Chinese Exclusion Act
The Connecticut State Library has many resources on this topic.
See also the page on historic immigration under Demographic Groups and Previous Topics Guide.
Books, Documents, etc.
These are only a few examples of our numerous resources.
At America's Gates by LibGuide: "With the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882, Chinese laborers became the first group in American history to be excluded from the United States on the basis of their race and class. This landmark law changed the course of U.S. immigration history, but we know little about its consequences for the Chinese in America or for the United States as a nation of immigrants. At America's Gates is the first book devoted entirely to both Chinese immigrants and the American immigration officials who sought to keep them out. Erika Lee explores how Chinese exclusion laws not only transformed Chinese American lives, immigration patterns, identities, and families but also recast the United States into a "gatekeeping nation." Immigrant identification, border enforcement, surveillance, and deportation policies were extended far beyond any controls that had existed in the United States before. Drawing on a rich trove of historical sources--including recently released immigration records, oral histories, interviews, and letters--Lee brings alive the forgotten journeys, secrets, hardships, and triumphs of Chinese immigrants. Her timely book exposes the legacy of Chinese exclusion in current American immigration control and race relations."
Call Number: Stacks E184.C5 L523 2003 Item Does Not Circulate
Publication Date: 2003-05-19
The Chinese, and the Chinese Question by
Call Number: Stacks JV6875 1880 .W6 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 1880
Second edition is available online in The Internet Archive.
Chinese American Voices by LibGuide: "Described by others as quaint and exotic, or as depraved and threatening, and, more recently, as successful and exemplary, the Chinese in America have rarely been asked to describe themselves in their own words. This superb anthology, a diverse and illuminating collection of primary documents and stories by Chinese Americans, provides an intimate and textured history of the Chinese in America from their arrival during the California Gold Rush to the present. Among the documents are letters, speeches, testimonies, oral histories, personal memoirs, poems, essays, and folksongs; many have never been published before or have been translated into English for the first time. They bring to life the diverse voices of immigrants and American-born; laborers, merchants, and professionals; ministers and students; housewives and prostitutes; and community leaders and activists. Together, they provide insight into immigration, work, family and social life, and the longstanding fight for equality and inclusion. Featuring photographs and extensive introductions to the documents written by three leading Chinese American scholars, this compelling volume offers a panoramic perspective on the Chinese American experience and opens new vistas on American social, cultural, and political history."
Call Number: Stacks E184.C5 C479 2006 Item Does Not Circulate
Publication Date: 2006-03-20
The Chinese in California : to the Committee on Foreign Relations of the United States Senate by
Call Number: Stacks JV6875 1876 .B93 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: [1876?]
A Different Mirror by Lib Guides: "Describes the immigrant experiences of Japanese, African, Irish, and Jewish Americans, exposing the abuses suffered by Native Americans, slaves, and workers who built the country."
Call Number: Stacks E184.A1 T335 1993 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 1993-06-01
Immigrants Out! LibGuides: "Nativism--an intense opposition to immigrants and other non- native members of society--has been deeply imbedded in the American character from the earliest days of the nation. Correspondingly, nativism, overtly or covertly, has always permeated our national discourse. Dating from the Alien and Sedition controversy of 1798 to California's recent Proposition 187, nativism has long been a driving force in policy making, a particular irony in a country founded and populated by immigrants. This anthology of original essays is informed at its core by George Santayana's famous edict that those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it. Examining the current surge in nativism in light of past waves of anti- immigrant sentiment, the volume takes an unflinchingly critical look at the realities and rhetoric of the new nativism. How can the imprisonment of Japanese-Americans during World War II illuminate our understanding of the English Only movement today? How has the symbolism of the Statue of Liberty evolved since its dedication and what can it tell us about the American disposition to immigration? What is the new nativism? What are the semantic and rhetorical similarities, if any, between the most shrill nativist voices of the present, such as Pat Buchanan's or Peter Brimelow's in his widely publicized book Alien Nation, and National Socialist propaganda in 1930s Germany? Juan Perea has here assembled a truly interdisciplinary group of contributors to emphasize the changing relationship between citizens and immigrants, and the effects of economics, history, and demographics on that relationship. Immigrants Out! provides a needed antidote to the often poisonous attacks on America's most vulnerable."
Call Number: Stacks E184.A1 I4355 1996 Does not circulate
Publication Date: 1996
Mountain of Gold; the Story of the Chinese in America by
Call Number: Stacks E184.C5 S95 Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 
Catalog: "The story of the Chinese in America - their struggle for survival, acceptance, and full participation in American life, from the Gold Rush to the present."
The Nationalist Program for China by
Call Number: Stacks DS775 .W8 Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1929
Online at HathiTrust
Two of the lectures delivered at the Institute of Politics, Williams College, August 1928, and the author's remarks made at the general conferences, on the subject of Manchuria. cf. Pref.
Chinese Immigration; Its Social, Moral, And Political Effect
Call Number: Online and Stacks JV6878.C2 A2 1878 Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 1878
online in HathiTrust.
By California. Legislature. Senate. Special Committee on Chinese Immigration. ; Haymond, Creed, 1836-1893.
Chinese Immigration to USA
Below are some resources that might be helpful in researching the topics of Chinese immigration to the U.S.; Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882 and the 1920 revision; and/or the Rise of Yellow Power Movement.
- The Page Law of 1875
- The Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882
- The Scott Act (1888)
- The Geary Act of 1892
- The McCreary Amendment of 1893
- 1868 Burlingame Treaty with China
- The 1920 revision of the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882
- War Brides Act of December 28, 1945
- Displaced Persons Act of 1948
- The Refugee Relief Act of 1953
- The Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965
- The U.S. Supreme Court - several cases looked at the legislative intent (legislative history) of the acts as well as the impact of Chinese immigrants who arrived prior to 1882. Some examples:
- Chew Heong v. United States (1884)
- Chae Chan Ping v. United States (1889)
- Fong Yue Ting v. United States (1893)
- Lem Moon Sing v. United States (1895)
- United States v. Ju Toy (1905)
- Immigration quotas after the repeal of some of these public laws
- State Level
- There were state level laws to discourage or prohibit Chinese immigration.
- Ex. California - Foreign Miners’ License Tax laws in 1850 and 1852; 1855 California State Supreme Court case
Rock Springs Massacre: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress research guide: "In 1885, anti-Chinese prejudice led to a clash between White miners and Chinese immigrants. This guide provides access to materials related to the “Rock Creek Massacre” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Yung, Wing, 1828-1912
My life in China and America by
Call Number: Stacks DS763.Y8 A3
Publication Date: 1909
Online in Internet Archive and Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/54635
美国所藏容闳文献初编 = Collection of Yung Wing's paper in the U.S. Meiguo suo cang Rong Hong wen xian chu bian = Collection of Yung Wing's paper in the U.S. by
Call Number: Stacks DS763.Y8 M45 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Diary of Yung Wing, Hartford, Connecticut by
Call Number: Online and History Reference Microform DS764.23.Y8 A3 1924
Publication Date: 
A diary kept by Yung Wing when living in Hartford, Connecticut from January to October 1902. He recorded his accounts, visitors, letters, news about people and events, trips to nearby cities, and observations about the weather. The diary is dated both by the western Gregorian calendar and the Chinese lunar calendar. An educational reformer in late Imperial China and the first Chinese graduate of a U.S. university (Yale), Yung Wing operated the Chinese Educational Commission School in Hartford from 1872 until the Chinese government disbanded the Educational Mission in 1881.
Connecticut State Library
The Chinese calendar date is noted to the right of the western date.
Yung Wing diary
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: ca. 1902
Catalog: "A diary kept by Yung Wing when living in Hartford, Connecticut from January to October 1902. He recorded his accounts, visitors, letters, news about people and events, trips to nearby cities, and observations about the weather. The diary is dated both by the western Gregorian calendar and the Chinese lunar calendar. Yung Wing, often called the father of Chinas foreign-educated students, operated the Chinese Educational Commission School in Hartford from 1872 until the Chinese government disbanded the Educational Mission in 1881."
Yung Wing and the Chinese Educational Mission at Hartford by
Call Number: Stacks F104.H39 C5 1999b Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: 1999
Thesis (M.A.)--Trinity College, 1999.
Yung Wing : the first Chinese student in the United States by
Call Number: Conn Doc Ag83wep coed no.4
Publication Date: c1987
Chinese youth and American educational institutions, 1850-1881 by
Call Number: Stacks LC3071 .B36 2005a
Publication Date: 2005
Thesis (Ph.D.)--George Washington University, 2005.
- Worthy, Edmund H. "Yung Wing in America." Pacific Historical Review 34, no. 3 (1965): 265-87. doi:10.2307/3636523. I n JSTOR
Chinese Exclusion Act: Primary Documents in American History (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC): "On May 6, 1882, the Chinese Exclusion Act was signed into law, prohibiting the immigration of Chinese laborers for ten years. This guide compiles Library of Congress digital materials, external websites, and a print bibliography."
Chinese Exclusion Act: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC): "During the late 1800's, the Chinese Exclusion Act prevented Chinese laborers from immigrating to the U.S. This guide provides access to materials related to the “Chinese Exclusion Act” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478