These are only some suggestions.
See the main History Day guides as well as subpages to this page.
2025 Topics
The Connecticut State Library (CSL) has a collection of indexes and databases to help you find articles - and many include books, government documents, and other resources. They cover different date ranges and different subject areas.
This HeinOnline database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more.
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
Combines more than 130 full-text primary source documents in American history with expert analysis and commentary. Coverage: from the Revolutionary era through 2019.
Full-text articles on all aspects of legal history throughout the world. Covers legal history from ancient to modern times.
A HeinOnline digitized collection of the bound and daily versions of the Congressional Record, and its predecessors. Coverage: 1789-.
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is considered an essential publication for studying American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate documents, House and Senate reports, and much more. The Serial Set began publication in 1817 with the 15th Congress, 1st session.
Public policy issues from Congressional Research Service. Coverage: CRS reports, 1916 - ; Committee Prints, 1830 -. Updated continuously. National and international.
Primary judicial documents presented to the United States Supreme Court. Coverage: 1832-1978.
The Open Society Justice Initiative from HeinOnline is part of the Open Society Foundations. It was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work.
A HeinOnline collection that brings together books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School's Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Newspaper. Coverage: Access to 1764 - 1999 is a separate subscription provided by the Connecticut State Library and requires a CT State Library card.
Historical newspaper database covering over 100 newspaper titles from cities and towns in Connecticut from 1786 to 2005. You may find newspaper articles, births, deaths, and more with browse by location, date and publication.
Digitized images of over 1,100 American magazines and journals that began publication between 1740 and 1900. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
Historical New York Times with Index.Coverage: Full-text: 1851-2019. Index: 1851-1993.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.