History Day Previous Topics

Archived collection of previously suggested History Day resources by topic. Links not maintained.

WWII

World War II

Women in World War II

From Connecticut State Library Catalog:

Even when not online, the catalog record will have information for your citations

Selected Websites

Flying Tigers of WWII

From Public Documents Masterfile:

  • The Flying Tigers : Chennault's American volunteer group in China / Braxton Eisel.Author(s): Eisel, Braxton.     [Washington, D.C.] : Air Force History and Museums Program : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [2009?] 36 p. : b&w ill. ; 24 cm. Includes bibliographical references.  SuDOC Number: D 301.82/7:C 42
  • From China Skies to Outer Space, A brief history of the 14th Air Force "Flying Tigers" SuDOC Number: D 301.2:C44

Rosie the Riveter

Rosie the Riveter- Women in the factories during WWII

See the main guide as well.

Rosie the Riveter- Women in the factories during WWII Books, Documents, etc.

Books, documents, etc.

Rosie the Riveter- Women in the factories during WWII Other Institutions

Other Institutions

Library of Congress (LOC)
NARA - National Archives
U.S. Department of Labor
Others

WAC's

WAC's, women in the military

See main guide as well. Sometimes items are listed under "Military", sometimes under "Women", and some resources are applicable for different branches of the military. It is up to the researcher to choose which to use.

WACs Other Institutions

Other Institutions

Library of Congress (LOC)
Congress
Department of Defense
Others

WACs Books, Documents, etc.

Books, Documents, etc.

WACs Articles

Articles

"U.S. Military Women in World War II: The SPAR, WAC, WAVES, WASP and Women Marines in U.S. Government Publications" by Laurie Scrivener. Journal of Government Information, Vol. 26, No. 4, pp. 361–383, 1999

  • Annotated bibliography

Tomstad Gunvald

Tomstad Gunvald

Focus: A double agent spy during WWII, for the Norwegian Resistance and the British SIS.  Credited with helping to sink the Bismark.

Open document for recommended sources.

Women Pilots in WWII

Sting of the WASP's: Women Pilots in WWII

Focus: An exhibit highlighting and analyzing the triumphs made and tragedies endured by civilian women in the air force who became known as the WASPs.

Books

Articles and Web Sites

  • "U.S. Military Women in World War II: The SPAR, WAC, WAVES, WASP and Women Marines in U.S. Government Publications" by Laurie Scrivener. Journal of Government Information, Vol. 26, No. 4, pp. 361–383, 1999
    • Annotated bibliography

Additional Resources

Women Pilots in WWII Legislation & Timeline

Legislation & Timeline

This is not all the legislation that impacted WASPs, but a selection.

Most items can be found in the Connecticut State Library (CSL) Regional Federal Depository Program (FDLP) collection.

Whenever possible, links go to freely available online items.

CSL also has subscription databases that have much of the information.

When using GovInfo.gov or Congress.gov, there will be links to related documents. Unless there is a compelling reason to include them or they are not online, they will not be listed here. Contact us if you need them.

Earlier Date

  • 1901 Army Nurse Corps established as part of U.S. Army Medical Department - not full military status, so not equal in rank, pay or benefits
  • 1908 Navy Nurses Corps established - not full military status, so not equal in rank, pay or benefits
  • WWI- some women were allowed to enlist in response to shortage of clerical workers. Full military status, but demobilized after the war. Other women worked in the civil service (non-military), ex. in the Signal Corps or as Hello Girls telephone operators.
  • WWII - women's auxiliaries established in each branch of the services.

1939

September, 1939 military plan to have women as auxiliary and not of military status.

1941

  • Congresswoman Edith Nourse Rogers said she would introduce legislation for women corps to have military rank. She had been a contract worker during WWI and saw the discrepancy in pay, rank, and benefits. Instead, May 28, 1941 she sponsored a War Department prepared bill kept women's corps as auxiliary and not full military status. HR 4906.
  • "...Chief of Staff General George C. Marshall himself told the War Department in November 1941, 'I want a women’s corps right away, and I don’t want any excuses!'" Source Skirted Soldiers...

1942

January 1942 "In January 1942, Rogers added an amendment to her bill that would grant women the same military status and benefits as men. Bitterly contested in Congress, the bill only passed after it was decided that women would not be given military status, and on 15 May 1942 President Roosevelt signed Public Law 77-554 establishing the Women Army Auxiliary Corps" Source "My Best Soldiers"

July 1942 PL 77-689 - WAVES and Marine women's corps were established. Secretary of Navy Frank Knox wanted Navy women to have military status.

November 1942  PL 77-773 SPAR established (Coast Guard) with military status. June 28, 1943 The USCGA was the first US military academy to accept women.

WFTD & WAFS formed. They later merged into WASPs - as civil service employees.

1943

July 1, 1943 PL 78-110 WAAC become WAC with military status

HR 4219 introduced to give WASPs military status, but it was defeated.

"In January 1943, Congresswoman Rogers and Oveta Culp Hobby, Director of the WAAC, drafted a bill which was endorsed by General Marshall and introduced into Congress. Even though military status was again contested in the House, the bill eventually passed, and President Roosevelt signed Public Law 78-110 on July 1, 1943..." Source "My Best Soldiers"

1944

Army & Navy Nurses Corps moved from auxiliary to military status.

December 1944 WASP ceased to exist

1947

1948

WASPs were not a women's corps, but civil service employees

President Truman signed executive order desegregating the U.S. armed forces.

1975

1977

1978

1980

1981

1987

1992

2009

2016

2019

BAT BOMB

Bat Bomb

Focus: Project X-ray, scrapped WWII super weapon using weaponized bats

These are some examples. See also the History Guide.

Kris Abery has a list of resources

Online

These are some examples.

Additional

Tin Can Sailors

The Triumphant Standoff of the American Tin Can Sailors in the WWII Battle Off Samar

Focus: Our documentary is about how the American Tin Can Sailors held off against the Japanese army for eight hours during the battle off Samar.

Books, Documents, etc.

Also see the general guide for History Day resources for Military, especially WWII. Many of these books are on broader topic than Samar - use the books' indexes to locate relevant information within them.

Tin Can Sailors in the WWII Battle Off Samar Web Sites

Web Sites

These are only a few examples. Also look at the general History Day guide.

German Bund in Southbury

German Bund in Southbury

In the past we found a tremendous amount of information on this topic in the Wilbur Cross papers.

Southbury Bund

The German Bund in Southbury

See History & Genealogy Unit

Southbury Bund 2019

Avoiding an American Tragedy: When Southbury Said No to the Nazi's

Desmond Doss - Conscientious Objector

Desmond Doss - Conscientious Objector

Books, Documents, etc.

Web Sites

Articles

Use our newspapers and other databases to find articles.

Other

Pearl Harbor

Pearl Harbor

These are a few examples; this is not meant to be comprehensive.

Many of the resources are not online.

Also check the general History Day guide, as links might not be repeated here.

Books, Documents, etc.

Web Sites

Online Resources

Fritz Haber

Fritz Haber - Father of Chemical Warfare

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.