Finances are a vital factor in the successful operation of any public library. A public library is a public responsibility and is appropriately supported by local tax funds. Many public libraries in Connecticut are wholly supported by the municipality, some partially so. Many public libraries augment funds provided by the town with those derived from endowments, state and federal grants, gifts, bequests and special fund-raising activities. Whatever the type of funding, it is the responsibility of local government and the library board to see to it that the library receives financial support adequate to the townspeople's needs.
Financial Management for Libraries by
Presenting financial management principles and best practices applicable to both public and academic libraries, this comprehensive text elucidates a broad array of issues crucial for those entering a managerial position. Both thorough and straightforward, Sannwald's treatment gives readers a solid grounding in the basics of accounting and finance, with an emphasis on applicability to library management and operations; ties budgets and strategic planning to library vision, mission, goals, and objectives; discusses the roles of stakeholders such as boards, governmental/municipal bodies, the university, and the community; looks at a variety of funding sources, from tax revenue to gifts and donations, and presents sound strategies for including them when projecting income and expenses; articulates and discusses the pros and cons of various budget strategies; includes sample budgets and forms that can be customized as needed; offers expert guidance on modifying budgets for windfalls and shortfalls; explains operating ratios, fiscal benchmarking, and metrics, demonstrating how to use these to effectively create and manage a budget and assess the fiscal health of the library; and advises on how to effectively prepare and present a budget and annual financial statements to a library's governing agency.
Financial Management of Libraries and Information Centers by
Covering everything from auditing and budgeting to contracts, revenue and expenditures, forecasting, and ethics in financial management, this book addresses the full spectrum of topics and skills needed by today's library managers. Many library managers learn financial management on the job, within the framework of a specific organization. The "sink or swim" method of skill acquisition can be effective, but it is inefficient, stressful, and typically leaves one lacking in foundational concepts and principles. This book provides a logical, organized way for library school students, librarians, and others such as library board members to gain the specific knowledge critical to the financial management of libraries and information centers. This book covers the full spectrum of topics and skills needed by today's managers--from the basics of budgeting, accounting, and financial statements to audits, forecasting, risk management, and revenue sources. There are even chapters on ethical considerations and advocacy. The skills readers will learn from this guide are of critical importance in this era of financial constraints and accountability at every level of the organization. Students in management and financial management courses and practicing library managers seeking to improve their financial management skills will find this book an essential tool for success.
Researching Prospective Donors by
Individuals, not government sources or foundations, are the largest source of giving in the United States. Right now your community has individuals ready to become enthusiastic donors to your library. But how do you find the most likely prospective donors? Hammerman, a successful prospect researcher, gives libray directors, fundraisers, and board members all the tools they need to researach individuals and their wealth. This straight-talking guidebook * Describes how to identify and research prospects using existing or easy-to-find resources, including publicly available information on individuals' wealth and assets * Spells out what information about a prospect is most important, such as previous charitable donations, hobbies, interests, and memberships in clubs or other organizations * Provides worksheets to document findings so the research can be used effectively for fundraising * Shows how to establish a confidentiality policy and securely store information on prospects * Includes an annotated bibliography of fundraising resources This book will enable your library to identify the best donors and potential donors in your community.
Cost Control for Nonprofits in Crisis by
Libraries, like many other cultural institutions such as museums, art councils, and theater groups, are looking for answers to the pressing problem of financial stability, and ultimately survival. Cost Control for Nonprofits in Crisis helps managers and directors tackle the harsh realities before them.
The Frugal Librarian by
Fewer employees, shorter hours, diminished collection budgets, reduced programs and services-all at a time of record library usage. Dont fret and fritter away scarce resources. Be frugal In this book, library expert Smallwood persuasively demonstrates that the necessity of doing business differently can be positive. Presenting creative and resourceful solutions to universal concerns from dozens of librarians, representing a wide variety of institutions, this collection helps overtaxed library professionals Find supplementary funding sources, including grants Save money by sharing resources, using tiered staffing for technical services, and implementing green IT Tap into grassroots movements to save neighborhood libraries Preserve and enhance important library functions like programming, outreach, and staff development, despite a tight budget Partnering, sharing, innovating-these are the watchwords for contemporary librarians in tough economic times, and this book offers plenty of ideas that can be implemented immediately.
Small Change, Big Problems by
Fraud requires three conditions: financial need, rationalization, and opportunity. Lax or nonexistent financial management, along with an "it can't happen here" attitude, create the quintessential fraud opportunity waiting to happen in many libraries. This hands-on guide discusses the unique vulnerabilities of libraries, especially as their assets grow. From daily book fines to budgets in six or seven figures, libraries offer ample opportunities for the attentive thief, often someone in a position of trust.
Managing Budgets and Finances by
Today's tight financial times make budgeting and sound money management more important than ever. The first six chapters of this essential how-to use a step-by-step approach to thoroughly explain and illustrate the nuts and bolts, including types of budgets and how to create and revise them; ways of tracking spending and fund allocation; and timelines for financial planning, such as capital spending. Later chapters cover special spending challenges, such as new buildings, maintenance, proposals and bids, outsourcing, and more. Careful attention is given how libraries make and save money--now more important than ever--with coverage of library income, protecting property, alternative library funding, fundraising, grants, and bonds and referenda. The authors describe selected software libraries can use to set and track budgets and point readers to helpful Web sites for further information. Appendices include a sample accounting manual, annual reports form, request for proposal, lease agreement, and security guidelines. This impressive, new manual contains proven strategies, detailed examples, worksheets, handouts, forms, and tips that will help any librarian become a better financial manager.
This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.