LibGuides Home: History Day Blueprint: Law &amp; Courts

Law & Courts

This is only a few examples. The Connecticut State Library (CSL) has many more resources. Use our Contact Us page to reach out to our Law Librarians and/or History & Genealogy Librarians.

The focus is on U.S. and Connecticut. Check our main research guides and History Day Previous Topics for possible other legal topics (ex. Apartheid).

History Day Previous Topics
by Jenny Groome Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 238 views this year

Reference and Research Guides A-Z list
List of research guides assigned to Reference Services' groups.

Some topics have been studied over several years and may have separate page. For example:

Witch Trials, Witchcraft, Witches - History Day
History Day page for previous topics. Contains resources that may be of help with future topics.
Public Health - History Day
History Day page for previous topics. Contains resources that may be of help with future topics.

Connecticut

Connecticut Laws & Courts

See Law Unit's guides.

Court Information
by Law & Legislation Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 350 views this year
Capital Punishment in Connecticut
by Law & Legislation Last Updated Apr 1, 2024 347 views this year
Self-Help Legal Resources by Nolo
by Law & Legislation Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 47 views this year

Historic Court Indexes

Connecticut Court Records,1666-1974

Other Institutions

The Connecticut State Supreme Court: The Last Word Viewing Guide (CT-N)
Download viewing guide.
The Connecticut State Supreme Court: The Last Word Video (CT-N)
Discover the history and function of the highest court in the state.

US Constitution and Articles of Confederation

Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation
From the Library of Congress. Collection of U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates for the early years of the U.S.A. Detailed description available on their website
Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, 1774 to 1789 (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC): "Contains 277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. Most broadsides are one page in length; others range from 1 to 28 pages. A number of these items contain manuscript annotations not recorded elsewhere that offer insight into the delicate process of creating consensus. In many cases, multiple copies bearing manuscript annotations are available to compare and contrast. "

Constitution Making: Conflict and Consensus in the Federal Convention of 1787 by Calvin Jillson
Call Number: Stacks KF4520 .J55 1988 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
ISBN: 0875860818
Publication Date: 1988

Databases

These are only examples of the Connecticut State Library's subscription databases. Most require a card from us in order to have remote access. See our complete list:

A-Z Databases
Lists databases (subscription and free) available through the Connecticut State Library (CSL). Some subscription databases have remote access which require a card from CSL.
more...less...
See the box of icons which explain access.

Milestone Documents in American History
Combines more than 130 full-text primary source documents in American history with expert analysis and commentary. Coverage: from the Revolutionary era to the present day.
ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
U.S. Congressional Documents
A HeinOnline digitized collection of the bound and daily versions of the Congressional Record, and its predecessors. Coverage: 1789-.
LLMC-Digital
LLMC-Digital is an extensive archive of historical primary and specialized legal materials covering the U.S. federal and state governments, the British Commonwealth, other foreign countries, and various international organizations.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1823-1978
Primary judicial documents presented to the United States Supreme Court. Coverage: 1823-1978.
Supreme Court Insight
The Supreme Court Insight Collection is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per curiam decisions, with dockets, joint appendices and amicus briefs starting with the 1975 Court term.
Women and the Law (Peggy)
A HeinOnline collection that brings together books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School's Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.
Civil Rights and Social Justice
This HeinOnline database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
This new HeinOnline collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the Miller and Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.
Immigration Law and Policy in the U.S. (HeinOnline)
A compilation of the most important historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law. This first comprehensive database includes BIA Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.

Other Institutions

Educational Resources (US Federal Courts)
Portal Federal Courts eductional resources that include activities, landmark U.S. Supreme Courts cases and more.
African American History Month (US Federal Courts)
U.S. Federal Courts Educational Resources, highlighting court cases related to African American History.
Crimes and Trials of the Century - Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) list of topics for research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) Site: "Chronicling America provides free access to millions of historic American newspaper pages. Listed here are topics widely covered in the American press of the time. We will be adding more topics on a regular basis"
Core Documents of Our Democracy
GovInfo digital collection.
Many items will be in the CT State Library collection.
Constitucion de Los Estados Unidos (FDLP)
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) research guide: "Creado por GPO en nombre de la Pontificia Universidad Católica de Puerto Rico.(Created by GPO on behalf of Pontificia Universidad Católica de Puerto Rico.)"
Constitution Day (FDLP)
Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) research guide: "Guides created about subjects related to Constitution Day"

Terminology & Usage Disclaimer

Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.

Terminology Policy
Please note that this policy is subject to change and expansion as we learn more about the needs and preferences of our diverse audiences.