LibGuides Home: History Day Previous Topics: Apartheid

Databases - Apartheid

These might have information

LLMC-Digital
LLMC-Digital is an extensive archive of historical primary and specialized legal materials covering the U.S. federal and state governments, the British Commonwealth, other foreign countries, and various international organizations.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
This Readex database provides reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Coverage: 1817-1980. For online content beyond 1980, try ProQuest Congressional or U.S. Congressional Serial Set from HeinOnline.
U.S. Congressional Documents
A HeinOnline digitized collection of the bound and daily versions of the Congressional Record, and its predecessors. Coverage: 1789-.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/us-congressional-documents
U.S. Federal Agency Library (HeinOnline)
Official case law of some of the most important United States government institutions. Coverage: Varies, earliest is 1894.
U.S. Documents Masterfile: 1774-2024
Find U.S. Federal government information from 1744 to present that aggregates foundational governmental document indexes and current collections to create a single index to U.S. government publications. Many collections include links to full text. Includes GPO and non-GPO distributed publications.
ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
User help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/congressionalhelp
JSTOR
Extensive backfile volumes of more than 2,500 full text, core scholarly journals in History, Political Science and other disciplines. The backfiles begin with the very first issues, many of which reach back to the 1800s.
The Connecticut State Library participates in JSTOR Public Library Collections I and II which include:
- Arts & Sciences I Collection
- Arts & Sciences II Collection
- Arts & Sciences III Collection
- Arts & Sciences IV Collection
- Arts & Sciences IX Collection
- Arts & Sciences V Collection
- Arts & Sciences VI Collection
- Arts & Sciences VII Collection
- Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
- Arts & Sciences X Collection
- Arts & Sciences XI Collection
- Arts & Sciences XII Collection
- Business III Collection
- Ecology & Botany II Collection
- Life Sciences Collection
Help and Support at https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us

Newspapers

New York Times (1851-2020) with Index (1851-1993)
Historical New York Times with Index.Coverage: Full-text: 1851-2019. Index: 1851-1993.
New York Times (1980-current)

Full text of the New York Times newspaper, 1980 to current. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.

Also ResearchIT CT databses - available with a public library card or our card.

researchIT CT for High Schools
Use researchIT CT with your public library card or school to access articles and ebooks.

A few examples from this resource:

Baines, Gary. 2006. “Coming to Terms with the Past: Soweto, June 16th 1976.” History Today 56 (6): 18. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,cpid&custid=connsl&db=ulh&AN=21065065&site=eds-live.
- Abstract: "The article emphasizes the institutionalization of the memories of the Soweto uprising in the national identity of South Africa established by the African National Congress (ANC) as of June 2006. The Soweto uprising started as a peaceful demonstration of students that turned into a revolt characterized by attacks on symbols of state power in black townships when the South African police opened fire. The story of Soweto has become emblematic of the narrative of the liberation struggle that is the foundation of the post-apartheid state created by ANC."
Also in this Word document.

Examples from researchIT CT

At CSL - Apartheid

Reagan, Ronald., and United States. Department of State. Office of Public Communication. Editorial Division. Ending Apartheid in South Africa. United States. Department of State. Bureau of Public Affairs. Current Policy ; No. 853. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of State, Bureau of Public Affairs, Office of Public Communication, Editorial Division, 1986. Federal Documents S 1.71/4:853
United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations. Promoting an End to Apartheid in South Africa : Report Together with Additional Views (to Accompany S. 998). United States. Congress. Senate. Report ; 99-37. Washington, D.C.?: U.S. G.P.O., 1985. Fed Docs Y 1.1/5:99-37 Or Serial Set 13618
United States. Congress. House. Committee on Foreign Affairs. Subcommittee on Africa. Violence in South Africa and Its Effect on the Convention for Democratic South Africa (CODESA) : Hearing and Markup before the Subcommittee on Africa of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, House of Representatives, One Hundred Second Congress, Second Session, on H. Res. 497 Relating to Ongoing Violence Connected with Apartheid in South Africa, July 23, 1992. Washington: U.S. G.P.O. : For Sale by the U.S. G.P.O., Supt. of Docs., Congressional Sales Office, 1993. Federal Documents Y 4.F 76/1:V 81/3
United States. Department of State. Bureau of Public Affairs. South Africa : US Policy. Gist. Washington, D.C.?]: Bureau of Public Affairs, Dept. of State, 1989. Federal Documents S 1.128:Af 8/14/989

Calls for the immediate release of detained children under emergency regulations in South Africa : hearing and markup before the Subcommittee on Africa of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, House of Representatives, One Hundredth Congress, first session on by United States. Congress. House. Committee on Foreign Affairs. Subcommittee on Africa
Call Number: Federal Documents Y 4.F 76/1:C 13
Publication Date: 1988
Online at Hathi Trust and UPenn's Online Books Page - scroll to find the title

World Factbook
Site: "The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."

Violence in South Africa and its effect on the convention for democratic South Africa (CODESA) : hearing and markup before the Subcommittee on Africa of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, House of Representatives, One Hundred Second Congress, second sessio by United States. Congress. House. Committee on Foreign Affairs. Subcommittee on Africa
Call Number: Federal Documents Y 4.F 76/1:V 81/3
Publication Date: 1993
Online at Hathi Trust and UPenn's Online Books Page - scroll to find the title

Databases

LLMC-Digital
LLMC-Digital is an extensive archive of historical primary and specialized legal materials covering the U.S. federal and state governments, the British Commonwealth, other foreign countries, and various international organizations.
Hartford Courant (1764-1999)
Newspaper. Coverage: Access to 1764 - 1999 is a separate subscription provided by the Connecticut State Library and requires a CT State Library card.
New York Times (1851-2020) with Index (1851-1993)
Historical New York Times with Index.Coverage: Full-text: 1851-2019. Index: 1851-1993.
HeinOnline
Comprehensive historical collection of legal and law-related material, including many North American legal journals. Coverage: From 1800s to present. Continually adding new content.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/getting-started/overview

Report of the Commission of Inquiry into the Riots at Soweto and Elsewhere from the 16th of June 1976 to the 28th of February 1977
Available when within the Connecticut State Library

Reader's Guide - using this print index, you can see if any of the popular magazines covered the story. Ask a librarian to show you Reader's Guide. Life magazine was not published during this time.

Other

Additional Resources

Bureau of African Affairs, U.S. Department of State
Site: "The Department of State’s Bureau of African Affairs is focused on the development and management of U.S. policy concerning the continent. There are four pillars that serve as the foundation of U.S. policy toward Africa.
1) Strengthening Democratic Institutions;
2) Supporting African economic growth and development;
3) Advancing Peace and Security;
4) Promoting Opportunity and Development. "
South Africa, Bureau of African Affairs, U.S. Department of State
Links to additional resources from the US Department of State.
End of Apartheird. Archived page from US State Dept.
ARCHIVED page from US State Department
United Nations
United Nations (UN) Photo Gallery Subject: Apartheid
Nelson Mandela Foundation
Between States of Emergency - Nelson Mandela Foundation
Full title: Between States of Emergency : Photographers in Action 1985 - 1990
South African History Online (SAHO)
Site: "South African History Online Mission Statement South African History Online (SAHO), is Section 21 non-profit organisation which was established in 2000, to address the bias in the way South Africa’s and Africa’s history and heritage, was represented under colonialism and apartheid in our educational, cultural and heritage institutions."
Browsing subject area: Apartheid -- South Africa
From UPenn's Online Books Page.
While most titles are freely accessible, any that are a UPenn subscription probably won't work. Ask a librarian for alternative ways to access
South African Government

Guides from Other Libraries

The following are guides from other libraries - and their links may not work for you. Often lists titles "web sites" will have freely accessible sites that have been vetted by the librarian who created the guide.

While the Connecticut State Library will not have many of the resources listed, your school and local librarians may be able to help you access them.

Nelson Mandela Guide: Apartheid
From Cornell University
History: South African History
From Rhodes University Library, South Africa