It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress (LOC): "Annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America" "Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1930s to the present, including books, articles, maps, e-resources, and more."
LOC: "This database contains bibliographic records found in the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) from the 1970s to the present. HLAS includes annotated citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources."
Latinx & Hispanic Americans and the Military
Latinx & Hispanic Americans and the Military
The focus of this resource is on specific groups serving in the military, but may also include their relationship to the military (for example, efforts to be allowed to serve, etc.).
VHP: "Asked to serve their country in time of war, Hispanic Americans displayed loyalty, bravery, and persistence in the face of adversity. Some, especially those of the World War II generation, were familiar with discrimination back home but saw their service as affirming the ideals of democracy. From Charles Rodriguez, who fought with Merrill’s Marauders in WWII Burma, to Jose Mares, a teenager who survived incredible hardship as a POW during the Korean War, here are nine inspirational stories from the archives of the Library of Congress Veterans History Project."
Call Number: Online and Stacks D769.88.M4 S62 Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 
Online access through our catalog.
Spanish and English.
Published anonymously. Written by Charles Olson and Ben Shahn (first book by Olson, who would later become a noted poet).
"[Ben] Shahn and [Charles] Olson collaborated in producing a bilingual pamphlet, Spanish Speaking Americans in the War. This was one of several OWI pamphlets meant to counter Axis propaganda encouraging minorities to question their stake in an American victory"--Daniel Belgrad, The Culture of Spontaneity: Improvisation and the Arts in Postwar America, 1998.
"Photos courtesy of Life Magazine; Denver News; U.S. Army; Office of War Information Bureau of Industrial Economics; Department of Agriculture.".
National Park Service (NPS): "On April 21, 1898, the United States declared war against Spain. It would be the first overseas conflict fought by the U.S. It involved major campaigns in both Cuba and the Philippine Islands."
"The reasons for war were many, but there were two immediate ones: America's support the ongoing struggle by Cubans and Filipinos against Spanish rule, and the mysterious explosion of the battleship U.S.S. Maine in Havana Harbor."
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum collaborated to make one landing page. Links to resources.
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "This research guide, curated by the Library of Congress Hispanic Division, focuses on 20th-century court cases, legislation, and events that had important impacts on Latino and Latin American people in the U.S. though timelines and research materials."
Site: "This research guide provides access to historic photographic and film documentation, as well as related print and electronic resources, illustrating the 20th century efforts to transform Puerto Rico from a plantation to an industrial economy."
The digital collection Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age: Nineteenth- and Early-Twentieth-Century Perspectives is one component of a collaborative project undertaken by the Library of Congress Hispanic Division and the National Digital Library Program to recognize the centennial of the Spanish-American War (1898). The first product of this collaboration, The World of 1898: The Spanish-American War, came online in 1998. Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age now joins it, while also expanding the Library of Congress's continuing commitment to highlight the histories of distinctive American regions through the online presentation of materials selected from a number of divisions.
Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age encompasses historically important writings by prominent Puerto Rican political activists and historians dating from approximately seventy years before the Spanish-American war (1831) until some thirty years after it (1929). Texts from the postwar period include the only English-language works in the collection. Among these are soldiers' reminiscences about the conflict and short histories designed to acquaint an American audience with Puerto Rico in the earliest years of its affiliation with the United States.
The collection comprises 11 monographs scanned from printed copies and 39 political pamphlets and 2 monographs and a journal scanned from microfilm. The pamphlets are part of the Puerto Rican Memorial Collection, 1846-1907, a collection of 447 pamphlets microfilmed in 1994 that covers agriculture and botany, economics, education, government, politics, history, literature, legal materials, and public health. Reels 13 (addresses, essays, laws, and political parties) and 14 (politics and government) are featured in Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age. All pamphlets are in Spanish. Four of the books are in English and the rest in Spanish. The materials in the collection were selected by Edmundo Flores, a curator in the Hispanic Division.
Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age does not present a socially comprehensive view of Puerto Rican history during the period it covers. The books and pamphlets in this collection were written by educated men of European descent whose perspectives inevitably differed from the viewpoints of those less privileged in Puerto Rican society at the time. Individuals of African descent, and to a lesser extent women, seldom had access to the education or technology that would have enabled them to leave published records of their thoughts, deeds, and daily life."
Use side navigation to access page on digital collections.
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "This guide provides curated Library of Congress resources for researching Mexico, including digitized primary source materials in a wide variety of formats, books and periodicals, online databases, and tips for searching."
Site: "The Library of Congress holds thousands of collection materials about and from Mexico. Curated by the Hispanic Division, this guide is part of a series of Country Guides that provide quick references for countries and regions from the Luso-Hispanic world. The Hispanic Division is the Library’s portal to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. This guide offers links to diverse resources on Mexico from across the Library including digitized primary sources, selected books and periodicals, online databases, and tips for searching. For specific questions or assistance using the Library’s resources, use the Ask a Librarian service to contact a reference librarian."
Library of Congress guide of their materials "This guide provides access to the PALABRA Archive, a collection of audio recordings of poets and writers from Latin America, the Iberian Peninsula, the Caribbean, and from other regions with Luso-Hispanic heritage reading from their works."
site: "The PALABRA Archive is a collection of original audio recordings of 20th and 21st century Luso-Hispanic poets and writers reading from their works. With recorded authors from all over Latin America, the Iberian Peninsula, the Caribbean, and other regions with Hispanic and Portuguese heritage populations, this archive has to date close to 800 recordings, a portion of which are available for online streaming." "Historically known as the Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape (AHLOT), PALABRA has been curated by the Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room since 1943. It includes sessions with figures such as Nobel Laureates Gabriel García Márquez, Pablo Neruda, Gabriela Mistral, Miguel Ángel Asturias, Juan Ramón Jiménez, and with other noteworthy figures like Jorge Luis Borges, Isabel Allende, and Julio Cortázar."
Library of Congress (LOC) blog post "On November 24, 1602, the eve of St. Catherine’s Day, Spanish explorer Sebastián Vizcaíno sighted three islands. He renamed Pimu, the largest island, Santa Catalina....Archaeological evidence shows that the island was inhabited by maritime hunter-gatherers at least 7,000 years ago. Members of the Takic branch of the Uto-Aztecan language family, the residents developed a strong seagoing trade with the peoples of both nearby islands (Santa Barbara, San Nicolas, and probably San Clemente) and the mainland."
Library of Congress (LOC) links to resources. "We provide portions of the text of Trist's negotiated and handwritten treaty. Note the differences between the final version approved by the Senate in articles IX, and X (which was deleted in its entirety). Also, Trist's draft contains a 'secret chapter' in case the US Senate did not approve the treaty."