LibGuides Home: History Day Previous Topics: Medical &amp; Life Sciences

Medical & Life Sciences

See subpages for additional topics.

Topics on this page are ones for which original research guides had shorter suggestions (items may have been in Archives, etc.).

Families and Fragile X Syndrome - StLib Fed Doc Microfiche HE 20.3352:F 84/2 also link to online through our catalog
Elementary school and boys with Fragile X Syndrome [microform] : final report - StLib Fed Doc Microfiche ED 1.310/2:460556. From Eric.ed.gov http://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED460556.pdf
Facts about fragile X syndrome (1996) - StLib Federal Documents HE 20.3352:F 84
Rett syndrome [electronic resource] online through our catalog
Rett syndrome - StLib Federal Documents HE 20.3520:R 31/2003 online through our catalog
Rett syndrome fact sheet [electronic resource] - online through our catalog
Rett syndrome [microform] StLib Fed Doc Microfiche HE 20.3352:R 31/7 Also online through our catalog.
Suggested Terms
- Fragile X syndrome
- Fragile X syndrome -- United States
- X-linked mental retardation
- X chromosome -- Abnormalities -- United States
- Rett syndrome -- United States

Fragile X Syndrome - From the National Library of Medicine (NLM) Genetics Home Reference. http://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/fragile-x-syndrome

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
Even though many links have been pulled from the database, microfiche for some ED numbers are available at ED 1.310/2:

Learning About Fragile X Syndrome - From the National Human Genome Research Institute https://www.genome.gov/19518828
Fragile X Syndrome (FXS) - From CDC (Center for Disease Control) http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/fxs/

Most descriptions are from the site or USA.gov

Explore History of Medicine
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
more...less...
Site: "NLM historical collections of material related to health and disease are among the richest in the world and originate in all time periods and cultures. Our collections include rare books and manuscripts, historical prints and photographs, and historical films and videos."
Asylums: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "During the 19th century, asylums were used to rehabilitate the insane with questionable methods and results. This guide provides access to materials related to "Asylums" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
PubMed.gov
Site: "PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."

Manual of Emergency Medical Services by Connecticut Defense Council
Call Number: Online and Cage Conn Doc St291 mam
Publication Date: 1942
Online access through our catalog.