The collection consists primarily of records after 1909 ending with the administration preceding the most current. Additional finding aids for records of Governor John H. Trumbull through Governor Lowell P. Weicker are linked below.
A specific Finding Aid for Governor’s Records from 1820-1858 is also available.
Pre-1820 governor’s records at the State Library can be found in the “Connecticut Archives.” Records can also be found in the published works:
Manuscripts & Archives Catalog. Located in the History and Genealogy Unit Reading Room, consult this catalog under the names of individual governors. For example:
Trumbull, Jonathan. Connecticut Colonial Official Papers, 1631-1784. Collected by Governor Jonathan Trumbull under the instruction of the General Assembly, 29 volumes. [CSL call number Main Vault 974.6 fT76].
RG 069, Manuscript Collections. Miscellaneous personal papers of five Connecticut Governors are located in the Manuscript Collections. Finding aids to these collections are available to researchers at the History and Genealogy Unit reference desk:
RG 069:010, Raymond E. Baldwin Papers, 1938-1965
RG 069:096, Wilbur L. Cross Papers, 1914-1949
RG 069:059, Abraham Ribicoff Newspaper Clipping Collection, 1954-1979
RG 069:062, Isaac Toucey Papers, 1831-1870
RG 069:025, John Treadwell Papers, 1706-1872
Published Materials:
The Connecticut Historical Society published several governor’s papers within the series Collections of the Connecticut Historical Society, [CSL call number F 91 .C7], including George Wyllys (Volume 21), Joseph Talcott (Volumes 4 and 5), Jonathan Law (Volumes 11, 13, and 15), Roger Wolcott (Volume 16), Thomas Fitch (Volumes 17 and 18), William Pitkin (Volumes 19), and John Cotton Smith (Volumes 25 through 31).
