LibGuides Home: Biographical Information: Home

Biographical Information

This page contains links to biographical databases, sketches of Connecticut Governors and of Judges & Attorneys, resources to research past Connecticut General Assembly members and State Officials, as well as indexes to biographical files that are available at the library. Keep in mind that most biographical entries are for well known historical figures (think George Washington), or prominent Connecticut people (think Governor Ella Grasso or actor William Gillette). If you find a name in one of our indexes, please contact us. We may be able to have copies made and sent to you.

Biographical Databases
Biographical sketches finding aid compiled by Nancy T. Peluso
Biography Vertical File
The History & Genealogy unit maintains a vertical file of clippings and other materials on well-known CT individuals. Click the link for index.
Governors of Connecticut (1639 to present)
From the Museum of Connecticut History - Roster of Connecticut Governors with With Links to Portraits and Some Biographical Sketches.

Judge & Attorney Biographies
by Law & Legislation Last Updated Jul 29, 2024 6769 views this year

Researching your family history? Go to our main History & Genealogy page to see what resources might be helpful with your search.

History & Genealogy
by History & Genealogy Last Updated Sep 27, 2024 19643 views this year

Members of the General Assembly

Connecticut General Assembly Members
Lists members of the Connecticut General Assembly. The list of state Senators dates back to 1776, and entries for House members begin with 1849. Database created by the Connecticut State Library.

Connecticut Legislative History and Souvenir by William Harrison Taylor
Call Number: JK3331 .T24
Publication Date: 1897 - 1912
Taylor's Legislative History and Souvenir of Connecticut includes portraits and biographical sketches of state officers, senators, representatives, clerks, chaplains, etc. It has member lists and group photos of legislative committees. These books are located on the second level of the library stacks. Selected years are available electronically at the link above.

Evening Post Annual – Biographical Sketches of State Officers, Online 1882-1889, 1892, 1895

Goodwin's Annual Legislative Statistics of State Officers, Senate, and House of Representatives of Connecticut
Call Number: KFC3618 .G66
Publication Date: 1850 - 1886
As the title indicates, this publication includes lists of state officers, senators, and representatives of Connecticut for the years 1850-1886. Publications from 1850 through 1880 are also available electronically at the link above.
Roll of State Officers and Members of General Assembly of Connecticut from 1776 to 1881
Call Number: Conn Doc G25 ro
Publication Date: 1881
This is an annual listing of state officers and members of the CT General Assembly from 1776-1881. It also includes an appendix of congressional delegates, Supreme and Superior Court judges, and the date of incorporation of cities, boroughs, and towns.

Portraits
This collection consists of historical portraits of Connecticut state officials including governors (circa 1862, 1865, 1901-1905, 1925, 1957), constitutionally elected officers (circa 1844-1866, 1901-1912, 1919-1924), executive branch officials (1889-1957), General Assembly members (circa 1844-1957), and General Assembly committees (1889-1935).

Legal Biographical Resources & Directories
by Law & Legislation Last Updated Jul 29, 2024 64 views this year