- Demographic GroupsToggle Dropdown
- Civil RightsToggle Dropdown
- Anderson, Marian
- Arnold, Benedict
- Barnum, P.T.
- Brown, John
- Carter, President Jimmy
- Carver, George Washington
- Child, Julia
- Crandall, Prudence
- Denton, Jeremiah
- Disney, Walt
- Doss, Desmond - Conscientious Objector
- Ford, Gerald
- Ford, Henry
- Frank, Anne
- Franklin, Rosalind
- Frederick the Great
- Grandin, Temple and Autism
- Grasso, Ella
- Griswold, Estelle
- Gunvald, Tomstad
- Haber, Fritz
- Hale, Nathan
- Hamilton, Eliza - New York Orphan Asylum
- Hawking, Stephen
- Hepburn, Katharine
- Hickok, Lorena
- Hopkins, Thomas
- Jobs, Steve
- Keller, Helen
- Kennedy, John F.
- Lennon, John
- Lewis & Clark
- Lincoln, Mary Todd
- Lovelace, Ada
- Mandela, Nelson
- Meyers, Abbey S.
- Nixon, President Richard
- Owens, Jesse
- Pasteur & Rabies
- Pearlman, Itzhak
- Petry, Ann
- Powell, Baden
- Reagan, Ronald
- Ride, Sally
- Rommel, Erwin
- Roosevelt, Eleanor
- Roosevelt, Franklin D.
- Roosevelt, Teddy
- Roraback, Catherine
- Sacks, Oliver
- Sikorsky, Igor I.
- Smith, Venture, or Broteer Furro
- Stone, Lucy
- Stowe, Harriet Beecher
- Turing, Alan
- Washington, George
- Welles, Gideon
- Wells, Ida B.
- Welton, Carrie
- Wing, Yung
- Medical & Life SciencesToggle Dropdown
- SpaceToggle Dropdown
- ComputingToggle Dropdown
- MilitaryToggle Dropdown
- Labor, Economics, & IndustryToggle Dropdown
- Law & CourtsToggle Dropdown
- Voting & ElectionsToggle Dropdown
- Education & PsychologyToggle Dropdown
- Government & CountriesToggle Dropdown
- Arts & EntertainmentToggle Dropdown
- TransportationToggle Dropdown
- Animal RightsToggle Dropdown
- 2022 History Day
- 2021 History Day
- 2019 History Day
Genocide - History Day
History Day page for previous topics. Contains resources that may be of help with future topics.
Anne Frank - Books, Documents, etc.
Hidden in Plain Sight by
LibGuides: "Hidden in Plain Sight tells the tragic untold story of children's rights in America. It asks why the United States today, alone among nations, rejects the most universally embraced human-rights document in history, the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. This book is a call to arms for America to again be a leader in human rights, and to join the rest of the civilized world in recognizing that the thirst for justice is not for adults alone. Barbara Bennett Woodhouse explores the meaning of children's rights throughout American history, interweaving the childhood stories of iconic figures such as Benjamin Franklin with those of children less known but no less courageous, like the heroic youngsters who marched for civil rights. How did America become a place where twelve-year-old Lionel Tate could be sentenced to life in prison without parole for the 1999 death of a young playmate? In answering questions like this, Woodhouse challenges those who misguidedly believe that America's children already have more rights than they need, or that children's rights pose a threat to parental autonomy or family values. She reveals why fundamental human rights and principles of dignity, equality, privacy, protection, and voice are essential to a child's journey into adulthood, and why understanding rights for children leads to a better understanding of human rights for all. Compassionate, wise, and deeply moving, Hidden in Plain Sight will force an examination of our national resistance--and moral responsibility--to recognize children's rights."
Call Number: STLib Stacks KF479 .W66 2008
Publication Date: 2008-03-30
The Norton Book of Women's Lives by
LibGuides: "This culturally & socially diverse anthology presents biographies of 61 20th-century women, among them Virginia Woolf, Anais Nin, & Kate Simon."
Call Number: STLib Stacks CT3235 .R67 1993
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Anne Frank in Historical Perspective: A Teaching Guide for Secondary Schools
Call Number: Online and Fed Docs ERIC fiche ED 1.310/2: 391710
Publication Date: 1995
ERIC site: "This guide helps secondary students to understand "The Diary of Anne Frank" through a series of short essays, maps, and photographs. In view of new scholarship, the historical context in which Anne Frank wrote may be studied to improve the student's perspective of recent history and of the present."
Anne Frank: One of Hundreds of Thousands. [Lesson Plan].
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2002
ERIC site: "Anne Frank was one of the hundreds of thousands of Jewish children who died in the Holocaust. In that sense, she is not unique; however, through the very ordinary act of writing a diary, through her youthful wisdom and budding literary talent, Anne remains today an extraordinary "symbol of the lost promise of the children who died in the Holocaust." This lesson invites teachers to supplement their students' reading of "The Diary of a Young Girl" by connecting the diary to the study of history and to honor the legacy of Anne Frank, the writer, as she inspires students to use writing to deepen their insights into their own experiences and the experiences of others. The lesson: provides an introduction; cites subject areas, time required, and skills developed; poses a guiding question; gives learning objectives; informs teachers about preparing to teach the lesson; presents suggested activities; suggests nine additional activities for extending the lesson; lists a selected Website; and addresses standards alignment. Contains worksheets about World War II in Europe and the "Diary of a Young Girl." (NKA)"
ERIC - RIEFEB2003 ERIC eric:issue. Remembering the Holocaust.
Anne Frank - Other Institutions
- ERIC - Understanding Anne Frank's "The Diary of a Young Girl": A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents.
Anne Frank - Databases
Some resources will provide information and some only bibliographies.
Biography Reference Bank
A comprehensive biographical resource for all disciplines. Coverage of more than 600,000 individuals, over 2.2 million records, links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals. Access provided by iCONN.
Biography Reference Center
A comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies on notable personalities.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com : Connecticut
Historical newspaper database covering over 100 newspaper titles from cities and towns in Connecticut from 1786 to 2005. You may find newspaper articles, births, deaths, and more with browse by location, date and publication.
Avotaynu, Anthology of Jewish Genealogy (1985-2011)
Searchable archive of more than 2,900 full-text articles published in the journal Avotaynu from 1985-2011. The scope of the articles cover many aspects of Jewish family history research.
Congressional Legislative & Executive Publications
Public policy issues from Congressional Research Service. Coverage: CRS reports, 1916 - ; Committee Prints, 1830 -. Updated continuously. National and international.
Hartford Courant (1764-1997)
Newspaper. Coverage: Access to 1764 - 1997 is a separate subscription provided by the Connecticut State Library and requires a CT State Library card.
New York Times (1851-2019) with Index (1851-1993)
Historical New York Times with Index.Coverage: Full-text: 1851-2019. Index: 1851-1993.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478