gov/historicaldocuments/frus1961-63v14

Suggested Articles

• These are only the articles recorded from Readers Guide to Periodical Literature during visit to Connecticut State Library. There will be many others.
  • Time on Level 6 or in microfiche.
    • 1961 - Vol. 78, p. 20-5 Aug 25 ; Vol.78, p.30, Sept. 8 ; Vol. 78, pages 18-19, Sept 29
    • 1962 - Vol. 80, p. 18, Aug 24
  • Newsweek -
    • 1961 - Vol. 58, p.15-18, Aug 28
    • 1962 - Vol. 60, p. 33 Aug 27 ; Vol. 60, p. 11-13  Sept 3
  • New Yorker - there was a series called Letters From Berlin. I don't know what it covered.
    • 1961 - Vol 37, p.35-6+ Sept 2 ; V. 37, p. 153-4+ Nov 4
    • 1962 - V. 38, p.115-16+  May 26
  • New York Times Magazine
    • 1961, Nov. 19, p.27+
    • 1962 Mar 18 p.28-29

Selected Websites

• Berlin Time Line from the Cold War Museum.
• The Wall: A Timeline of its Demise from SpiegelOnline.  http://www.spiegel.de/international/the-wall-a-timeline-of-its-demise-a-327142.html
• The Berlin Wall Collection - from the CIA. Links to many Unclassified (and possibly De-Classified) resources from the Central Intelligence Agency  http://www.foia.cia.gov/collection/berlin-wall-collection

Suggested terms for our catalog

• Cold War and Berlin
• Iron Curtin and Berlin
• Berlin Blockade
• East Berlin Uprising
• Berlin Quadripartite Agreement
• Federal Republic of Germany
• German Democratic Republic
• Search our catalog
  • Need to add Reagan headings
  • Berlin Wall, Berlin, Germany, 1961-1989
  • Berlin Wall, Berlin, Germany, 1961-1989 -- Congresses
  • Berlin (Germany) -- Politics and government -- 1945-1990
  • Berlin (Germany) -- Politics and government -- 1945-1990 -- Congresses
  • Berlin (Germany) -- History -- 1945-1990
  • Soviet Union -- Foreign relations -- United States
  • United States -- Foreign relations -- Soviet Union
  • Berlin (Germany) -- History -- 1945-1990 -- Congresses
  • United States -- Politics and government -- 1961-1963
  • Soviet Union -- Foreign relations -- United States -- Congresses
  • United States -- Foreign relations -- Soviet Union -- Congresses
  • United States. Central Intelligence Agency. Historical Collections Division

Suggested Books

• Need to add destruction of Wall and Timeline
• A city torn apart [electronic resource] : building of the Berlin Wall Connect to http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo15403
• A City Divided, Life & Death in the Shadow of the Wall - Download the document and access other resources from the National Archives  http://www.archives.gov/research/foreign-policy/cold-war/berlin-wall-1962-1987/
• The Berlin Wall collection [electronic resource] Connect to http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo15407
• The Berlin wall [electronic resource] : 20 years later Permanent link
• The Berlin Crisis of 1961 - from the National Archives. Links to other resources. http://www.archives.gov/research/foreign-policy/cold-war/1961-berlin-crisis/2011-conference.html
• Forging the shield : the U.S. Army in Europe, 1951-1962 FedDocs D 114.2:C 67/2/SHIELD   
• President Kennedy : profile of power / Richard Reeves E842 .R358 1993  
• Foreign Relations of the United States, 1961–1963, Volume XIV, Berlin Crisis, 1961–1962 Fed Docs S 1.1: 1961-1963/v.14 also online at US State Department.  https://history.state.gov/historicaldocuments/frus1961-63v14

Suggested Articles

• These are only the articles recorded from Readers Guide to Periodical Literature during visit to Connecticut State Library. There will be many others.
  • Time on Level 6 or in microfiche.
    • 1961 - Vol. 78, p. 20-5 Aug 25 ; Vol.78, p.30, Sept. 8 ; Vol. 78, pages 18-19, Sept 29
    • 1962 - Vol. 80, p. 18, Aug 24
  • Newsweek -
    • 1961 - Vol. 58, p.15-18, Aug 28
    • 1962 - Vol. 60, p. 33 Aug 27 ; Vol. 60, p. 11-13  Sept 3
  • New Yorker - there was a series called Letters From Berlin. I don't know what it covered.
    • 1961 - Vol 37, p.35-6+ Sept 2 ; V. 37, p. 153-4+ Nov 4
    • 1962 - V. 38, p.115-16+  May 26
  • New York Times Magazine
    • 1961, Nov. 19, p.27+
    • 1962 Mar 18 p.28-29

Selected Websites

• Berlin Time Line from the Cold War Museum.
• The Wall: A Timeline of its Demise from SpiegelOnline.  http://www.spiegel.de/international/the-wall-a-timeline-of-its-demise-a-327142.html
• The Berlin Wall Collection - from the CIA. Links to many Unclassified (and possibly De-Classified) resources from the Central Intelligence Agency  http://www.foia.cia.gov/collection/berlin-wall-collection