LibGuides Home: History Day: Economics &amp; Labor

Economics & Labor

These are grouped together for convenience.

See also page on Industry. War bonds, etc. might be listed under the Military pages.

The Connecticut State Library has many resources on State Union contracts.

Books, Documents, etc.

Connecticut

Connecticut Economic Digest by Connecticut Department of Labor, Office of Research and the Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc L113 coec
Online access through our library catalog.
Site: "The Connecticut Economic Digest's purpose is to regularly provide users with a comprehensive source for the most current, up-to-date data available on the workforce and economy of the state, within perspectives of the region and nation."
Connecticut Occupational Employment & Wages. Statewide
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc L113ri cooc
Online access through Primo, our library catalog and also at agency web site https://www1.ctdol.state.ct.us/lmi/wages/oesmain.asp

Connecticut Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
Earlier statistics in print: Conn Doc L113ri cooc
Search wage information by Statewide Wages; Statewide Industry; Labor Market Areas; Workforce Development Areas; and Historical Datafiles
more...less...
CT Dept. of Labor site: "Connecticut Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics provides accurate and meaningful wage information to employers, job seekers, counselors, students, planners of vocational education programs, economic developers, Regional Workforce Development Boards, and others. Employers may find the data useful as a guide in analyzing pay scales; job seekers and students could utilize the information in making employment and career decisions; program planners should be aware of employment and wage levels in determining training programs to be offered.
The Connecticut Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics data provides employment and wage data by occupation and is based on the results of the Occupational Employment Statistics (OEWS) survey. The OEWS program conducts a bi-annual mail survey designed to produce estimates of employment and wages for over 800 occupations. These estimates are generated at the national, state, and metropolitan area levels."

A History of Banking in Connecticut
Call Number: Online and ConnDoc T271h p no.42
Publication Date: 1935

National

Economic Indicators GPO description: "Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics. Economic Indicators back to 1948 are made available through FRASER , the Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research. FRASER is provided through a partnership between GPO and the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER is not an official version of Economic Indicators and GPO can not guarantee the authenticity or completeness of the data. "
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents Y 4.EC 7:EC 7/
Publication Date: 1948 -

Economic Report of the President (GPO)
Scroll to bottom of page for links to older reports.
Also in print at CT State Library.
more...less...
Government Publishing Office (GPO): "The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers.
It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations"
Occupational Employment Statistics (OES)
U.S. Department of Labor site: "The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates annually for over 800 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual states, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available."
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
Fed Docs L 2.3/4: and Online
Site: "The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations."
https://www.bls.gov/ooh
more...less...
Some volumes available through our paid subscriptions to HeinOnline and ProQuest.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Site: "The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are accurate, objective, relevant, timely, and accessible."

Are They Really Ready to Work? : Employers' Perspectives on the Basic Knowledge and Applied Skills of New Entrants to the 21st Century U.S. Workforce
Call Number: Stacks LC1037.5 .C395 2006
ISBN: 9780823708888
Publication Date: 2006

Older

Minority Group Integration by Labor and Management
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc In84 mi Item does not circulate.
Publication Date: 1953
Online access through our catalog.
Full title: Minority Group Integration By Labor And Management; A Study Of The Employment Practices Of The Larger Employers, And The Membership Practices Of The Larger Labor Unions With Respect To Race, Religion, And National Origin, Connecticut, 1951.
Union Scale of Wages and Hours of Labor, May 15, 1921 : Bulletin of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics, No. 302 Part of a Series: 1907/12-1931,1933: Bulletin of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics ;; no. 131, 143, 171, 194, 214, 254, 259, 274, 286, 302, 325, 354, 388. 404. 431, 457, 476, 482, 515. 540, 566, 600; 1907/12-1931,1933: Wages and hours of labor series; Variation: Bulletin of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics ;; no. 131 etc.; Wages and hours of labor series.
Call Number: Online and L 2.3: 302
Publication Date: 1922

Databases

These are a few suggestions - try newspapers too. Please see also:

A-Z Databases
Lists databases (subscription and free) available through the Connecticut State Library (CSL). Some subscription databases have remote access which require a card from CSL.
more...less...
See the box of icons which explain access.

Perhaps try:

Labor and Employment: The American Worker
This HeinOnline database contains thousands of titles on the American workplace, from the labor rights movement in the 19th century to the struggles of today. Users will find content related to the establishment of a minimum wage and the 40-hour workweek, hazards faced by workers, the safeguards in place to protect them, and efforts to make the workplace equitable for all.
Women and the Law (Peggy)
A HeinOnline collection that brings together books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School's Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.
JSTOR
Extensive backfile volumes of more than 2,500 full text, core scholarly journals in History, Political Science and other disciplines. The backfiles begin with the very first issues, many of which reach back to the 1800s.
The Connecticut State Library participates in JSTOR Public Library Collections I and II which include:
- Arts & Sciences I Collection
- Arts & Sciences II Collection
- Arts & Sciences III Collection
- Arts & Sciences IV Collection
- Arts & Sciences IX Collection
- Arts & Sciences V Collection
- Arts & Sciences VI Collection
- Arts & Sciences VII Collection
- Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
- Arts & Sciences X Collection
- Arts & Sciences XI Collection
- Arts & Sciences XII Collection
- Business III Collection
- Ecology & Botany II Collection
- Life Sciences Collection
History of Bankruptcy: Taxation & Economic Reform in America Part III (HeinOnline)
Includes legislative histories, treatises, documents and more related to bankruptcy law in America. It also includes classic books dating back to the late 1800s and links to scholarly articles that are related to the study of bankruptcy in America.

Other Institutions

A Feeling of Solidarity: Labor Unions and Suffragists Team Up
From Connecticut History.org, March 7, 2015
Industrial Revolution in the United States (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) primary source set.
Battle of Blair Mountain: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC) Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "In 1921, West Virginia coal miners revolted at Blair Mountain and forced President Harding to intervene. This guide provides access to material related to the “Battle of Blair Mountain” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
American Enterprise, Industrialization and Development - Topics in Chronicling America
Library of Congress (LOC) list of topics for research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Site: "Chronicling America provides free access to millions of historic American newspaper pages. Listed here are topics widely covered in the American press of the time. We will be adding more topics on a regular basis"
Treasury Reporting Rates of Exchange (GPO)
Government Publishing Office (GPO) digital collection: "Lists the exchange rates of foreign currencies based on the dollar. The exchange rate goes from the year 1956-2005"
By the Honorable Jonathan Trumbull, Esq; Governor of the English Colony of Connecticut, in New-England, in America. A proclamation ... strictly prohibit and forbid the transporting, or shipping on board any vessel for transportation out of this... (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC)
Governor Jonathan Trumbull proclamation prohibiting "Exportation of Wheat, Rye, or Indian Corn"
By the Honorable Jonathan Trumbull, Esq; Governor of the English Colony of Connecticut, in New-England, in America: A proclamation. Whereas it is resolved ... that an embargo be laid upon the exportation out of this Colony by water, the following...(LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC)
Governor Jonathan Trumbull proclamation prohibiting exportation of of specific goods.
Prices and Wages by Decade
University of Missouri Libraries guide: Links to government documents and primary sources listing retail prices for products and services, as well as wages for common occupations.

Great Depression

The Great Depression

These are only a few of the numerous resources at the Connecticut State Library. The examples are based on past research topics.

Photographs Related to the Great Depression and the New Deal (NARA)
National Archives (NARA)

Connecticut

Measures to Alleviate Unemployment in Connecticut : A Report To Wilber [sic] L. Cross, Governor of the State of Connecticut by Connecticut. Commission to Investigate the Unemployment Situation.
Call Number: Conn Doc Un25 me Item does not circulate.
Publication Date: [1932]
Schedule Of Various Federal Funds Given To Towns During The CWA & ERA Programs
Call Number: Online and Cage Conn Doc Em73 sch
Publication Date: [193-]
Online access through our catalog.
The New Deal in Norwalk, CT : A Case Study of a Small City in America During the Great Depression by Dwyer, Courtney
Call Number: Stacks F104.N9 D89 2003b Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 2003
Thesis (M.S.)--Southern Connecticut State University, 2003
The Pros and Cons of Unemployment Reserves for Connecticut Employers by Hook, James W. (James William), 1884-1957. ; Connecticut Chamber of Commerce. Annual Meeting. ; Connecticut Unemployment Commission.
Call Number: Conn Doc Un25 prco Item does not circulate.
Publication Date: 1932
Catalog: "An address delivered on May 24, 1932 at the Annual Meeting of the Connecticut Chamber of Commerce ... Hartford, Connecticut."
Public Relief in Connecticut : Report Based on a Study of the Public Welfare Departments in Thirty-Six Towns and Cities by Reeves, Edward H. ; Connecticut Unemployment Commission.
Call Number: Conn Doc Un25 repu Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 1933
A Sample Plan For Relief Of The Unemployed, Which Outlines Briefly What The Employers In Connecticut Could Do Voluntarily To Assist Their Stable Workers In Times Of Unemployment. by Connecticut Unemployment Commission
Call Number: Conn Doc Un25 sa Item does not circulate.
Publication Date: 1932
Connecticut veterans' survey : an analysis of the registration and placement of veterans and study of the unemployment problem affecting Connecticut war veterans by Maloney, Leonard J. ; Connecticut. Emergency Relief Commission. ; Connecticut State Employment Service. ; National Reemployment Service (U.S.). Connecticut.
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc Un25c Item does not circulate
Publication Date: [1934 or 1935]
Catalog: "The creation by the Connecticut Emergency Relief Administration of made work projects ... made possible a study and analysis of the registration cards of 11,348 Connecticut war veterans"--P. 2.
A report on an analysis of card records made in several state employment offices and national reemployment offices in Connecticut.--cf. p. 2.
Includes index.
Report of the Connecticut State Emergency Committee on Employment to His Excellency, Wilbur L. Cross, governor of Connecticut by Connecticut State Emergency Committee on Employment. ; Hook, James W. (James William), 1884-1957. ; Connecticut. Governor (1931-1939 : Cross).
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc Em73 Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1931
Report of the Commission on Employment of Men Over 45 Years of Age
Call Number: Online and Cage Conn Doc Em738 rep
Publication Date: [1939]
Online access through our catalog.
Reprinted from: Journal of the House of Representatives of the State of Connecticut, Wednesday, May 17, 1939
Relief For Individuals Other Than Farmers by Connecticut. Coordination Office.
Call Number: Conn Doc Co70 c no.2 Item does not circulate
Publication Date: [1938]
Available online through our library catalog
Relief Problems Of Transiency : A Survey Of Methods Of Providing Relief For Transient And Local Homeless Men In Connecticut, January - June, 1936
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc Em73 re
Publication Date: 1936
Online access through our catalog.
Relief Without Politics
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc Em73 Lire
Publication Date: [1937?]
Online access through our catalog.

Articles

The Great Depression: Aid & Comfort, Connecticut Style
By Carl J. Schneider and Dorothy Schneider, Connecticut Explored, Spring 2010
Facing Hard Times issue of CT Explored
Connecticut Explored Spring 2010, Volume 8 / Number 2

National, Federal, etc.

America Fights the Depression; A Photographic Record of the Civil Works Administration by Alsberg, Henry G. (Henry Garfield), 1881-1970. ; United States. Federal Emergency Relief Administration
Call Number: Stacks HD3885 .A6 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 1934
Back to Work; The Story of PWA. by Ickes, Harold L.
Call Number: Stacks HD3885 .I3 1935 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 1935

Potato Act of 1935 (LII)
Legal Information Institute (LII) page on Potato Act of 1935, with summary information as well as text of the federal public law.
Teachable Moments: The Great Depression (FDR Library)
Site: "The Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum’s Education Department is proud to present this fourteen
part curriculum guide titled, Teachable Moments: The Great Depression. This guide has been developed
for teachers as a multi-purpose teaching tool. It contains material appropriate for students in all grade levels
from 4th-12th grade, and beyond."
Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929 (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) digital collection.
LOC is slowly migrating content out of American Memory and into their main platform. If link breaks, please let us know and also check the main LOC.gov site.
more...less...
Site: "Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929 assembles a wide array of Library of Congress source materials from the 1920s that document the widespread prosperity of the Coolidge years, the nation's transition to a mass consumer economy, and the role of government in this transition. The collection includes nearly 150 selections from twelve collections of personal papers and two collections of institutional papers from the Manuscript Division; 74 books, pamphlets, and legislative documents from the General Collections, along with selections from 34 consumer and trade journals; 185 photographs from the Prints and Photographs Division and the Manuscript Division; and 5 short films and 7 audio selections of Coolidge speeches from the Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Division. The collection is particularly strong in advertising and mass-marketing materials and will be of special interest to those seeking to understand economic and political forces at work in the 1920s."

Labor

Connecticut

A Feeling of Solidarity: Labor Unions and Suffragists Team Up
From Connecticut History.org, March 7, 2015
Labor History In Connecticut
Connecticut Explored education resource with links to related articles.
“Something to Show for Our Work”: Building Brainard Airport
ConnecticutHistory.org June 3, 2020 By Steve Thornton

Other Institutions

Chicago Teamsters’ Strike of 1905: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "In 1905, Chicago Teamsters and other unions come together and strike resulting in riots. This guide provides access to materials related to the "1905 Chicago Teamsters' Strike" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Battle of Blair Mountain: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC) Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "In 1921, West Virginia coal miners revolted at Blair Mountain and forced President Harding to intervene. This guide provides access to material related to the “Battle of Blair Mountain” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Clarence Darrow: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "As a labor attorney, Clarence Darrow represented clients in some of the largest cases of the early 20th century. This guide provides access to material related to "Clarence Darrow" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Eight Hour Day (1916): Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "In 1916, demand for 8-hour work days led to involvement of Pres. Woodrow Wilson, Congress, and the U.S. Supreme Court. This guide provides access to material related to the "8-Hour Day" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Homestead Strike: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "In 1892, a violent strike led to the government interceding on behalf of a corporation against a union. This guide provides access to materials related to the “1892 Homestead Strike” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Labor Day: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "Labor Day was created by the labor movement and is dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. This guide provides access to materials related to “Labor Day” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
American Federation of Labor Records (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC): "The records of the American Federation of Labor (AFL) span the years 1883-1925 and consist of letterpress volumes of correspondence of Samuel Gompers (1850-1924) and William Green (1870-1952), presidents of the organization, and by other officials including James Duncan, Gabriel Edmonston, Frank Keyes Foster, and John McBride. Comprising approximately 172,300 items (328,445 images) digitized from previously produced microfilm, the collection relates to the formation of local unions, meetings, charters, bylaws, ethics, publicity, arbitration, AFL's political principles, communism, socialism, anthracite coal strikes of 1897 and 1902, fund-raising, boycotts, and the United Mine Workers, American Railway Union, International Association of Machinists, International Brotherhood of Teamsters, and American Federationist, the AFL's magazine."
Link to finding aid may be of help.
National Child Labor Committee Collection (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) digital collection: "Working as an investigative photographer for the National Child Labor Committee (NCLC), Lewis Hine (1874-1940) documented working and living conditions of children in the United States between 1908 and 1924. The NCLC photos are useful for the study of labor, reform movements, children, working class families, education, public health, urban and rural housing conditions, industrial and agricultural sites, and other aspects of urban and rural life in America in the early twentieth century."
"The collection consists of more than 5,100 photographic prints and 355 glass negatives, given to the Library of Congress, along with the NCLC records, in 1954 by Mrs. Gertrude Folks Zimand, acting for the NCLC in her capacity as chief executive."
To The Arm and Hammer, A Song For May Day (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC)
Poem by Joseph C. Borden, Jr. Copyright 1898
The Labor Question; by Hon. B. G. Northrop From Christian Union Sept. 18, 1872 (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC)
National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)
"The National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) is an independent Federal agency vested with the power to safeguard employees’ rights to organize and to determine whether to have unions as their bargaining representative. The agency also acts to prevent and remedy unfair labor practices committed by private-sector employers and unions."
Worker Organizing Resource and Knowledge Center (DOL)
U.S. Department of Labor (DOL): "The Worker Organizing Resource and Knowledge (WORK) Center is a one-stop shop for information and resources on unions and collective bargaining for workers, employers, unions, government agencies, students and anyone interested in unions and collective bargaining."

Labor, Industry

Women and Labor, Industry

See also military pages in this guide, and other specific topics.

Books, Documents, etc.

The Woman Worker
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents L 13.8:
Publication Date: 1938-1942
Fraser site: ": A bimonthly magazine published by the Women's Bureau. The magazine includes articles about women in various industries, information about the Bureau's activities and programs, and discussion of state and federal labor legislation." "ALTERNATE TITLES: The Women Worker: The Women's Bureau News Letter ; Women's Bureau News Letter'
Online access to HathiTrust version available through our library catalog.
The Negro Woman Worker
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 1938
Online access through our library catalog
The Industrial Nurse And The Woman Worker (Bulletin 228 (revision of Special bull. no. 19)
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents L 13.3:224-234
Publication Date: 1949
Online access through our library catalog.
1944 edition at Federal Documents L 13.10:19
Minority Women Workers : A Statistical Overview
Call Number: Online and Federal Documents L 36.102:M 66/2
Publication Date: 1977
Online access through our library catalog
Negro Women War Workers (Bulletin 205)
Call Number: online and L 13.3:196-208 (#205)
Publication Date: [1945]
Online Access through our library catalog.

Other Institutions

Women in Science and Technology (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC)" "...primary source set...brings together items from the Library’s collections that highlight some of the work that American women have done in scientific fields."
more...less...
Site blog: "The set includes historical background information and teaching ideas that support students as they analyze these unique primary sources. The set also gives teachers an opportunity to begin a discussion of the ways in which women have been represented in the historical record and to consider possible causes of those gaps." "The resources in this primary source set are intended for classroom use. If your use will be beyond a single classroom, please review the copyright and fair use guidelines."

Labor Law

Federal

Worker.gov
Federal Department of Labor site: "This site covers common workplace concerns and the Federal labor laws that protect you."
more...less...
Site: "Worker.gov was created by the U.S. Department of Labor to provide information about worker’s rights and common workplace concerns. This site is not intended to be comprehensive. This compliance assistance tool covers various topics and labor laws enforced by several Federal agencies:" ... U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) ; U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) ; National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)
Worker.gov’s companion site, Employer.gov, provides information about the responsibilities of job creators toward their workers and answers to common questions. Also included in this suite of compliance assistance resources are the elaws (Employment Laws Assistance for Workers and Small Businesses) Advisors, a set of interactive, online tools that help employers and employees learn more about their rights and responsibilities under numerous Federal employment laws.
Employer.gov
Federal Department of Labor site: "This site provides answers to common questions about workers and business"
more...less...
Site: "Employer.gov was created by the U.S. Department of Labor to provide information about the responsibilities of job creators toward their workers and answer common questions. This site is not intended to be comprehensive. This compliance assistance tool covers various topics and labor laws enforced by Federal agencies"
"Employer.gov’s companion site, Worker.gov, provides information about workers’ rights and common workplace concerns. Also included in this suite of compliance assistance resources are the elaws (Employment Laws Assistance for Workers and Small Businesses) Advisors, a set of interactive, online tools that help employers and employees learn more about their rights and responsibilities under numerous Federal employment laws."
elaws (Employment Laws Assistance for Workers and Small Businesses)
Site: "A set of interactive, online tools to help employers and employees learn more about their rights and responsibilities under numerous Federal employment laws."
more...less...
Site: "Each elaws Advisor mimics the interaction someone would have with an employment law expert by asking specific questions and providing tailored information based on individual situations and circumstances. Depending on the topic, questions might pertain to industry, staff size and how long a particular employee has worked for his or her employer. All questions offer pre-set answers to choose from, and no information provided is recorded or stored in any system."
U.S. Department of Labor (DOL)
Site: "The Labor Department’s (DOL) mission is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights."
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
"The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing Federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person’s race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability, or genetic information."
U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ)
"The U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) enforces Federal laws prohibiting employment practices that discriminate on the grounds of race, sex, disability, religion, national origin, and citizenship status."
National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)
"The National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) is an independent Federal agency vested with the power to safeguard employees’ rights to organize and to determine whether to have unions as their bargaining representative. The agency also acts to prevent and remedy unfair labor practices committed by private-sector employers and unions."

Terminology & Usage Disclaimer

Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.

Terminology Policy
Please note that this policy is subject to change and expansion as we learn more about the needs and preferences of our diverse audiences.

History Day

Economics & Labor

Economics & Labor

Archives

Archives

Books, Documents, etc.

Books, Documents, etc.

Connecticut

National

Older

Databases

Perhaps try:

Other Institutions

Other Institutions

Great Depression

The Great Depression

Connecticut

Archives

Articles

National, Federal, etc.

Labor

Labor

Connecticut

Other Institutions

Labor, Industry

Women and Labor, Industry

Books, Documents, etc.

Other Institutions

Labor Law

Federal

Terminology & Usage Disclaimer