LibGuides Home: History Day Blueprint: Medical &amp; Life Sciences

Medical & Life Sciences

Science.gov
Site: "Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results."
more...less...
Site: "Science.gov is a gateway to U.S. government science information. The portal offers free access to research and development (R&D) results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 13 federal agencies.
Science.gov makes it possible for users to search over 60 databases, over 2,200 websites, and over 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information in many formats, including full-text documents, citations, scientific data supporting federally funded research, and multimedia.
Science.gov is becoming a federal public access portal consistent with its original purpose and current vision and goals. It is making available free journal articles, peer-reviewed accepted manuscripts, and reports of research funded by federal science agencies, as well as the agencies’ public access policies and requirements.
In addition, Science.gov now offers information from across the federal government on education and training opportunities in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields for undergraduate and graduate students."

Archives at CSL

Archives at Connecticut State Library (CSL)

These are some examples of resources.

Connecticut Medical Society records (RG138)
Archives Finding Aid
more...less...
The Connecticut Medical Society was incorporated in 1792. From its inception, until 1893, the Society was responsible for licensing physicians. Now known as the Connecticut State Medical Society, it exists as a voluntary non-profit organization for scientific and educational purposes.
Dates: 1792-1912
Pandemics and Epidemics in Connecticut
The COVID-19 virus that spread over the world in early 2020 was not the first epidemic which Connecticut had to address. In the 20th century alone there were two epidemics, an extensive one in 1918-1919, called the Spanish Influenza, and another smaller outbreak in 1957, known as the Asiatic flu. More recently, we have responded to threats from Ebola and Zika. The documents and images in this collection are taken from a variety of Record Groups in the Connecticut State Archives to illustrate Connecticut’s response to public health threats in the recent past.
Health and Disease (CHI Featured Topics)
Connecticut History Illustrated (CHI) collections may include items from CSL Archives.
more...less...
CHI: "The Health and Disease featured topic brings together and provides an access point to resources from CTDA contributor organizations that pertain both broadly and specifically to health and disease in Connecticut’s distant and more recent past. It includes links to documents, broadsides, photographs, media reports, government records and other artifacts from the eighteenth- to the twenty-first centuries, organized into format- and topic-based sub-collections. The digital primary sources curated for this topic document epidemics and pandemics and their impact, ways to foster and maintain public health through disease prevention and treatment, promotion of wellness, and services of healthcare professionals and organizations designed to support these efforts and provide aid to those with health issues. The Health and Disease featured topic is one twenty-four curated sets created through the Connecticut Collections Alliance project funded by Connecticut Humanities, which seeks to make resources in Connecticut cultural heritage organizations more accessible, discoverable and usable for a wide range of audiences. To find more on health and disease in Connecticut and the related topics, use the topic headings within records to extend your searches--terms such as “epidemics,” “public health,” “mental illness,” “diet*” (enclosing phrases in quotes, and using an * to allow for singular, plural or other forms), and the names of specific diseases or institutions."
“Greatly Endangering the Inhabitants of Said Town & Contrary to the Statute Law”: Illegal Inoculation
Uncovering New Haven blog by Sarah Morin on December 7th, 2021
more...less...
Site: "For the fourth profile in our “disease in colonial New England” series, we examine a group of cases where four men were charged by the State of Connecticut for violating inoculation laws. Before we delve into this investigation, we will explain the difference between inoculation and vaccination, as well as provide a brief overview of the controversy and legislation surrounding inoculation in colonial New England."

Public Health

See also the section on Epidemics & Pandemics below.

Indexes for State and Federal Collections Research
by Kris Abery Last Updated Oct 11, 2024 175 views this year

Connecticut Department of Public Health Vital Records
Department of Public Health Regulatory Reports
Disciplinary actions taken against individuals licensed through the Department of Public Health.
Covers 2010-present
Department of Public Health Regulatory Reports
Disciplinary actions taken against individuals licensed through the Department of Public Health.
Covers 2010-present
Department of Public Health, 1799-2014, bulk 1887-2014. (RG016)
Archives Finding Aid.
Overview The Department of Public Health is the State's lead agency in public health policy and advocacy.
Dates: 1799-2014; Majority of material found within , 1877-2014
more...less...
In 1878, the General Assembly established a State Board of Health mandated to “take cognizance of the interests of health and life” of the people of Connecticut. It made sanitary investigations to inquire into and report on the causes of disease and the sources of mortality. It distributed sanitary information to local boards of health and compiled data submitted by these boards. It also had supervision of birth, death, and marriage registrations. Today the Department of Public Health is the State’s lead agency in public health policy and advocacy. Its major program areas include prevention/education, regulation, planning, emergency medical services, and local health administration.

Report Of The State Department Of Health For Two Years Ending June 30, 1918-1946
Call Number: 1918-1946
1920 includes influenza epidemic.
Published: 35th (1918)-61st (1946) = 40th and 41st years-69th year. Frequency: Annual, 1923-1946. Former frequency: Biennial, 1918-1922. Note: Title varies slightly. Continues: Connecticut. State Board of Health. Report of the State Board of Health of the state of Connecticut for the two years ending September 30 .. Continued by: Connecticut. State Dept. of Health. Report of the Department of Health.
Scarlet Fever : Prevention And Restriction
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc H342 ci no.70 1903
Publication Date: [1903]
Online access through our catalog.

Other Libraries

Health and Medicine- Community Guides (FDLP)
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) research guide: "Health and Medicine guides created by libraries in the FDLP community and submitted for use on FDLP LibGuides."

Medicine and the Military

These are only a few suggestions. ASO look under other topics, such a specific conflict and/or women.

Books, Documents, etc.

Highlights in the History of the Army Nurse Corps. Rev. and expanded ed.
Call Number: Federal Documents D 114.2:N 93/996
Publication Date: 1996
New and revised edition.
There may be a more recent edition, ask a librarian.
Army Medicine Starts Here : the U.S. Army Medical Center of Excellence and its origins : a pictorial history of the first 100 years, 1920 to 2020
Call Number: Online D 104.2:AR 5/2/2021
Publication Date: 2021
Centennial edition. Update to the publication originally titled "Envision, Design, Train"
GPO abstract: "Marking 100 years of Army professional medical training, this photographic volume shows the history of a century of training that began at Carlisle Barracks, Pennsylvania, relocated to Fort Sam Houston, Texas, after World War II, and continued evolving to meet the needs of military medicine into its present incarnation as the Army Medical Center of Excellence"-- Provided by publisher.
Report Of Drs. Cogswell And White, Special Agents To Visit Conn. Sick And Wounded Soldiers In The United States General Hospitals
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 1863
Online access through our catalog.
Report of Drs. William H. Coggswell sic and William M. White : state agents for care of soldiers
Call Number: Online and Cage ConnDoc So41 re
Publication Date: 1864
Report of the Committee on the History of the Medical Profession of Connecticut in the World War to the Connecticut State Medical Society, 1925
Call Number: Online and Stacks D629.U62 C8 1926 Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1926
Online access through our catalog.
A Legacy of Lessons Learned: Landstuhi Regional Medical Center During Wartime, 2001-2014 by Borden Institute (Editor); Karen Hennessy
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents D 104.2:L 52
ISBN: 9780160935046
Publication Date: 2017
Online access through our catalog.
GPO Bookstore: "The goal of this text is to share the lessons learned by LRMC staff in converting from a peacetime to wartime footing, serving as a guide for US military hospitals in similar situations in the future. The innovations and solutions planned and implemented so successfully by LRMC staff will assist future military medical and line leaders in maintaining the highest quality of healthcare services for future generations of our service men and women in combat, improving upon the historically high survival rates seen in these conflicts."
Navy Medicine in Vietnam
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents D 221.2:V 67
ISBN: 0945274629
Publication Date: 2010
Online access through our library catalog.
Handbook of the Hospital Corps, United States Navy, 1939
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents N 10.13:H 79/2/939
Publication Date: 1939
Online access through our library catalog.
Check catalog for additional editions.
The Evolution of Forward Surgery in the US Army
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents D 104.2:SU 7/3
ISBN: 9780160947841
Publication Date: 2019
Online access through our library catalog.
Catalog record includes description
A Legacy of Lessons Learned: Landstuhi Regional Medical Center During Wartime, 2001-2014 by Borden Institute (Editor); Karen Hennessy
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents D 104.2:L 52
ISBN: 9780160935046
Publication Date: 2017
Access through our library catalog

Other Institutions

Civil War Diary of Arminius Bill (CTDA)
Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) Bill Memorial Library: "Diary written by Arminius Bill, who served as a physician for the Union Army in the Civil War from 1861 to 1865."
Military Medicine: Medical Support (VHP)
Veterans History Project (VHP)
Military Medicine: Nurses
Veterans History Project (VHP)
more...less...
VHP: "No one in war has a purer mission than nurses. Even doctors must sometimes inflict pain for the better good of a patient, but a nurse is there only to soothe and comfort. The ideals that a nurse carries into any wartime hospital are challenged by the daily arrival of bodies broken in battle. Every personal experience -- camaraderie with fellow nurses, relations with superior officers, romantic entanglements -- is magnified by the intensity of a profession that demands courage, compassion and above all, composure."
Military Medicine: Doctors (VHP)
Veterans History Project (VHP)
more...less...
VHP: "In an enterprise founded on destruction and killing, military doctors have a uniquely constructive mission. They must mend their own comrades’ wounds and if possible, send them back to fight, even if it risks further injury. Doctors rarely carry a weapon and in most instances are exempt from being fired on. That doesn't always protect them from danger, and it surely does not exempt them from the stresses of war. A soldier, if he’s truly lucky, may never witness a casualty; casualties are what wartime military doctors deal with every day."
Military Medicine (VHP)
From the Veterans History Project (VHP). Links to veterans' stories.
Textbooks of Military Medicine from the Borden Institute
Site description: "The Borden Institute, Army Medical Department Center and School (AMEDDC&S), publishes the Textbooks of Military Medicine. The volumes in the series ... constitute a comprehensive treatise on the art and science of military medicine, covering such diverse topics as biological and chemical warfare, military preventive medicine, military medical ethics, combat and operational behavioral health, harsh environments, and care of combat injuries. Other Borden Institute products include volumes on military medical history, monographs, and specialty titles such as Emergency War Surgery. ... Copies of Borden Institute publications may be ordered free of charge by eligible personnel. Anyone may download PDF versions free of charge. www.cs.amedd.army.mil/borden."
Aid for the sick and wounded of the Army and Navy
Online through the National Library of Medicine (NLM)

WWII and Holocaust

Nazi Medical Experiments
Article from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

WWI Medicine

Report of the Committee on the History of the Medical Profession of Connecticut in the World War to the Connecticut State Medical Society, 1925
Call Number: Online and Stacks D629.U62 C8 1926 Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1926
Online access through our catalog.
Figures Taken From the State Military Census on the Nurses and Nursing Resources of Connecticut, Nov. & Dec. 1917
Call Number: Online and ConnDoc N937f
Publication Date: 1917

Epidemics & Pandemics

A few suggested resources.

Search historic newspapers for first hand accounts. Search our catalog and archives to see more resources available through the Connecticut State Library (CSL).

Books, Documents, etc.

A World Emerging from Pandemic by Stacey Pollard (Volume Editor); Larry Kuznar (Volume Editor) Online access through our catalog, Primo. "This edited volume explores how the COVID pandemic has impacted-and will continue to impact-the U.S. Intelligence Community. Authors from multiple disciplines probe the ways in which pandemic-associated conditions interact with national security problem sets. This work presents evidence-based, qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods analyses so their projections can be tested against future conditions. This project is the result of a cooperative effort between National Intelligence University and the Pentagon's Joint Staff Strategic Multilayer Assessment office"
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents D 5.216:P 19
ISBN: 9781932946093
Publication Date: 2022
Report of Board of Directors to Establish County Homes for the Care and Treatment of Persons Suffering from Tuberculosis to the Governor for the Period Beginning...
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc T791sc
Online access through our catalog.
Report Of State Tuberculosis Commission To The Governor For The Period Beginning
Call Number: Conn Doc T791sc
Publication Date: 1914-1950
Connecticut And German Sanatoria Compared : A Report To The Governor Of Connecticut From The International Conference On Tuberculosis, Berlin, October, 1913
Call Number: Conn Doc T7911m cg
Publication Date: [1913?]
Report Of The State Department Of Health For Two Years Ending June 30, 1918-1946
Call Number: 1918-1946
1920 includes influenza epidemic.
Published: 35th (1918)-61st (1946) = 40th and 41st years-69th year. Frequency: Annual, 1923-1946. Former frequency: Biennial, 1918-1922. Note: Title varies slightly. Continues: Connecticut. State Board of Health. Report of the State Board of Health of the state of Connecticut for the two years ending September 30 .. Continued by: Connecticut. State Dept. of Health. Report of the Department of Health.
Some Important Accessories In The Solution Of The Tuberculosis Problem
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc T7911g s
Publication Date: [1914]
Online access through our catalog.
"An address given before the Connecticut State Conference of Charities and Corrections at Bridgeport, April 26, 1914.".

Databases

Many of our databases will have relevant information. Here are items that focus on the topic.

COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present (HeinOnline)
CSL Library required for remote access. HeinOnline "collection compiles together publications on the various ways COVID-19 has impacted every aspect of life, organized into Economic Impact, Global Impact, Health Care Impact, and Societal Impact. In addition, the database features a subcollection dedicated to Past Pandemics, allowing researchers access to ways the federal government has responded to medical disasters of the past and how these previous pandemics inform today’s responses."

Other Institutions

Germs, Epidemics, and the CTDA
Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA): "From the resources in the CTDA, here are just a few glimpses into our history of responses to heath threats."
Tracking Another Silent Killer (CTDA)
Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) article on resources on TB.
Influenza Epidemic of 1918 (Spanish Flu): Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC): "Between the spring of 1918 and 1919, a virulent and fatal influenza swept the United States. This guide provides information for researching the "Influenza Epidemic of 1918 (Spanish Flu)" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspaper."
Use the side navigation for additional information.
Tuberculosis: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) list of topics for research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "After the Industrial Revolution, poor socioeconomic conditions led to the highly contagious consumption. This guide provides access to materials related to "Tuberculosis” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Typhoid Mary: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "In the Fall of 1906, Mary Mallon, a cook, is found to be "patient zero" for a typhoid outbreak leading to her exile. This guide provides access to materials related to "Typhoid Mary” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Vaccines & Immunizations (CDC)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) portal, with sections by topic and audience.
JACOBSON v. COM. OF MASSACHUSETTS(1905) 197 U.S. 11, 12]
FindLaw page on U.S. Supreme Court case on constitutionality of required vaccinations.
more...less...
Part of the decision: "The defendant insists that his liberty is invaded when the state subjects him to fine or imprisonment for neglecting or refusing to submit to vaccination; that a compulsory vaccination law is unreasonable, arbitrary, and oppressive, and, therefore, hostile to the inherent right of every freeman to care for his own body and health in such way as to him seems best; and that the execution of such a law against one who objects to vaccination, no matter for what reason, is nothing short of an assault upon his person. But the liberty secured by the Constitution of the United States to every person within its jurisdiction does not import an absolute right in each person to be, at all times and in all circumstances, wholly freed from restraint. There are manifold restraints to which every person is necessarily subject for the common good. On any other basis organized society could not exist with safety to its members. Society based on the rule that each one is a law unto himself would soon be confronted with disorder and anarchy."
Connecticut Explored Health issue 2004
Feb/Mar/April 2004 Volume 2 / Number 2 In This Issue: An Apple A Day
Call number Stacks F104.H3 H64
more...less...
Issue includes several articles on medical history in Connecticut.

Articles

CT Explored/Hog River Journal this issue: bite the bullet
Spring 2007 Volume 5 / Number 2
Print Stacks F104.H3 H64
Restoring East Granby’s Smallpox Cemetery
by Tom Howard Connecticut Explored. Vol.12 No.3, Summer, 2014 Call number Stacks F104.H3 H64
Mandates to Vaccinate: A Brief History
HeinOnline Blog, October 5, 2021 by Lauren Zazzara
Blog is open access, a card from the CT State Library is required to access some of the linked resources.
Fighting Smallpox at Hospital Rock
By Charles Leach, M.D. (c) Connecticut Explored Inc. Feb/Mar/Apr 2004
History of Smallpox (CDC)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) article
Gen. George Washington Ordered Smallpox Inoculations for All Troops
Article from U.S. Military Health System. Includes link to Library of Congress article "George Washington and the First Mass Military Inoculation"

Other Libraries' Guides

1918 Flu Pandemic (FDLP)
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP): "This guide provides links to resources to learn more about the 1918 flu pandemic."
Most links are to government agency information.
Coronavirus Pandemic: Government Resources (FDLP)
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) research guide: "This guide contains a list of government resources about the Coronavirus Pandemic."
Coronavirus (FDLP)
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) research guide: "Guides created about subjects related to Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Please note that the information contained in some of these guides do not focus solely on Federal government resources."
Pandemia de Coronavirus: Recursos Españoles (Coronavirus Pandemic: Spanish resources) (FDLP)
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) research guide: :"Esta guía contiene una lista de recursos gubernamentales sobre la pandemia de coronavirus en español. (This guide contains a list of government resources on the coronavirus pandemic in Spanish.)"

Mental Health

Concepts and terms varied over time. Feel free to contact us for assistance.

These is only a small number of examples of our resources.

Report of the Commission to Study Laws and Facilities for Prevention, Treatment and Cure of Mental Diseases and Defects
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc G251mdd rep
Publication Date: [1937]
Online access through our catalog.
Cover title: "Your Commission, created under Special Act No. 360 of 1935 ..."--Page [1]. "February, 1937.".
Report of the Commissioners on Idiocy to the General Assembly of Connecticut : May Session, 1856
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc Id56 rep 1856 Item does not circulate.
Publication Date: 1856
Online access through our catalog.
Report of the Committee for Locating a Site for a Hospital for Insane Poor. May session, 1840
Call Number: Online and Cage ConnDoc In713Ls Item does not circulate.
Publication Date: 1840
Report Of The Directors And Superintendent Of The Connecticut School For Imbeciles, At Lakeville, Conn., To The General Assembly, May Session, 1862
Call Number: Online and ConnDoc F33 1861_62
Publication Date: 1862

Other Institutions

Treating the Mind in Times Past
By Ben Gammell (c) Connecticut Explored Inc., Fall 2022
Connecticut Explored Health issue 2004
Feb/Mar/April 2004 Volume 2 / Number 2 In This Issue: An Apple A Day
Call number Stacks F104.H3 H64
more...less...
Issue includes several articles on medical history in Connecticut.

A Society For Mental Hygiene As An Agency For Social Service And Education
Publication Date: 1910
Online at OpenLibrary
Annual report of the Connecticut Society for Mental Hygiene
Publication Date: 1912-1930 (incomplete)
Online in HathiTrust
Vol. 4, 6-13, 22 (1912-30)
The Value Of Social Service As An Agency In The Prevention Of Nervous And Mental Disorders : Its Importance As A Part Of The Work Of Hospitals For The Insane And Of A State Society For Mental Hygiene
Publication Date: 1910
Online access through OpenLibrary
The After Care Of The Insane : A History Of Its Development And A Discussion Of Its Nature And Value As An Agency In The Prevention Of Mental Disorders, Together With A Plan For Its Practical Application In Connnecticut And Other Chosen Fields
Publication Date: 1909
Online through the Wellcome Library
Annual report. Connecticut Society for Mental Hygiene
Publication Date: 1900s-?
Online access through Google Books

Books, Documents, etc.

The Industrial Nurse And The Woman Worker (Bulletin 228 (revision of Special bull. no. 19)
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents L 13.3:224-234
Publication Date: 1949
Online access through our library catalog.
1944 edition at Federal Documents L 13.10:19

CT Explored/Hog River Journal this issue: bite the bullet
Spring 2007 Volume 5 / Number 2
Print Stacks F104.H3 H64

Drug Use

Other Libraries

Opioids (FDLP)
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) research guide: "This guide contains links to key government resources on opioid addiction. The information here is for use by the general public and practitioners."

Terminology and Usage Disclaimer

Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.

Terminology Policy
Please note that this policy is subject to change and expansion as we learn more about the needs and preferences of our diverse audiences.