Human Rights

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

Search

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

The United Nations defines human rights as: "Human rights are rights inherent to all human beings, regardless of race, sex, nationality, ethnicity, language, religion, or any other status. Human rights include the right to life and liberty, freedom from slavery and torture, freedom of opinion and expression, the right to work and education, and many more. Everyone is entitled to these rights, without discrimination."

Human Rights (UN)
United Nations (UN) section on Human Rights, including The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR).

Connecticut State Library (CSL) Resources

Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities Website
Brief History of the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities
Index of Decisions and Rulings of the Human Rights Referees
Prepared by the CHRO
Covers 1999-2008
Online access through our library catalog.
Conn Doc H888ph ind
Human Rights Referee Decisions
1999-2015, index through 6/2011; summaries available for 1995-1999

Other Institutions

National Center for Civil and Human Rights
Site: "The National Center for Civil and Human Rights in downtown Atlanta is an engaging cultural attraction that connects the American Civil Rights Movement to today’s struggle for Global Human Rights"
Human Rights Watch
Visual Storytelling through Human Rights Archives (UConn)
UConn: "Materials from the holdings of Archives & Special Collections collected to support the instruction of and use by the students enrolled in "Visual Storytelling through Human Rights Archives," DMD 3998.008/HRTS 3540 offered Spring 2021 by Catherine Masud."
American Women: Resources from the Serial & Government Publications Collections (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "Part of the American Women series, this guide highlights the Library's collections of current and retrospective newspapers, current periodicals, government publications, and several special holdings of a serial nature, such as comic books."
more...less...
Includes information on UN documents as well as including human rights topics.
Human Rights - U.S. Department of State by Topic
Human Rights and Democracy - Policy Issues
U.S. Department of State Policy Issues page for Human Rights and Democracy
The Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor (DRL)
U.S. Department of State: "The Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor (DRL) champions universal values, including respect for the rule of law, democratic institutions, and human rights.  The Bureau’s work helps bolster democratic institutions, confront democratic backsliding, promote accountability, uphold internationally recognized labor standards, and advance the rights and equity of members of marginalized racial, ethnic, and religious communities, indigenous persons, persons with disabilities, and LGBTQI+ persons."

Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act

P.L. 114-328 National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2017 (contains Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act)
Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act contained within this large public law.
Worldwide Global Magnitsky Act legislation (LOC)
Law Library of Library of Congress (LOC) report on Worldwide Global Magnitsky Act legislation. Click to enlarge image and read online.
The Public Law and other resources can be access by searching Primo, our library catalog.
more...less...
Intro to report: "This report discusses the Global Magnitsky Act as it was implemented in the United States (US), and provides comparative information about foreign laws that operate in a similar manner. Individual country reports, when applicable, are also included after the comparative section."
Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act (CRS)
Congressional Research Service (CRS) report. NOTE: select the appropriate version for your research.
more...less...
CRS reports offer summaries of issues and topics addressed in U.S. Congress. Report: "The Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act (Global Magnitsky Act, Title XII, Subtitle F of P.L. 114-328; 22 U.S.C. §2656 note) authorizes the President to impose economic sanctions and deny entry into the United States to any foreign person identified as engaging in human rights abuse or corruption."
Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act : Scope, Implementation, and Considerations for Congress (CRS)
Congressional Research Service (CRS) report. NOTE: select the appropriate version for your research.
more...less...
CRS reports offer summaries of issues and topics addressed in U.S. Congress.
Law Library of Congress Report Explores Sanctions for Worldwide Human Rights Abuses. In Custodia Legis blog (Law Librarians of Congress). October 3, 2022
Includes link to "Worldwide Global Magnitsky Act Legislation" report by the Law Library of Congress.
Global Magnitsky Act - U.S. Department of State
U.S. Department of State landing page on the Global Magnitsky Act, within the Economic Sanctions Policy and Implementation section.

History Day - Civil Rights & Human Rights

Contact Us

Search

Human Rights

See also:

Archives

Archives at Connecticut State Library (CSL)

Connecticut State Library (CSL) Resources

Other Institutions

Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act