Skip to main content
Library Catalogs in Connecticut
Shared Connecticut Library Catalogs
- CTW Catalog
- 3 academic libraries: Connecticut College, Trinity College, Wesleyan University
- Library Connection
- 4 academic libraries, the CT State Library, and the Library Service Centers in Willimantic and Middletown
- Conn. State University System: CCSU, ECSU, SCSU, WCSU
- South East Connecticut Libraries
- 4 public libraries: Groton, Waterford, Mystic & Noank, and Bill Memorial in Groton
- UCONN Libraries
Individual Connecticut Library Catalogs:
Alphabetical by library name:
Other Library Catalogs:
Ccar: Routing Slips
These are blank deliverIT CT routing slips in Word and PDF formats. You can use the Word version to edit the slip, for example by adding your library name and route number, before printing the slip.
For printing on letter size paper:
For printing on legal size paper:
Borrowing Requests Log - Template
If you need a mechanism to keep track of what patron borrowed what item (so you know who to contact when the item arrives), you can use the Excel template below. You can download and save the Excel file to your local drive.
Bookstraps - Template
Here is a blank bookstrap in Word format. You can edit the bookstrap as you wish so that it suits your needs.
- If you use the bookstraps as a lending library, you can fill out the "Lending library name" and "Ccar route" portions of the strap and then save the file on your computer.
- If you use the bookstap as a borrowing library, you can fill out the return 'To..." Library name, town, and phone portions of the strap and then save it on your computer.
Please note: I omitted fields for patron name and contact info. You can add them if you wish, but two caveats relating to patron confidentiality:
- If the patron's name and contact information is on the bookstrap, you should shred the strap when you remove it.
- Patrons may not want to display their name and contact information on the cover of the book when it's in their possession, so they may be inclined to remove the bookstrap.
ILL Statistics - Template
If you will be tallying your filled and unfilled statistics and you need a tally sheet, you can use the templates below. You can save any of the templates on your local computer and modify them as you wish.
Interlibrary Loan Statistics
Public Libraries - use the Annual Report to submit their ILL stats.
ILL Monthly Worksheets (provided below) - to help libraries keep track of ILL stats:
Other ILL Forms
The following 2 links will open blank ALA ILL Forms. The Word version is suitable to complete and attached to an e-mail message.
Modified ILL Form: E-mail Template - The documents below are in text format and are suitable for copy/pasting into an e-mail message.
Modified ILL Form: E-mail Template - The 2 links below should pre-populate the "Subject" and body of an e-mail message (does not work with all e-mail programs):
Interlibrary Loan Code
The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) of the American Library Association (ALA) provides the Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States (linked below). The code was revised by the Codes, Guidelines, and Technical Standards Committee; and Sharing and Transforming Access to Resources Section (STARS) in 2008 and 2015. It was approved by RUSA Board January 11, 2016.
The Explanatory Supplement to the code (also linked below) points out that the code "does not override individual or consortial agreements or regional or state codes which may be more liberal or more prescriptive. This national code is intended to provide guidelines for exchanges between libraries where no other agreement applies." Offline requests will fall under this code.
ILL - Items from the Service Centers
Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan on a Shoestring by Written specifically for libraries facing budgetary constraints, limited resources and inadequate training, this invaluable guide outlines the time-management skills and technical ingenuity that will help transform Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and document delivery service into an efficient and organized operation. Author Emily Knox considers the unique challenges of ILL for the librarian juggling multiple roles, and provides a comprehensive overview of best practices, policies and service guidelines that can be easily and practically applied no matter how busy you are. Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan on a Shoestring provides a jargon-free breakdown of the laws, codes and regulations that govern ILL and document delivery policy decisions. There is guidance to help you develop compliant and cost effective policies, streamline borrowing and lending procedures, and optimize workflow. While there is a thorough overview of the field's newest time-saving technologies, Knox also explains the many ways in which smaller institutions can go paperless for less, with practical tips for using widely available office technology and free open source products to receive and track ILL and document delivery transactions. The book also includes helpful illustrations and appendices with templates for easily reproducible forms, as well as examples of best practices and real life policies used in both public and academic libraries.
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Interlibrary Loan Practices Handbook, 3rd Edition by In their definitive new Interlibrary Loan Practices Handbook, editors Weible and Janke clearly explain the complexities of getting materials for patrons from outside the library. This collection presents a complete view of the interlibrary loan (ILL) process, with contributions from all areas of the technical services community, providing Guidance on how to do ILL efficiently and effectively, with advice on how to be a considerate borrower and lender Details of preferred staffing and management techniques, showing how best practices can be implemented at any institution Discussion of important issues that can fall between the cracks, such as hidden copyright issues, and the logistics of lending internationally Consortia and other library partnerships are now sharing ever larger fractions of their collections, and this book gives library staff the tools necessary for a smoothly functioning ILL system.
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Library Information and Resource Sharing by Through the perspectives of interlibrary loan (ILL) specialists, this book examines what ILL departments are doing, the value of ILL librarians in the evolving library environment, and how library collections and services are being affected by new ILL policies. * Taps a knowledge base of more than a dozen ILL practitioners who offer diverse viewpoints on all that ILL specialists can do to help connect people and information * Enables library administrators, whose support ILL needs to succeed, to grasp how ILL is essential to fulfilling the information-sharing mission of all librarians * Emphasizes how the ever-increasing interconnections between ILL and other areas of library activity behoove non-ILL librarians to be more aware of emerging ILL developments
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Resource Sharing Today by Budget constraints challenge collection development in unprecedented ways. Collection development has increasingly become a cooperative effort among libraries in geographic proximity. When their own library doesn't have certain books or journals, users turn to interlibrary loan to obtain the resources they need. However, many library science degree programs don't cover interlibrary loan. Resource Sharing Today is a practical guide to resource sharing starting with the library across town and ending with libraries on the other side of the globe. Chapters cover everything from the ALA's interlibrary loan form to successful innovations such as Virginia Tech's ILLiad to New York's IDS (Information Delivery Service). Appendices include regional, state, national, and international ILL codes, ALA and IFLA forms, open access agreements, and purchase on demand plans.
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
Page Provided by DLD
This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478