Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's and YA Services: Service Center Resources

Service Center Collections

Make an appointment to visit the Service Center
As of June 1, 2020, the Middletown Library Service Center requires appointments for drop offs or pick ups from our collection. 

Reserve Discussion Sets and Equipment
You can now reserve book sets, book props, STEM kits, and musical instrument kits yourself!

Search Primo

Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, kits, puppets and more! On the search results page, narrow your search to MLSC or large print items at LBPH.

Not sure how to use Primo? Follow the directions below.

Service Center Staff

Maria Bernier
Statewide Data Coordinator
860-704-2204
Maria.Bernier@ct.gov

Brad Bullis
Digital Content & Innovation Coordinator
860-704-2206
Bradley.Bullis@ct.gov

Grace Burchard
Library Technical Assistant
860-704-2212
Grace.Burchard@ct.gov

Steve Cauffman
retired

Judy Crooks
Circulation / ILL
860-704-2205
Judy.Crooks@ct.gov

Gail Hurley
Professional Development Consultant
860-704-2222
Gail.Hurley@ct.gov

Kymberlee Powe
Children's and YA Consultant
860-704-2207
Kymberlee.Powe@ct.gov

Diane Stielau
Library Aide
860-704-2208
Diane.Stielau@ct.gov

Consolidated List of All EBSCO Titles in researchIT CT

Collection Support

The Service Center loans materials out for 90 days (in most cases).
You can borrow item from us, and circulate them to your own patrons.

  • Picture Books
  • Juvenile Nonfiction
  • YA Fiction and Nonfiction
  • Juvenile and YA Large Print.
  • Limited Selection of Juvenile and YA Audio Books on CD

To order these materials, click HERE.

How long do items circulate

  • Professional collection/ YA/ Non Fiction- 3 months
  • Puppets/ Visual items- 3 months
  • Storytime Resources (Mother Goose)- 3 months
  • Book discussion sets- 45 days (with option to extend)
  • Current Nutmegs- 45 days (No option to extend)
  • Storytime Kits- 30 days
  • STEM Kits- 45 days

Programming Materials

The Service Center loans the following items to help you with your programming needs.

Click on these links to order for your library.

Current Nutmeg Nominee Sets

Other Book Sets & Kits

Non-Book Kits Also Available

If you are at a LION library you also have access to the kits here:

Padlet Page

Click the image above to browse new middle grade and YA reads.

Professional Collection

  The Service Centers house a large collection of professional development books, which you can borrow for 90 days. 

This collection includes: 

  • Neal-Schuman "How-To" series for librarians
  • Most ALA Publications
  • Professional Videos and DVDs
  • All the Wilson Library catalogs
  • Professional journals

Children and YA Consultant

Kymberlee Powe's picture
Kymberlee Powe
Contact:
786 S Main St, Middletown, CT 06457
860-704-2207

Hours and Locations

Middletown Library Service Center
786 South Main St.
Middletown, CT 06457
860-704-2200, 800-437-2313 (toll free in CT)
researchIT CT: 860-704-2224

Connecticut State Library
231 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106
860-757-6665

Credits

This project is funded by the State of Connecticut and the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Connecticut State Library.  And by the Connecticut State Library

CT State Library "Preserving the past. Informing the Future." logo Institute of Museum and Library Services logo

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.