see also topics such as Depression, WPA.etc.
F. D. R. by
LibGuides: "FDR: The War President opens as Roosevelt has been re-elected to a third term and the United States is drifting toward a war that has already engulfed Europe. Roosevelt, as commander in chief, statesman, and politician, must navigate a delicate balance between helping those in Europe--while remaining mindful of the forces of isolation both in the Congress and the country--and protecting the gains of the New Deal, upon which he has spent so much of his prestige and power. Kenneth S. Davis draws vivid depictions of the lives, characters, and temperaments of the military and political personalities so paramount to the history of the time: Churchill, Stalin, de Gaulle, and Hitler; Generals Marshall, Eisenhower, and MacArthur; Admiral Darlan, Chiang Kai-shek, Charles Lindbergh, William Allen White, Joseph Kennedy, Averell Harriman, Harry Tru-man, Robert Murphy, Sidney Hillman, William Knud-sen, Cordell Hull, Henry Morgenthau, Henry Stimson, A. Philip Randolph, Wendell Willkie, and Henry Wallace. The portrait of Henry Hopkins, who interacted with many of these personalities on behalf of Roosevelt, is woven into this history as the complex, interconnected relationship it was. Hopkins burnished the relationship between Churchill and Roosevelt and eased the way for their interactions with Stalin. Another set of characters central to Roosevelt's life and finely drawn by the author includes Eleanor Roo-sevelt, Sara Roosevelt, Missy LeHand, Grace Tully, Princess Martha of Norway, and Daisy Suckley. Integral to this history as well are the Argentina Conference, the Atlantic Charter and the beginnings of the United Nations, the Moscow Conference, lend-lease, the story of the building of the atomic bomb, Hitler's Final Solution and how Roosevelt and the State Department reacted to it, Pearl Harbor and war with Japan, the planning of Torch, and the murder of Admiral Darlan. All these stories intersect with the economic and social problems facing Roosevelt at home as the United States mobilizes for war. The lessons and concerns of 1940-1943 as dissected in this book are still relevant to the problems and concerns of our own time. A recurrent theme is technology: Do people control technology, or does technology control people? Kenneth Davis had the rare gift of writing history that reads with the immediacy of a novel; and though the outcome of this history is well known, the events and people depicted here keep the reader focused on an enthralling suspense story."
Franklin Delano Roosevelt: Impact and Legacy - Miller Center
Institutions not listed under a specific topic.
freedom of speech, of religion, from want, and from fear.
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
A HeinOnline digitized collection of the bound and daily versions of the Congressional Record, and its predecessors. Coverage: 1789-.
Milestone Documents in American History : exploring the primary sources that shaped America by Monthly Catalog - look these up
Aged - problems - value of Four Freedoms House, Inc. (statement) - 1961 L 1.13:G56/27
Housing - aged - Four Freedoms plan (remarks) 1961, Entry 14985 HH 1.7:W37/5
Liberty - four freedoms, basis for free world (address) 1961, Entry 07881 L 1.13:G56/7
Rewards (priz.es, etc.) - Four Freedoms Award, posthumous presentation to John Fitzgerald Kennedy (remarks) C 1.18:R67/27
The four freedoms Y 3.P96/6:2F875
Four freedoms and the arsenal of democracy 1941 PR 32.402:F87
Weaver, Robert C, administrator, Housing and Home Finance Agency, remarks at Four Freedoms dinner Washington, D.C. 1961 HH 1.7:W37/5
Goldberg, Arthur J. Secretary of Labor, statement on receiving Four Freedoms House award, Washington, D.C L 1.13:G56/27
Roosevelt, Franklin D. President, remarks at the White House, on the occasion of his acceptance of the Four Freedoms award 1944 Pr32.2.F825
Saturday Evening Post presents four freedoms, poster 1943 PR 32.5015:F875/ANN.
United Nations fight for four freedoms, rights of all men everywhere 1942 PR 32.5002:F87
Four freedoms 1941 FS 5.20:F87
Commerce - four economic freedoms (address) 1969 C 1.18:ST2/4
The citizen's almanac : fundamental documents, symbols, and anthems of the United States.
HS 8.2:C 49/2011
HS 8.2:C 49/2007 -
F. D. R. by
LibGuides: "FDR: The War President opens as Roosevelt has been re-elected to a third term and the United States is drifting toward a war that has already engulfed Europe. Roosevelt, as commander in chief, statesman, and politician, must navigate a delicate balance between helping those in Europe--while remaining mindful of the forces of isolation both in the Congress and the country--and protecting the gains of the New Deal, upon which he has spent so much of his prestige and power. Kenneth S. Davis draws vivid depictions of the lives, characters, and temperaments of the military and political personalities so paramount to the history of the time: Churchill, Stalin, de Gaulle, and Hitler; Generals Marshall, Eisenhower, and MacArthur; Admiral Darlan, Chiang Kai-shek, Charles Lindbergh, William Allen White, Joseph Kennedy, Averell Harriman, Harry Tru-man, Robert Murphy, Sidney Hillman, William Knud-sen, Cordell Hull, Henry Morgenthau, Henry Stimson, A. Philip Randolph, Wendell Willkie, and Henry Wallace. The portrait of Henry Hopkins, who interacted with many of these personalities on behalf of Roosevelt, is woven into this history as the complex, interconnected relationship it was. Hopkins burnished the relationship between Churchill and Roosevelt and eased the way for their interactions with Stalin. Another set of characters central to Roosevelt's life and finely drawn by the author includes Eleanor Roo-sevelt, Sara Roosevelt, Missy LeHand, Grace Tully, Princess Martha of Norway, and Daisy Suckley. Integral to this history as well are the Argentina Conference, the Atlantic Charter and the beginnings of the United Nations, the Moscow Conference, lend-lease, the story of the building of the atomic bomb, Hitler's Final Solution and how Roosevelt and the State Department reacted to it, Pearl Harbor and war with Japan, the planning of Torch, and the murder of Admiral Darlan. All these stories intersect with the economic and social problems facing Roosevelt at home as the United States mobilizes for war. The lessons and concerns of 1940-1943 as dissected in this book are still relevant to the problems and concerns of our own time. A recurrent theme is technology: Do people control technology, or does technology control people? Kenneth Davis had the rare gift of writing history that reads with the immediacy of a novel; and though the outcome of this history is well known, the events and people depicted here keep the reader focused on an enthralling suspense story."
Milestone Documents in American History : exploring the primary sources that shaped America by Public policy issues from Congressional Research Service. Coverage: CRS reports, 1916 - ; Committee Prints, 1830 -. Updated continuously. National and international.
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
A HeinOnline digitized collection of the bound and daily versions of the Congressional Record, and its predecessors. Coverage: 1789-.
Franklin Delano Roosevelt: Impact and Legacy - Miller Center
Here are a few possible resources besides the Archives record group. A link to the Archives Finding Aid is included.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.