Prohibition

Included are some parts of an older guide from a previous History Day.

18th Amendment

See resources on Prohibition

Primo subject search for United States. Constitution. 18th Amendment
Use this link to search Primo, our catalog and discovery tool.

21st Amendment

These are a few examples.

Constitution Annotated (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) Annotated Constitution from Congress.gov.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) Site: "The Constitution Annotated provides a comprehensive overview of how the Constitution has been interpreted over time and is now available on this new site with upgraded search capabilities. The online Constitution Annotated includes discussions of the Supreme Court’s latest opinions."
U.S. Constitution Twenty-First Amendment
Congress.gov site includes a button for Twenty-First Amendment Explained
Overview of Twenty-First Amendment, Repeal of Prohibition
From Congress.gov

The twenty-first amendment and the end of prohibition, part 1 : introduction by Library of Congress. Congressional Research Service, issuing body.
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2023-
Online access through Primo, our catalog
The twenty-first amendment and the end of prohibition, part 3 : drafting and state ratification (CRS) by Murrill, Brandon J., author. Library of Congress. Congressional Research Service, issuing body.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2023-
Congressional Research Service (CRS)
Ratification of the twenty-first amendment to the Constitution of the United States. by United States. Department of State
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents S 1.2:C 76/7 item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1934
Online access through HathiTrust
Social and Economic Control of Alcohol : the 21st amendment in the 21st century by Carole L. Jurkiewicz; Murphy J. Painter
Call Number: Stacks HV5085 .S63 2008
ISBN: 9781420054637
Publication Date: 2007
The journal of the Constitutional convention to act upon a proposed amendment to the Constitution of the United States, held at Dover, Delaware, on June 24, 1933. by Delaware. Convention on ratification or rejection of the 21st amendment to the Constitution of the United States.
Call Number: Stacks JK169 21st 1933 .D3 Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1935
The CT State Library has journals for other states as well.

Primo subject search for United States. Constitution. 21st Amendment

Newspapers

These are a few examples.

The Prohibition Era in Connecticut
The Connecticut Digital Newspaper Project topic guide.
more...less...
Includes overview of topic, timeline, and search tips

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
User Guide for Researchers https://guides.loc.gov/chronicling-america/
Hartford Courant (1764-1999)
Newspaper. Coverage: Access to 1764 - 1998 is a separate subscription provided by the Connecticut State Library and requires a CT State Library card.

Other Institutions

These are a few examples.

Connecticut

Prohibition in Connecticut
Westport Public Library research guide.
Eighteenth Amendment
Westport Public Library research guide

The following items are from previous years.

Prohibition

Possible Resources

Books and Journals (some are online)

The Bureau of Prohibition, its history, activities and organization by Laurence F. Schmeckebier (Laurence Frederick), 1877-1959. Brookings Institution. Institute for Government Research.Laurence F. Schmeckebier (Laurence Frederick), 1877-1959. Brookings Institutio
Call Number: CSL Stacks HV5089 .S3 1929
Publication Date: 1929
Online at Internet Archive https://archive.org/details/bureauofprohibit001615mbp and https://archive.org/details/in.ernet.dli.2015.48600
Connecticut Woman's Christian Temperance Union [minutes and reports bound together] by Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut
Call Number: CSL Stacks HV5235.C8 C6 (years)
Minutes and reports of annual conventions are bound together by year. Several volumes in stacks, other material in Special Collections.
The Union signal; a journal of social welfare by Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Call Number: CSL Special Collections HV5285 .U65 oversize
A journal of social welfare that may contain useful articles.
Available in
- Hathi Trust https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/011985198
- Internet Archive https://archive.org/search.php?query=Union%20signal%20a%20journal%20of%20social%20welfare

Other suggestions. Check if your local library has it with combined Catalog (findIT-CT) https://finditct.org/eg/opac/home

Well-tempered women: nineteenth-century temperance rhetoric. by Carol Mattingly. Publisher: Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, ©1998.

Alcoholic Beverage Industry: Historical Resources at the Library of Congress
Bibliography from Library of Congress - not necessarily at Connecticut State library, or even online.
more...less...
Article/Guide from:
BERA (Business & Economics Research Advisor) Issue 23: Spring 2015

Websites

These are websites outside of the Connecticut State Library's holdings. The library neither endorses nor condemns any organization.

Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition Collection from Brown Digital Repository
Site description: "The digitized items in the Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition Collection are from the Alcoholism and Addiction Studies Collection, as well as from various collections in the Brown University Library — broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets and government publications.
The items have been collected at Brown for over three centuries for researchers and scholars at Brown and worldwide interested in American history, including the history of alcoholism, how the media was used for spreading ideas and information, and in how the arts presented various movements."
Brown Digital Repository. Brown University Library Collections
Site description: "The Brown University Library, in support of the University's educational and research mission, is the local repository for and the principal gateway to current information and the scholarly record. As such, it is simultaneously collection, connection, and classroom, primarily for the current and future students and faculty of the University, while also serving other colleagues in the University community and our regional, national, and global communities of learning and scholarship."
Radical Woman in a Classic Town. Frances Willard of Evanston
Northwestern University website on Frances Willard. Detailed description under "more info"
more...less...
Site description in the ABOUT page: "This Web site seeks to replicate the experience of viewing the “Radical Woman in a Classic Town” exhibit by reproducing images of all the photographs, documents, and artifacts used in the exhibit, matched with all the descriptive captions. The Index in the banner lists the “Chapters” in the virtual exhibit. Each “Chapter” represents one of the themed display cases in the original exhibit. A final section lists resources for further reading and research"
National Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Site for the current WCTU organization

Databases

Subscription databases require a library card. See key in the left column to explain icons and access to the databases.

New York Times (1851-2019) with Index (1851-1993)
Historical New York Times with Index.Coverage: Full-text: 1851-2019. Index: 1851-1993.

Women's Christian Temperance Movement

Woman's Christian Temperance Union

These are just some items on prohibition and Woman's Christian Temperance Union.

Sometimes Woman's is used, and sometimes Women's is used. Try searching both.

Search our catalog for many more items than listed.

Suggested terms: Temperance ; Prohibition ; 18th Amendment

WCTU Books, Documents, etc.

Books, Documents, etc.

Report of the ... convention of the Connecticut Woman's Christian Temperance Union by Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut.
Call Number: Stacks HV5235.C8 C6
Check library catalog record for years, as well as previous and later titles.
The White Ribbon Banner by Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut
Call Number: Stacks HV5235.C8 C6
See library catalog for details of years.
"Official organ of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut.".
The Union Signal; A Journal of Social Welfare by Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Call Number: Special Collections HV5285 .U65 oversize - must be used in secured collections area
Check library catalog for date range.
Glimpses of Fifty Years : The Autobiography of an American Woman by Willard, Frances E.
Call Number: online and Stacks HV5232.W6 A3 item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1889
Online access through our library catalog
Connecticut Counselor by Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Connecticut
Call Number: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS SpecColl HV5235.C8 W45
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS - must be used in Secured Collection Area.
See library catalog for date range.
Woman and temperance : or, The work and workers of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union by Frances E. Willard (Frances Elizabeth), 1839-1898. Mary A Lathbury (Mary Artemisia), 1841-1913
Call Number: CSL Stacks HV5227 .W6 1886
Publication Date: 1886
Full text available at
- Internet Archive https://archive.org/details/womantemperanceo00willa
- Hathi Trust https://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/5036278.html

WCTU Other Institutions

Other Institutions

National Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Site for the current WCTU organization