LibGuides Home: Government Information: Home

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

Search

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

Connecticut Government Resources

Connecticut Judicial Branch
Connecticut General Assembly
State Agency Profiles
Connecticut Executive Branch
Who represents you? Find your legislators
Find the name and contact information for your Representative, Senator, and Congressperson.
Flags on the Capitol

Government Information Resources

Government Information Services (GIS) Research Guides

Additional Guides by Subject

Indexes

Indexes to State & Federal Government Publications
Indexes compiled to assist researchers and the public in locating hard to find state & federal government publications on a variety of topics.

Selected Electronic Resources in Government Information

American State Papers, 1789-1838 United States legislative and executive documents. Coverage: 1st through 25th Congresses, 1789-1838, American State Papers Vols. 1-38.
Readex How to use ASPA | American State Papers | Readex (newsbank.com)

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

Colonial State Papers Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
ProQuest About Colonial State Papers https://www.proquest.com/csp/productfulldescdetail?accountid=10341
Congressional Legislative & Executive Publications Public policy issues from Congressional Research Service. Coverage: CRS reports, 1916 - ; Committee Prints, 1830 -. Updated continuously. National and international.
Search tips at https://proquest.libguides.com/congressionalhelp/advanced
Connecticut General Assembly Members Lists members of the Connecticut General Assembly. The list of state Senators dates back to 1776, and entries for House members begin with 1849. Database created by the Connecticut State Library.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 This Readex database provides reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Coverage: 1817-1980. For online content beyond 1980, try ProQuest Congressional or U.S. Congressional Serial Set from HeinOnline.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set from HeinOnline The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is considered an essential publication for studying American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate documents, House and Senate reports, and much more. The Serial Set began publication in 1817 with the 15th Congress, 1st session.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/us-congressional-serial-set

Connecticut State Library Resources During Covid-19
View more
Click to see a list of all government information databases.

Federal Government Resources

Ben's Guide
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Congress.gov
Provides access to legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
more...less...
Replaced THOMAS in 2016
FDLP LibGuides
GPO created guides on a wide range of topics including Art, Architecture, Military and Veterans Resources and World War I.
govinfo.gov
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
more...less...
Replaces FDsys. Site: "In addition to providing an advanced, metadata-powered search experience, govinfo also includes a content management system and a standards-compliant preservation repository. " See the About page for detailed information on govinfo
USA.gov
Official web portal of the U.S. federal government.
more...less...
Primarily federal, but also selected state, local, and tribal.
U.S. Government Manual
Provides information on the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.
more...less...
GPO PURL https://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo45477

Government Information: Home

About Government Information Reference Services

Contact Us

Search

Connecticut Government Resources

Government Information Resources

Government Information Services (GIS) Research Guides

Additional Guides by Subject

Indexes

Selected Electronic Resources in Government Information

Federal Government Resources