The library’s facilities encompass the community needs for the safe, efficient use of the physical space, ease of access to the space and resources, including hours available, and the extension of access through a sustainable technology infrastructure.
Better by Design by
Drawing on the authors' experience gained from library projects around the world, this book charts a readable path through everything from the planning of a new library, to major refurbishment, or the remodeling of a current library. It clearly explains the library design language and processes needed by professionals overseeing any project, and covers essential aspects including ensuring cost-effectiveness, eco-efficiencies, improved service and community impact meet the organization's objectives. Fully revised and updated, this new edition includes coverage of: the need for flexible and adaptable library spaces the environmental impact of building design, construction and use the trend towards multi-use, multi-purpose buildings to serve community, cultural and educational needs a customer-centered approach to service delivery heightened focus on health and wellbeing for all stakeholders the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and customer access needs on the design and layout of a library the rapid growth of digital services. International and cross-sectoral in scope, this book is an essential guide for library professionals or architects involved in library building, remodeling or development. It will also be a valuable reference for students of both library and architectural design.
The Disaster Planning Handbook for Libraries by
Libraries are in a unique position to aid communities during times of adversity, and this comprehensive handbook's practical tools and expert guidance will help ensure that your library is thoroughly prepared for emergency response and recovery. Your library is a vital information hub and resource provider every single day, and that's doubly true when calamity strikes. In fact, your library's role as an "essential community function" during disasters is now encoded in U.S. law. Engaging as a partner in planning and preparedness will build much-needed community support should disaster strike, and even a basic plan will also save you time and stress later on. No matter where your library is in the disaster planning cycle, this handbook will make the process clearer and less daunting. You'll get tools, activities, easy-to-adapt templates, and hands-on guidance on such topics as the six phases of disaster response; 15 first-hand accounts of library disaster planning or responses, helping you identify the library services most needed during a disaster; three essential factors that will shape the form of your disaster plan; preparing for hurricanes, tornadoes, fires, floods, and earthquakes; ideas for connecting with your community's emergency response teams; federal government planning resources; pointers on working with state and local governments; a sample Memorandum of Understanding to outline mutual support for a speedier recovery; recommended courses and training, many of which are free; targeted advice for archives and special collections; sample building inspection checklists; and recommended games to help children and families prepare.
Constructing Library Buildings That Work by
When it's time to start planning for a renovation or construction project, you don't need a book that covers everything from A to Z. Instead you need a concentrated set of tools and techniques that will guide you and your team to find the best solutions for your specific project. That's exactly what library building expert Schlipf provides in his new book, which will be a key resource for library directors, administrators, board members, trustees, and planning professionals. Pinpointing the elements that make library buildings functional, in this book readers will find a streamlined organization of the text that enables quick consultation and facilitates collaboration; concise coverage of the essentials of the library construction process, including who does what, how things work, and how to stay out of trouble along the way; advice on important planning and workflow considerations such as site selection, schematic design, funding, design development, the bidding process, construction, and post-construction occupancy; discussion of the characteristics of successful library buildings--buildings that are easy to maintain, welcoming to people with disabilities, have less trouble-prone restrooms, and provide security for users, staff, and collections; and an overview of bad ideas in library architecture, with pointed guidance on how to steer clear of them from the very beginning of your project.
Risk Management and Insurance Manual for Libraries by
Amidst uncertain times rife with challenges and potential catastrophes, prudently managing risk will bolster your library's resilience in the face of adversity. And by being attentive to lowering risk, you'll help keep insurance costs in check. This succinct manual for trustees and administrators offers straightforward guidance for designing and implementing a library risk management program. You'll get succinct advice on such essentials as the five major areas of risk and loss for libraries, with an overview of the types of property and casualty coverage common to most libraries; how to determine if the new framework of enterprise risk management is right for your library; elements of a good risk policy statement; tips for determining the value of your collection, plus a sample risk assessment template; the most library-relevant portions of the National Fire Code; insurance considerations for remodeling or construction projects; advice on cybersecurity and handling cyberattacks; setting up an emergency response team that is ready when disaster threatens; developing a financial plan that assures uninterrupted service despite adverse conditions; and guidance on the paperwork a claims adjuster will require. This to-the-point resource will lead you onto the best path to safeguarding your library's assets and future.
Library Design for the 21st Century by
Library design in the 21st century has one common theme: collaboration is at the heart of innovation. Designing modern libraries is a complex process involving many stakeholders and participants. Libraries of all types work with an almost limitless range of constituent groups for input, buy-in and successful implementation. Securing support for new library buildings and renovations of libraries engages many people: library clients, community members, faculty, funding agencies, donors, governing authorities, librarians, architects, interior designers and planners. Telling the right story and getting to the end game demand carefully crafted approaches, wide-ranging skills, a unified vision and productive teamwork. The IFLA Library Buildings and Equipment Section has selected the best papers presented by award-winning architects and international thought leaders from the academic and public library sector at our recent satellite conferences and seminars: "Collaborative Strategies for Successful Library Design" (Chicago, Illinois), "What comes after the Third Place?" (Columbus, Ohio); "Key Issues for Library Space: International Perspectives" (Maynooth, Ireland); "Storage, the final frontier" (Munich, Germany) and "Telling and selling the space story" (Wrocław, Poland). The stories by the library and design professionals within this publication illustrate how powerful a role partnerships, outreach and cooperation play in a library project's success.
Sustainable Thinking by
How we talk about what we do is just as important as what we do, and in communicating the value of libraries to our society what our profession needs is confidence, determination, and the will to succeed. In this inspiring and pragmatic new book, Aldrich shows that the first step towards a sustainable library is sustainable thinking: a determined yet realistic attitude that will help your library spot opportunities for institutional advancement, advocate for and safeguard operating funds, and generate intense loyalty from the communities you serve. Nothing less than a compass to help chart the course of your library's future, this book begins with a situation report that examines the myriad societal disruptions that are impacting libraries and discusses why resiliency is a key component of sustainability; defines how sustainable thinking encompasses not just the environment but economics and social equity as well; provides strategies for supporting the core values of librarianship by following the Three Es of Sustainable Libraries; lays out a host of tactics to build intense loyalty to your library from the inside out, including ways to foster an organizational culture of sustainable thinking through policy changes and purposeful leadership; guides you in communicating effectively with the community, thereby ensuring that your advocacy connects with the maximum number of residents, opinion leaders, and decision makers; demonstrates how to use construction and renovation projects as unique opportunities for positive changes; and offers worksheets, discussion questions, checklists, additional resources, and many other useful tools that will help you put sustainable thinking into action. This book will show you how to harness sustainable thinking to move forward with confidence into the unknown.
Planning Optimal Library Spaces by
Planning Optimal Library Spaces: Principles, Process, and Practices demystifies library space planning, inspires creative thinking, and offers immediate how-to steps to rectify seemingly hopeless situations. It describes an approach to library space planning that introduces and combines a phased implementation strategy with traditional space planning to allow library transformations and renovations to be done as a single project or a series of smaller, separate, and more manageable phased interventions. It allows libraries to meet current needs sooner, as smaller funding opportunities arise, instead of waiting on completely funded projects to develop. Chapters cover the approach, the importance of community engagement meetings, collection storage strategies, the anatomy of a library project budget, recommendations for getting started, and case studies of both public and academic library planning projects with detailed phasing strategies. Printed in full color with 148 images, this is a must-have book for librarians, architects, government/education administrators, and anyone involved with, or even thinking about a library planning or renovation project.
The Practical Handbook of Library Architecture by
Listen to an American Libraries Dewey Decibel podcast featuring one of the authors now! Distilling hard fought wisdom gleaned from hundreds of successful library construction projects they've supervised or coordinated, the authors present this definitive resource on library architecture. With a special emphasis on avoiding common problems in library design, in a down-to-earth manner they address a range of issues applicable to any undertaking. From planning completely new library buildings to small remodeling projects, they offer specific how-to and how-not-to guidance. Packed with lists and headings to allow for easy scanning, this handbook provides nuts-and-bolts guidance on the entire process of planning, design, and construction, including "snappy rules" summarizing each chapter; covers new construction, remodeling and expanding of existing buildings, and conversion of non-library spaces to libraries; explains how library buildings actually function as objects, and how that applies to library design; reviews typical design problems of existing libraries, and advises libraries on how to avoid creating dysfunctional buildings and spaces; shows how to collaborate productively with planners, architects, and contractors; discusses the technical needs of basic library spaces, including collection storage, user seating, meeting and conference rooms, craft rooms, study areas, service desks, restrooms, and staff workspaces; and includes careful consideration of technical requirements relating to lighting, electrical systems, security systems, elevators, staircases, and other areas. Library directors, staff, and planning professionals will want this handbook close at hand before, during, and after any library construction project.
Creating the High-Functioning Library Space by
This book provides practical information and insights to library administrators and building plan team members at academic and public libraries who are considering or starting a library expansion or reconfiguration of existing space.Building a new library or expanding or renovating an existing building brings up a host of questions and concerns, not the least of which involves the future of the library. This book addresses those issues in light of an overarching positive vision of libraries and their evolving purposes and roles in the 21st century.This guide identifies and addresses all of the steps in the building process, including preparing the request for proposal (RFP), selecting the right architect for the job, developing a financial contingency plan, and managing stakeholders' expectations. The book presents both the perspectives and experience of library administrators and management personnel as well as the insights of accomplished library architects and designers. It provides thorough, practical, and current guidance in a process that library administrators often find daunting and "risk immersive." Reading this book is like sitting down with a knowledgeable, impartial consultant before beginning a major renovation project--a tremendous asset for library administrators as well as architectural firms.
Checklist of Library Building Design Considerations by
The needs and functions of library buildings have certainly changed over the last decade, but the necessity for planning intelligently and thoroughly hasn't. In fact, tighter budgets and the complex demands of both library users and staff call for careful preparation now more than ever. Whether you're building from the ground up or simply remodeling, the success of your project hinges on planning, coordination, and communication. This new update of Sannwald's classic guide will help you stay prepared and organized for every phase of your undertaking from conception through the dedication ceremony. Using a popular checklist format that ensures no detail is overlooked, this planner covers crucial considerations like Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) factors, structured to match the federal code; sustainable design features, including sensors that save energy and water; designing makerspaces, digital media labs, or leased library enterprises; disaster and recovery planning; creating quiet spaces; collaborative collections and materials-handling efficiency; and important virtual presence aspects to bear in mind during physical space decisions. Library managers, administrators, and facilities staff will find this book a matchless tool for any construction project regardless of size or complexity.
Public Library Buildings by
This go-to guide covers the entire process of building or renovating a public library—from initial planning, to maintaining the completed space, to measuring success. * Provides you with an informal, easy-to-read, practical guide that addresses the specific needs of public librarians looking to reimagine their library space * Takes a holistic approach that covers every step from initial vision to evaluating success * Offers practical, nuts-and-bolts advice from an experienced veteran of the process * Helps you to claim a seat at the table—and shows you why the input of librarians is so important
Makerspaces in Libraries by
Makerspaces-sometimes referred to as hackerspaces, backspaces, and fablabs-are creative spaces where people can gather to create, invent, and learn. Makerspaces are becoming increasingly popular in both public and academic libraries as a new way to engage patrons and add value to traditional library services. Discover how to create a makerspace within your own library using this step-by-step guidebook. Highlights and best practices include, budgeting and business planning for a library makerspaces, getting started with Arduino (illuminate your library with LED ambient mood lighting), becoming familiar with 3D printers through practical printing projects (seed bombs), hosting a FIRST Robotics Team at the library, developing hands-on engagement for senior makers (squishy circuits) Book jacket.
The Library Renovation, Maintenance, and Construction Handbook by
The Library Renovation, Maintenance, and Construction Handbook is a one-stop, easy-to-understand resource that will guide you through the often complicated, jargon-filled arenas of building construction and renovation, so that you can effectively advocate for your ideas about how form supports your library's functions. Authors Donald A. Barclay and Eric D. Scott draw on their extensive experience to provide a wealth of accessible and practical advice for creating functional, attractive, and long-lasting library spaces. They introduce readers to the major stages of construction and renovation, explain details like building codes, reading plans, and building systems, and even provide a handy glossary of key construction terms. This helpful guide outlines all of the vital steps for building or renovating library-specific spaces, including coverage of interior design, signage, safety and security, and what it means to build a green library. You'll find tips for daily and emergency maintenance, as well how to protect and manage a library during a renovation. The companion CD-ROM makes the glossary searchable, gives you digital blueprint symbols to help you learn about reading plans, features digital images illustrating major construction methods discussed in the book, and includes many useful forms and checklists to customize for your library. Unfortunately, they don't teach building renovation, maintenance, and construction in library school. Whether you're building or renovating a public, academic, school, or special library, this accessibly-written new guidebook will equip you with the fundamental knowledge and tools you need.
Emergency Preparedness for Libraries by
Despite the volumes of information they contain, few libraries, whose population at any given moment is as unpredictable as the weather, know how to prepare for, endure, and survive a disaster, whether natural or man-made, and even fewer put their know-how to paper. Emergency Preparedness for Libraries provides library management with a comprehensive guide to planning and executing emergency procedures. Based, in part, on an emergency preparedness seminar the author has presented for the American Library Association, Emergency Preparedness for Libraries provides library personnel with detailed instructions for protecting staff, patrons, and the facilities themselves, including Steps to take now, before disaster strikes People and procedures to include in an emergency/disaster action plan Practical ways to turn written plans into an instinctual team response Safety considerations to take into account when caring for people on-site during an emergency Information to provide to the umbrella organization and the media after a disaster Key things to do the first few days after an event Tips for getting back to business In addition, the author examines possible scenarios and provides step-by-step solutions for all types of libraries academic, school, public, and special and all types of disruptions, including floods, fires, civil disturbances, and theft."
This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.