These are only some examples. See sub-pages for related topics.
See also: the page for Demographic Groups in the Military section; Genocide under Civil & Human Rights page; and History Day Previous Topics guide.
This is only a very small sample of resources. See specific topics too.
Many of the federal documents highlighted by the Government Publishing Office (GPO) may be available at the Connecticut State Library or other FDLP libraries.
Integration of the Armed Forces, 1940-1965 by These are a few examples.
These are guides from other libraries. The Connecticut State Library may have many of the federal documents listed on these guides. Most likely you will not have access to most of the subscription databases listed. A library card from the Connecticut State Library (CSL) is required to access our subscription databases that offer remote access through our use license.
There may be useful links to freely accessible web information.
Active in WWI mostly. See also WWI page on this guide.
Created by President Franklin D. Roosevelt for World War II (WWII) on June 13, 1942 by Executive Order 9182 and in existence until 1945. It consolidated several government organizations into one. Journalist Elmer Davis was tapped to head the OWI. Like the Committee on Public Information (CPI), the OWI had both foreign and domestic divisions. OWI established Voice of America (VOA) and the Bureau of Motion Pictures (BMP) worked with Hollywood film makers.
Many scientific advances came out of WWII. Some projects are better known than others, such as the Manhattan Project or Bat Bombs.
See previous topic guide too.
These are just some of the resources available. Also search our catalog and databases.
The library has extensive resources, search our library catalog.
These are guides from other libraries. The Connecticut State Library (CSL) may have the U.S. Government Documents listed, but most likely would not have access to subscription databases listed. Other libraries in your area may, or may not, have access to subscription databases. A CSL library card is required for remotes access to our subscription databases.
See archived research guides as well. These are only a few examples.
See other sections of this guide as well. These are only a few examples of resources available.
Employment of Negro TroopsIntegration of the Armed Forces, 1940-1965 by See also the section of this guide on Women in the Military.
American Women in a World at War by
LIBGUIDES: "This title brings together twenty-five writings by women who share their rich and varied World War II experiences, from serving in the military to working on the home front to preparing for the postwar world. By providing evidence of their active and resourceful roles in the war effort as workers, wives, and mothers, these women offer eloquent testimony that World War II was indeed everybody's war. Litoff and Smith combine pieces by well-known writers, such as Margaret Culkin Banning and Nancy Wilson Ross, with important-but largely forgotten-personal accounts by ordinary women living in extraordinary times. This volume is divided into the six sections listed below: Preparing for War In the Military At 'Far-Flung' Fronts On the Home Front War Jobs Preparing for the Postwar World"
Since You Went Away by
LIBGUIDES: ""Last night Mel and I were talking about some of the adjustments we''ll have to make to our husbands'' return. I must admit I''m not exactly the same girl you left-I''m twice as independent as I used to be and to top it off, I sometimes think I''ve become ''hard as nails''. . . . Also--more and more I''ve been living exactly as I want to . . . I do as I damn please." [These tough words from the wife of a soldier show that World War Ii changed much more than just international politics.] "From a fascinating collection of letters, filled with wonderfully distinctive human stories, Judy Barrett Litoff and David C. Smith have shpaed a rare and brilliant book that transports the reader back in time to an unforgettable era."--Doris Kearns Goodwin, author of The Fitzgeralds and the Kennedys and Lyndon Johnson and the American Dream. "This is a wonderful volume, full of admirable women struggling in a difficult situation, doing their best for their families and their country. Ah, the memories it brings back! Highly recommended for those who lived through the war, and for those who want to understand it."--Stephen E. Ambrose, author of Eisenhower and D-Day, June 6, 1944 "Offering a remarkable view into the lives of ordinary women during wartime, this book will enlighten and catch at the hearts of general readers and cause historians to reconsider how women experienced World War II."-Susan M. Hartmann, author of The Home Front and Beyond. "From among 25,000 of an estimated six billion letters sent overseas during World War II, Litoff and Smith have culled and skillfully edited a sampling by 400 American women. These letters, starting with one to a seaman wounded at Pearl Harbor, are compelling documents of home-front life in varied ethnic, cultural, and financial milieus. Tragic, touching, and funny, the correspondence is full of prosaic news and gossip about jobs and neighbors, along with accounts of births and intimate allusions to love-making. The stress of separation was intensified for women whose loved ones were hospitalized, or imprisoned as either conscientious objectors or security risks. Some women wrote General MacArthur and others for news of missing men or to obtain details of their deaths. Many of these heartrending documents also express acceptance-and even pride-in the sacrifices required by war."--Publishers Weekly. "Other scholars of WW II have published letters written home by servicemen, but this is the first collection sampling the letters written by sisters, sweethearts, wives, and mothers, saved by thousands of servicemen. Chapters are organized around themes that were important to these women: courtship, marriage, motherhood, work, sacrifices. . . . What women tell readers in these letters about their concerns and their wartime feelings will cause historians [readers?] to rethink what has been written about the homefront."--Choice. "Despite the popular appeal of Rosie the Riveter, nine out of ten mothers with children under six were not in the labor force, which helps to account for the vast outpouring of mail from the home front to ''our boys'' in the European and Pacific theaters. Some couples wrote every day for four years. This is the rich historic documentation that the authors have drawn upon to create a panoramic pastiche of indefatigable, energetic, patriotic female letter writers in the war years. . . . One is struck by the hard-headed practicality of many of the letters-stories of plucky, sometimes even grumpy, coping. There are letters of growing independence, with strong and at times explicit indication that the boyfriend or husband will be facing a very different woman upon his return from the one he ''knew'' when he disembarked for his own, often terrible, venture. . . . Every war leaves mothers with broken hearts. What this volume most remarkably demonstrates is just how prepared American women on the home front were for that dread eventuality."--Jean Bethke Elshtain in the Journal of American History. "Fascinating and often heartbreaking letters. . . . The letters illuminate a time when sex roles were first showing the changes that would culminate in the women''s movement. ''I must admit I''m not exactly the same girl you left,'' Edith Speert wrote to her husband, Victor, in 1945. ''I''m twice as independent as I used t be, and I sometimes think I''ve become hard as nails. I don''t think my changes will affect our relationship.''. . . In the end, it is the small human dramas in these letters that stand out. Anne Gudis, miffed to distraction by her soldier-swain Sam Kramer, writes what may be the shortest Dear John on record: ''Mr. Kramer: Go to hell! With love, Anne Gudis.'' A woman working at a Honolulu nightclub assures a pilot that she''ll wait for him-until she''s 20. The wife of an Air Corps navigator reads in a news story that only 15 of 1,500 Allied bombers were lost in a raid over Europe and later learns that her husband died in one of the 15. And a grieving mother whose son died in the Pacific asks Gen. Douglas MacArthur, in desperation, ''Please general he was a good boy, wasn''t he? Did he die a hard death?''"--Smithsonian. "''They made it possible for me to retain my sanity in an insane world,'' wrote one pilot about the letters his wife sent him throughout World War II. The letters contained in this collection explain the soldier''s sentiments. Whether full of passionate longing for a missing sweetheart or merely detailing domestic gossip, the letters offer a rich introduction to how American women experienced the war. Since military authorities ordered soldiers not to keep any letters written them by their loved ones, the authors have done a magnificent service in obtaining letters that soldiers either surreptitiously hid or whose authors copied them before sending them on."--Library Journal."
Integration of the Armed Forces, 1940-1965 by For items in subscription databases, a card for the Connecticut State Library is required.
First is a link to the entire database. Then there is a link to specific items, if that is possible. You will need to enter your CSL library card to access these online. Most congressional documents are available in the library and at other FDLP libraries near you. Contact us for help.
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
These are only a few suggestions. It is always recommended to search our library catalog.
Ethics of Research Involving Human Subjects by 
Medical Experimentation : Personal Integrity and Social Policy by These are only a few suggested search terms that might help you find information in our library catalog.
Medical ethics
Medicine, Experimental -- Law and legislation
Human experimentation in medicine
Human experimentation in medicine -- Moral and ethical aspects
Human experimentation in medicine -- Social aspects
Social control
These are only a few suggested sources. It is always recommended that you search our library catalog and databases.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.