LibGuides Home: Governors of Connecticut 1639-: Governors of CT

Governors of Connecticut - Resources and Publications
Museum page with links to resources and publications on the Connecticut State Library website.
Historical Roster of Governors of Connecticut
From the Register and Manual, on the Secretary of the State's site. Includes: Name; Town and Party; Term of Service; Years of Service
Historical Roster of Lieutenant Governors of Connecticut
From the Register and Manual, on the Secretary of the State's site. Includes: Name; Town and Party; Term of Service; Years of Service
Biographical Information
This page contains links to biographical databases, sketches of Connecticut Governors, resources to research past Connecticut General Assembly members and State Officials, as well as indexes to biographical files that are available at the library.

During transitions from one administration to another, links may change and information on the state portal (CT.Gov) may be updated often.

Ned Lamont, Governor of Connecticut
Links to the CT.Gov portal's page for current Governor and Lieutenant Governor

Dannel P. Malloy, Governor of Connecticut : Home page by archived dates, July 2018-
Archived web site from the Connecticut State Library's Digital Collections. "This web site is a source of information about the Governor, news, policies, executive orders, legislative information, state of the state addresses, press releases and links to state government."
Dannel P. Malloy, Governor of Connecticut : Home page by archived dates before 2018
Archived web site from the Connecticut State Library's Digital Collections. "This web site is a source of information about the Governor, news, policies, executive orders, legislative information, state of the state addresses, press releases and links to state government."
M. Jodi Rell, Governor
Archived web site from the Connecticut State Library's Digital Collections. "This web site is a source of information about the Governor, news, policies, executive orders, legislative information, state of the state addresses, press releases and links to state government."
more...less...
Steve Rice says to say available through catalog
John G. Rowland, Governor
Site: "These pages are being preserved for historical purposes under the auspices of the Connecticut State Library."

Biographical Resources

These are just a few suggestions. Please see:

Governors of Connecticut (1639 to present)
From the Museum of Connecticut History - Roster of Connecticut Governors with With Links to Portraits and Some Biographical Sketches.
Former Governors - Connecticut
From the National Governors Association. Links to brief biographies.

Biographical Directory of American Colonial and Revolutionary Governors, 1607-1789, by John Raimo [CSL call number E 187.5 R34].
Biographical Directory of the Governors of the United States, 1789-1994, by Robert Sobel and John Raimo [CSL call number GIRS Ref E 176 .B573].
The Register and Manual includes biographies of current elected officials.
Search our catalog and databases for additional sources.
Facts About Connecticut’s Governors

The Governors of Connecticut : Biographies of the Chief Executives of the Commonwealth That Gave to the World the First Written Constitution Known to History by Frederick Calvin Norton Online access through Primo, our library catalog. Includes biographies, portraits, and signatures of many Connecticut governors from John Haynes (1639) to Henry Roberts (1905). Also Library of Congress at https://www.loc.gov/item/06003618/
Call Number: Online and History Reference F 93 .N 88 1905
Publication Date: 1905