History Day Blueprint

Researching with Connecticut State Library (CSL) Resources.

This section of the guide includes tips and instructions on how to use the Connecticut State Library resources.

Sometimes you will be taken to other guides for the general public.

CSL has many collections, some online, some only in physical format, some in multiple formats. Because our collections have many unique items not available elsewhere, some items have restricted and/or supervised access. This means they must be used within the library's secured collections reading area (see link below).

Another section will cover selected sample resources for topics.

Different Collections require different research approaches.

This is a quick overview - use the links for more detailed information.

Terms

Here are a few terms you may come across when researching:

• Holding - means what a library actually has (holds). Sometimes holdings are detailed, sometimes summarized, sometimes not detailed at all.
• Index - much like the index of a book, a research index is a list of resources (like articles, book chapters, etc.) with information on how to find the actual resource. We assume indices (indexes) are full text - and some are. But many indices are not full text and will require you to take additional steps to use the listed resource.
• Full Text - the content of the resource is included (i.e. the actual article or book).

Primo - Library catalog.

Our library catalog, Primo, will list books, documents, journals, databases, maps, etc. that CSL owns and/or has access to. It will not include the content (i.e. full text) of the items, nor will it discover articles and resources within databases. It will include finding aids to Connecticut State Archives, but not the content of the finding aids. Primo searches can be limited to just CSL content - or you may use the search options to also search the four state universities and all community colleges. You will not have access to their materials through the Connecticut State Library and will need to contact holding library directly.

Archives and Finding Aids

Quick links to instruction pages and guides.

We can't do your research - but we can help you find resources.

The Connecticut State Library (CSL) is not like most other libraries. As a state library, CSL holds the CT State Archives, and focuses on Connecticut and Federal government, as well as the history of Connecticut, towns, industry, military.