Civil Rights Act of 1964

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

Prohibited discrimination in public accommodations, facilities, and schools. Outlawed discrimination in federally funded projects. Created the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission to monitor employment discrimination in public and private sectors. Provided additional capacities to enforce voting rights. Extended the Civil Rights Commission for four years.
Passed by the 88th Congress (1963–1965) as H.R. 7152.

The Connecticut State Library may have many of the resources mentioned by other institutions, but may not subscribe to the same commercial databases.

Civil Rights Act of 1964
GovInfo digital copy of 78 Stat. 241 - Civil Rights Act of 1964.
The Connecticut State Library has this in our law collection.
more...less...
GovInfo site: "President Johnson signed the July 2,1964, Civil Rights Act into law prohibiting segregation and discrimination regarding schools, public places and activities, and employment practices. GPO employees produced the original document 50 years ago."

The Connecticut State Library may have many of the resources mentioned by other institutions, but may not subscribe to the same commercial databases.

The Civil Rights Act of 1964 - Historical Highlights, July 02, 1964
From History, Art & Archives, U.S. House of Representatives
Civil Rights Act of 1964
The Civil Rights Act of 1964: A Long Struggle for Freedom (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) exhibit.
more...less...
LOC: "September 10, 2014–January 2, 2016"
"This exhibition, which commemorates the fiftieth anniversary of the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964, explores the events that shaped the civil rights movement, as well as the far-reaching impact the act had on a changing society. The act is considered the most significant piece of civil rights legislation since Reconstruction. It prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin in voting, public accommodations, public facilities, public education, federally funded programs, and employment. Audiovisual stations throughout the exhibition present archival footage of the era, as well as contemporary interviews with civil rights leaders and activists reflecting on the civil rights era."