LGBTQ+ Civil Rights

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

Search

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
Archives Finding Aids

These are only a few suggestions. There are resource suggestions under other topics as well.

LGBTQ+ - History Day guide (CSL)
Connecticut State Library (CSL) History Day guide page based on previous research topics.

Articles - Databases

Articles

Coming Out: The Struggle For Gay Rights In Connecticut By Daniela Altimari Jun 29, 2014
From the Hartford Courant's 250th series.
United States Strategy to Prevent and Respond to Gender-Based Violence Globally 2022
U.S. Department of State: "The U.S. Strategy to Prevent and Respond to Gender-Based Violence Globally elevates the human rights of women and girls globally as a U.S. national security, diplomatic, and foreign assistance priority."
Memorandum on Advancing the Human Rights of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Intersex Persons Around the World
President Biden, 2021 Memorandum

Databases

These are only a few suggestions - there are many others that may have relevant articles, especially newspapers.

Subscription databases may require use within the Connecticut State Library (CSL) building, or a CSL library card.

Be sure to check researchIT CT databases that, depending on the database grouping, may be accessed with your school ID, a card from a CT public library, or a CSL library card.

Get a Library Card
To use Archival materials, you need to Get a Secured Collections/Archives Card

LGBTQ+ Rights
The LGBTQ+ Rights database is a HeinOnline collection of materials relating to the gay rights movement in America, including an interactive timeline, as well as subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, reports, and more. This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.
researchIT CT

General reference, homework help, newspapers, biographies, health and business databases, downloadable audio books, and more!
researchIT CT News & Newspapers Chicago Tribune (1985-present) Hartford Courant - Historical (1764-1997) Hartford Courant (1992-present) Los Angeles Times (1985-present) New York Times (1980-present) Wall Street Journal (1984-present) Washington Post (1987-present)
researchIT CT OneSearch for Public Libraries

OneSearch for Public Libraries searches simultaneously all content in researchIT CT considered to be most useful to residents of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content.

Betty Hudson

The CT State Archives received her papers.

Biographical Note (from finding aid)
Betty Hudson, née Elizabeth Bagi, was born on March 5, 1931 in Port Chester, New York, along with her identical twin sister, Mary "Re-Re." She attended Stamford High School and Michigan State University, married Donald Hudson, and settled in Branford, Connecticut. The couple had two children, Todd and Leigh, and eventually relocated to Madison, Connecticut, where Hudson began her political career. In 1974, she legally changed her first name to "Betty."

Betty Hudson papers (RG069_175)
This is a link to the CT State Archives finding aid for Identifier: RG069_175
This collection is comprised of papers relating to Betty Hudson's career as a local and state politician and a human services employee, as well as her personal views on feminist and social issues such as gender titles, sexual assault, domestic violence, child support, gay rights, disabled rights, and equal rights. The collection contains personal and political papers, bill files, campaign files, clippings, editorials, correspondence, photographs, publications, and artifacts.
more...less...
Scope and Content: The papers were arranged into eight series which reflect the legislative and political career, civic and community activism, and personal views of Betty Hudson.
See finding aid for description by series.

The CT Archives finding aid includes the following:

Bibliography
Articles
Roessner, B. T. "Former State Senator Continues Her Crusades From Governor's Office," The Hartford Courant, November 11, 1979, p. 37.
Books
Love, B. J. Feminists Who Changed America, 1963-1975, Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2006.
Websites
The Hartford Courant. Hudson, Betty: Obituary
The New Haven Register. Hudson, Donald and Doreen: Obituary
Roessner, B. T. "Former State Senator Continues Her Crusades From Governor's Office," The Hartford Courant, November 11, 1979, p. 37.
Love, B. J. Feminists Who Changed America, 1963-1975, Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2006.

Harvey Milk

Harvey Milk’s Gay Freedom Day Speech: Annotated
From JSTOR Daily By: Liz Tracey June 13, 2022