Skip to main content

Service Center and Collections: About the Service Center

Collection Support * Professional Collections * Programming materials for children and adults * Technology Training Lab * Meeting Rooms & Equipment * Consulting services

COVID-19 Updates

Governor Lamont Releases Business Documents for Phase 2 Reopening on June 17th, including CT public libraries:

(HARTFORD, CT) – Governor Ned Lamont today announced that his administration has released documents detailing specific rules that eligible businesses falling under phase 2 of Connecticut’s reopening plans must follow amid the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The second phase takes effect Wednesday, June 17.

The governor stressed that the decision to reopen during this phase rests with each individual business owner – they are not required to open if they do not choose, however if they do they must follow the rules as prescribed. The protocols were developed by Governor Lamont, members of his administration, and the Department of Economic and Community Development, in consultation with legislators and recommendations made by the Reopen Connecticut Advisory Group, which consisted of several of the state’s leading medical experts and representatives of business and industry groups.

Phase 2 includes the following sectors:

  • Amusement parks
  • Hotels
  • Indoor dining
  • Indoor museums, zoos, and aquariums
  • Indoor recreation (e.g. bowling, movie theaters, etc.)
  • Libraries
  • Outdoor events
  • Personal services (e.g. nail salons, tattoo parlors, etc.)
  • Sports and fitness facilities (e.g. gyms, fitness centers, pools, etc.)

Read the Phase 2 Business Documents for June 17 Opening

The sector-specific rules include detailed information and requirements about physical distancing, facility capacity, hygiene, sanitizing, signage, personal protective equipment (PPE), scheduling, training, and more.

Beginning Monday, June 8, businesses and nonprofits planning to reopen during Phase 2 on June 17 will need to visit Connecticut’s self-certification website to certify that they are compliant with the reopening rules for their sector.

 

Starting June 1, the Middletown Library Service Center is open for curbside service by appointment only.  click here to book an appointment

Connecticut Libraries Road Map to Re-Opening and Recovery

Connecticut’s Libraries have been closed to the public since Covid-19 impacted Connecticut and Governor Lamont issued the “Stay Safe, Stay Home” Executive Order. Most libraries have posted, “Closed until further notice.” We all need to think strategically and plan accordingly about how to return to full service in a safe and healthy manner and in compliance with the Governor’s Executive Orders and local government directives. Libraries should be nimble in their planning and developing of  scenarios in the event of a virus outbreak flare up requiring quick response.

Resources for COVID-19 Information:
1. COVID-19 information specific to Connecticut
2. CSL/DLD’s COVID-19 LibGuide 
3. Institute of Museum and Library Services Research Partnership to Inform Safe Handling of Collections, Reopening Practices for Libraries, Museums 

We know that Covid-19 will continue to be a serious public health concern in Connecticut and nationwide.

The following is a recommended phased road-map for reopening Connecticut’s libraries in four stages. These recommendations are preliminary, and are subject to change as the situation develops as the Governor's Office issues updates and guidance. 

The Connecticut State Library, Division of Library Development is there for you.‚Äč

About the Service Center

"Because Sharing Resources Makes Us All Stronger" Libraries TransformWe are a library for librarians and are open to all who work in Connecticut's libraries.

Service Center Consolidation: Middletown and Willimantic Library Service Center collections have been reduced and consolidated at Middletown. The Willimantic Library Service Center has closed.

Looking for large print books?

  • To search for large print books online, visit our catalog. Items will be sent to your library via deliverIT CT. If you have questions about the catalog or your account, please call 860-704-2200.
  • To browse stacks and check books out in person, please visit the Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped.
    Hours: Currently closed to the public
    Location: 198 West Street, Rocky Hill, CT 06067
    Telephone: 860-721-2020; Toll Free: 800-842-4516
  • If you need help selecting titles or have other questions, call MLSC staff at 860-704-2200.

Service Center Staff

Maria Bernier
Statewide Data Coordinator
860-704-2204
Maria.Bernier@ct.gov

Brad Bullis
Digital Content & Innovation Coordinator
860-704-2206
Bradley.Bullis@ct.gov

Grace Burchard
Library Technical Assistant
860-704-2212
Grace.Burchard@ct.gov

Steve Cauffman
retired

Judy Crooks
Circulation / ILL
860-704-2205
Judy.Crooks@ct.gov

Gail Hurley
Professional Development Consultant
860-704-2222
Gail.Hurley@ct.gov

Kymberlee Powe
Children's and YA Consultant
860-704-2207
Kymberlee.Powe@ct.gov

Diane Stielau
Library Aide
860-704-2208
Diane.Stielau@ct.gov

Location

Middletown Library Service Center
786 South Main Street
Middletown, CT 06457
Click here to open the address in Google Maps
Phone: 860-704-2200, or 800-437-2313 (toll free in CT)


Hours

We are a library for librarians and are open to all who work in Connecticut's libraries!

The Middletown Library Service Center is currently open by appointment only to pick up and drop off materials from our collection. 

Book an appointment

  • Closed on State holidays

To browse our Large Print Collection in person visit
the Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
Hours: Currently closed to the public
Location: 198 West Street, Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Telephone: 860-721-2020


Willimantic Library Service Center
Permanently closed as of June 1, 2016

Tell us what you think

What would you like to see at the Middletown Library Service Center?

Tell us what you think
Small, cozy seating areas: 7 votes (6.31%)
Better coffee: 5 votes (4.5%)
A visible, staffed service desk: 16 votes (14.41%)
A library cat!: 69 votes (62.16%)
More computers for us to use: 2 votes (1.8%)
More large meeting room space: 12 votes (10.81%)
Total Votes: 111

Service Center Collections

Make an appointment to visit the Service Center
As of June 1, 2020, the Middletown Library Service Center requires appointments for drop offs or pick ups from our collection. 

Reserve Discussion Sets and Equipment
You can now reserve book sets, book props, STEM kits, and musical instrument kits yourself!

Search Primo

Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, kits, puppets and more! On the search results page, narrow your search to MLSC or large print items at LBPH.

Not sure how to use Primo? Follow the directions below.

Upcoming Workshops from the Connecticut State Library CE Calendar

Loading ...

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.