LibGuides Home: History Day Previous Topics: Grandin, Temple and Autism

Links Not Maintained

Note: Links not maintained on archived pages.

Temple Grandin and Autism

Temple Grandin and Autism Barrier Breakthroughs

Books, Documents, etc.

These are only some suggestions. Be sure to search our catalog with your own search terms.

Some of these are older, to give historic context. Check publication dates.

Humane Handling of Livestock by Grandin, Temple. ; United States. Department of Agriculture.
Call Number: Federal Documents A 110.20:H 88/SPAN.-ENG./DVD
Publication Date: 2009
Grandin hosts this DVD from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Inspection Service. Office of Outreach, Employee Education, and Training.
1 videodisc (approx. 30 min.) English and Spanish versions with optional subtitles.
Compendium of Services for Autistic Persons in Connecticut by State of Connecticut, Autism Task Force
Call Number: Conn Doc Au81 comp
Publication Date: 1981
Report to the Governor / Study Committee on Autism by Connecticut. Governor's Study Committee on Autism
Call Number: Conn Doc G747au re
Publication Date: 1973
Educating Children with Autism by Committee on Educational Inverventions for Children with Autism; National Research Council Staff Online through ERIC database ERIC abstract: "The National Research Council formed a Committee on Educational Interventions for Children with Autism and charged the committee with integrating the scientific, theoretical, and policy literature and creating a framework for evaluating the scientific evidence concerning the effects and features of educational interventions for young children with autism. This book is organized according to relationships among issues that, the committee believes, represent the key areas pertaining to educational interventions for young children with autism. Part 1 addresses the general issue of goals for children with autism and their families. Part 2 presents characteristics of effective interventions and educational programs. Chapters 5 through 10 discuss fundamental areas of development and behavior that must be addressed by such programs: communication; social, cognitive, sensory, and motor development; and adaptive and problem behaviors. Chapter 11 analyzes the characteristics of representative instructional strategies, and Chapter 12 analyzes the features of ten model comprehensive programs and approaches to intervention. Part 3 examines the policy and research contexts within which interventions are developed, implemented, and assessed. The final chapter summarizes the committee's findings, presents conclusions, and offers recommendations for choosing educational content and strategies, introducing interaction with other children, and other key topics. (References are provided for each chapter.) (CR)"
Call Number: Online through ERIC and Federal Documents Microfiche ED 1.310/2:461956
ISBN: 0309072697
Publication Date: 2001-10-11
Department of Developmental Services' Division of Autism Spectrum Disorder Services report to the Connecticut General Assembly's Public Health Committee by Connecticut. Division of Autism Spectrum Disorder Services, author. Connecticut. General Assembly. Committee on Public Health, sponsoring body.
Call Number: online through our catalog
Publication Date: Began with: 2016
Report covers previous calendar year.
Mandated by Section 5 of Public Act no. 15-209.
Autism services in Connecticut : a report from the Autism Feasibility Study Workgroup : recommendations to enhance and improve the service system to support individuals with autism and their families. by Connecticut. Autism Feasibility Study Workgroup. Connecticut. Department of Developmental Services.
Call Number: online through our catalog
Publication Date: January 2013
Workshop on the Neurobological Basis of Autism : February 26 and 27, 1976 by Workshop on the Neurobiological Basis of Autism (1976 : National Institute of Neurological and Communicative Disorders and Stroke) Lockman, Lawrence A. National Institute of Neurological and Communicative Disorders and Stroke.
Call Number: Federal Documents HE 20.3510:23
Publication Date: 1979
National Conference on Autism, Rockville, Maryland, April 2-4, 1985 by National Conference on Autism (1985 : Rockville, Md.) National Institute of Handicapped Research (U.S.) Arkansas Research and Training Center in Vocational Rehabilitation. Online through ERIC database. ERIC abstract: "A national conference on autism, attended by agency staff, organization staff, advocates, and parents of children and adults with autism, consisted of paper presentations, site visits, and small group reports and recommendations. This volume of proceedings includes papers with the following authors and titles: (1) "An Overview of the Rehabilitation of Persons with Autism" (A. M. Donnellan); (2) "New Concepts of Autism and Related Disorders" (M. B. Denckla); (3) "The Vocational Rehabilitation System" (P. Griswold); (4) "Critical Dimensions of Non-Sheltered Employment Models" (M. D. Smith); (5) "A Supported Work Approach to Competitive Employment of Individuals with Moderate and Severe Handicaps" (J. Hill); (6) "Staff Development and Training" (G. Mesibov); (7) "Legislative, Regulatory and Financial Issues Affecting the Rehabilitation and Vocational Achievement of Persons with Autism" (F. Laski); and (8) "Autism Services: A Blueprint for the Future" (D. Fenderson). Small group reports present recommendations about legislative, regulatory, and financial issues related to the provision of vocational rehabilitation services to persons with autism (Group I); nonsheltered employment models (Group II); adult service systems (Group III); and rehabilitation personnel preparation regarding autism (Group IV). Appendixes present an overview of the Community Services for Autistic Adults and Children Vocational Program and lists of members of the Autism Program Planning Committee, sponsors, coordinators, conference faculty, and conference participants. (CB)"
Call Number: Federal Online through ERIC and Documents Microfiche ED 1.310/2:278179
Publication Date: [1985]
Critical issues in educating autistic children and youth
Call Number: online and Federal Documents Microfiche ED 1.310/2:253002
Publication Date: 2nd print., July 1981.
ERIC database abstract: "This book evolved from a conference convened to address critical issues in the education of children and youth with autism (Reston, Virginia, February 1980). Fourteen papers deal with critical issues in the education of autistic children and youth from perspectives of administrators, teachers, parents, researchers, and program developers. B. Wilcox provides an overview and E. Sontag et al. present an introduction to the volume. The following titles and authors are represented: "Organization of Education Services for Autistic Children and Youth" (J. Olley); "A Developmental-Behavior Model for the Prescriptive Evaluation of Autistic and Severely Socially Impaired Children" (C. Lord and P. O'Neill); "An Educational Perspective of Autism: Implications for Curriculum Development and Personnel Development" (A. Donnellan); "Programming the Delivery of Instruction for Autistic Children" (G. Dunlap and R. Koegal); "Generalization of Treatment Effects Following Educational Intervention with Autistic Children and Youth" (E. Carr); "Reducing Behavior Problems in the Classroom" (G. LaVigna); "Teaching Functional Language" (A. Schuler); "Social Behavior Programming with Severely Handicapped and Autistic Children" (P. Strain); "The Teacher's Perspective: The Struggle to Provide Quality Education to Autistic Children" (K. Norsworthy and P. Sievers); "Behavioral Teaching with Young Autistic Children" (O. Lovaas); "The Evolving Parent-Professional Relationship" (J. Kyne); "Secondary Education for Severely Handicapped Students: Guidelines for Quality Services" (G. Bellamy and B. Wilcox); "Issues in the Provision of Community Services" (D. MacCoy); "Future Directions in Educational Planning: The Problem Is the Problem, and It's Real" (F. Warren). R. Thompson concludes with an afterword. (CL)"

Articles, Databases, etc.

See our A-Z list of databases to determine if remote access is available.

A-Z Databases
Lists databases (subscription and free) available through the Connecticut State Library (CSL). Some subscription databases have remote access which require a card from CSL.
more...less...
See the box of icons which explain access.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
Even though many links have been pulled from the database, microfiche for some ED numbers are available at ED 1.310/2:

JSTOR
Extensive backfile volumes of more than 2,500 full text, core scholarly journals in History, Political Science and other disciplines. The backfiles begin with the very first issues, many of which reach back to the 1800s.
The Connecticut State Library participates in JSTOR Public Library Collections I and II which include:
- Arts & Sciences I Collection
- Arts & Sciences II Collection
- Arts & Sciences III Collection
- Arts & Sciences IV Collection
- Arts & Sciences IX Collection
- Arts & Sciences V Collection
- Arts & Sciences VI Collection
- Arts & Sciences VII Collection
- Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
- Arts & Sciences X Collection
- Arts & Sciences XI Collection
- Arts & Sciences XII Collection
- Business III Collection
- Ecology & Botany II Collection
- Life Sciences Collection
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) This link opens in a new window
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information. Click on the title of interest from your search results list. Then click on the Locate in a Library link within the displayed record.
Congressional Legislative & Executive Publications
Public policy issues from Congressional Research Service. Coverage: CRS reports, 1916 - ; Committee Prints, 1830 -. Updated continuously. National and international.
researchIT CT

General reference, homework help, newspapers, biographies, health and business databases, downloadable audio books, and more!