LibGuides Home: History Day Previous Topics: Newsboys Strike

Newsboys Strike

New York Times (1851-2019) with Index (1851-1993)
Historical New York Times with Index.Coverage: Full-text: 1851-2019. Index: 1851-1993.
Hartford Courant (1764-1922)

Newspaper. Coverage: 1764 to 1922.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com : Connecticut
Historical newspaper database covering over 100 newspaper titles from cities and towns in Connecticut from 1786 to 2005. You may find newspaper articles, births, deaths, and more with browse by location, date and publication.
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940
Digitized images of over 1,100 American magazines and journals that began publication between 1740 and 1900. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922, Series 1 through 7, 10, 18 & Custom CT Historical Newspapers
Full-text of American newspapers, 1690-1922.
Vendor's Guide - How to Use This Database https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/product-help/eanx?p=EANX

Newsboy Strike - Additional Resources not at the CT State Library

Extra! Extra! Read All About the Newsboys Strike of 1899
New York Public Library blog by Rosa Li, AskNYPL, May 25, 2012 - with tips for searching their databases (many may be applied to our database)

Other Institutions

These are just a few examples.

These have been added since the original researcher came to library.

Library of Congress (LOC)

5:30 A.M. Emma and her brother starting out to sell and peddle before school. They sell after school and on Saturday and Sunday also.... (1909 LOC image)
Additional resources suggested at bottom of the page.
Library of Congress (LOC) full title: 5:30 A.M. Emma and her brother starting out to sell and peddle before school. They sell after school and on Saturday and Sunday also. Albert is 10 years old and been at it 1 year. Emma is 11 years old. She and Paul have been at it 2 years. Location: Bridgeport, Connecticut.
more...less...
Hine, Lewis Wickes, photographer. 5:30 A.M. Emma and her brother starting out to sell and peddle before school. They sell after school and on Saturday and Sunday also. Albert is 10 years old and been at it 1 year. Emma is 11 years old. She and Paul have been at it 2 years.Location: Bridgeport, Connecticut. Bridgeport United States Connecticut, 1909. March. Photograph. https://www.loc.gov/item/2018674316/.
Newsgirls waiting for papers.... (1909 LOC image)
Library of Congress (LOC) image.
Related resources suggested at bottom of page.
Full title: Newsgirls waiting for papers. Largest girl, Alice Goldman has been selling for 4 years. Newsdealer says she uses viler language than the newsboys do. Besie Goldman and Bessie Brownstein are 9 years old and have been selling about one year. All sell until 7:00 or 7:30 P.M. daily. Location: Hartford, Connecticut.
more...less...
Hine, Lewis Wickes, photographer. Newsgirls waiting for papers. Largest girl, Alice Goldman has been selling for 4 years. Newsdealer says she uses viler language than the newsboys do. Besie Goldman and Bessie Brownstein are 9 years old and have been selling about one year. All sell until 7:00 or 7:30 P.M. daily.Location: Hartford, Connecticut. United States Connecticut Hartford, 1909. March. Photograph. https://www.loc.gov/item/2018674325/
6:00 A.M. Sunday, March 7, 1909. Boys starting out with Sunday papers. (1909 LOC image)
Library of Congress (LOC). Related resources suggested at bottom of page. Full title: Hartford, Conn. 6 A.M. Sunday. See photo and label 602 [Caption #602: "6:00 A.M. Sunday, March 7, 1909. Boys starting out with Sunday papers. Some were only 8 and 9 years old. Many more youngsters start out at 7 A.M. Some of these little fellows had been selling until 7 and 8 P.M. and later Saturday night."] and 664 [#664: "8, 9 and 10 years old starting out at 6 A.M. Sunday"] Location: Hartford, Connecticut. / Photo by [...]
more...less...
Hine, Lewis Wickes, photographer. Hartford, Conn. 6 A.M. Sunday. See photo and label 602 Caption #602: "6:00 A.M. Sunday, March 7, . Boys starting out with Sunday papers. Some were only 8 and 9 years old. Many more youngsters start out at 7 A.M. Some of these little fellows had been selling until 7 and 8 P.M. and later Saturday night." and 664 #664: "8, 9 and 10 years old starting out at 6 A.M. Sunday" Location: Hartford, Connecticut. / Photo by. United States Connecticut Hartford, 1909. March. Photograph. https://www.loc.gov/item/2018674477/
Sunday noon. Some of the newsboys returning Sunday papers. Many of them had been out since 5 and 6 A.M. Hartford, Conn. Location: Hartford, Connecticut. (1909 LOC image)
Library of Congress (LOC). Related resources suggested at bottom of page.
Hine, Lewis Wickes, photographer. Sunday noon. Some of the newsboys returning Sunday papers. Many of them had been out since 5 and 6 A.M. Hartford, Conn.Location: Hartford, Connecticut. United States Connecticut Hartford, 1909. March. Photograph. https://www.loc.gov/item/2018674401/