Holocaust

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

Search

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

See also military pages, especially WWII.

History Day
Scratch pad with general resources for History Day. Links to archived past guides

Search CT-N archive for videos of events, lectures, etc.

Tip: try searching just: holocaust

CT-N Online Media Files (On-Demand)
Site: "Connecticut Network is the citizen's source for complete and balanced television and webcast coverage of Connecticut state government and public policy."
more...less...
CT-N has some recordings of presentations at the Mark Twain House
CT-N Archival Database
Search for older recordings.

Other Institutions

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Site: "A living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, prevent genocide, and promote human dignity. Federal support guarantees the Museum’s permanent place on the National Mall, and its far-reaching educational programs and global impact are made possible by generous donors."
Nazi Medical Experiments
Article from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Buchenwald. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Article from United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
Ravensbrück - United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's article on Ravensbrück concentration camp.
Investigating the Holocaust
From FDR Presidential Library: "Investigating the Holocaust is a series of short videos that trace the history of the Nazi Party from its inception through World War II and the policies that led to the murder of millions of innocent people."
more...less...
Site: "These short videos are derived from Nuremberg: Its Lesson for Today, a powerful, feature-length documentary film made with restored footage from the 1946 production titled, “Nurnberg.” The videos feature original film footage used as evidence by the International Military Tribunal at the Palace of Justice in Nuremberg, Germany -- the most famous courtroom drama in modern times, and the first to make extensive use of film as evidence.

The FDR Presidential Library and Museum has also produced an accompanying Curriculum Guide to introduce students to the Holocaust through historical materials drawn from the FDR Library’s archives and this recently remastered documentary. "
Americans And The Holocaust
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum "exhibition examines the motives, pressures, and fears that shaped Americans’ responses to Nazism, war, and genocide."
Fundamentals of Teaching the Holocaust
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Morgenthau Holocaust Collections Project (FDR Library)
From the Franklin D. Roosevelt (FDR) Presidential Library: "To discover, engage, and share records of American responses to the Holocaust"

Kindertransport - Jewish Children and Germany

Books, Documents, etc.

Congressional Record (Permanent edition) by United States. Congress.
Call Number: CSL Fed Docs X 1.1:
The Congressional Record includes the floor debate(s) of the U.S. House and Senate.
Citing the Congressional Record is not like citing other government publications. Check with a librarian or a style guide.

146 Cong. Rec. 5841 - Kindertransport--60th Anniversary of British Hospitality for Child Victims of Nazi Germany
Extension of Remarks in the Congressional Record

Online only

For items in subscription databases, a card for the Connecticut State Library is required.

Get a Library Card
To use Archival materials, you need to Get a Secured Collections/Archives Card

Suggested Items

First is a link to the entire database. Then there is a link to specific items, if that is possible. You will need to enter your CSL library card to access these online. Most congressional documents are available in the library and at other FDLP libraries near you. Contact us for help.

ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
User help pages at https://proquest.libguides.com/congressionalhelp

Admission of German Refugee Children - from ProQuest Congressional
Requires a Connecticut State Library (CSL) Card to access online. CSL has most congressional hearings in their physical collection.
more...less...
Hearing Date: May 24-25, 31 - Jun. 1, 1939 Committee: Committee on Immigration and Naturalization. House. Sudoc Number: Y4.Im6/1:R25/3 Length: 307 pp. Bill Number: 76 H.J.Res. 165; 76 H.J.Res. 168 Legacy CIS Number: 76 H860-4
Rescue of the Jewish and other Peoples in Nazi-occupied Territory. Extract from Hearings on H. Res. 350 and H. Res. 352, Resolutions Providing for the Establishment by the Executive of a Commission to Effectuate the Rescue of the Jewish People of Europe -
Connecticut State Library (CSL) card required for online access. CSL should have this in their federal documents collection and CIS microfiche. Contact us for help.
more...less...
CIS Number: H2645 Document Date: November 26, 1943 Committee: Committee on Foreign Affairs. House Sudoc Number: Y4.F76/1:J55/2/extract Bill Number: 78 H.Res. 350 78 H.Res. 352 Length: 62 p.

Other Institutions

Kindertransport The National Archives (United Kingdom)
The United Kingdom's National Archives page on Kindertransport
U.S. Department of State - Historical Documents
Site description: "The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity."
Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers, 1943, General, Volume I Document 199 840.48 Refugees/4826: Telegram
Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers, 1943, General, Volume I Document 199 . 840.48 Refugees/4826: Telegram. The Secretary of State to the Chargé in the United Kingdom (Bucknell)
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Site: "A living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, prevent genocide, and promote human dignity. Federal support guarantees the Museum’s permanent place on the National Mall, and its far-reaching educational programs and global impact are made possible by generous donors."
Children During the Holocaust
Article from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

German Medical Experiments (Holocaust)

Books, Documents, etc.

These are only a few suggestions. It is always recommended to search our library catalog.

Ethics of Research Involving Human Subjects by Harold Y. Vanderpool (Editor)
Call Number: CSL Stacks R853.H8 E84 1996
ISBN: 1555720366
Publication Date: 1996
Look at library catalog record to see Table of Contents
Medical Experimentation : Personal Integrity and Social Policy by Fried, Charles
Call Number: CSL Stacks R853.H8 F74
ISBN: 0444106544
Publication Date: 1974

Search Terms

These are only a few suggested search terms that might help you find information in our library catalog.

Medical ethics
Medicine, Experimental -- Law and legislation
Human experimentation in medicine
Human experimentation in medicine -- Moral and ethical aspects
Human experimentation in medicine -- Social aspects
Social control

Articles

These are only a few suggested sources. It is always recommended that you search our library catalog and databases.

A-Z Databases
Lists databases (subscription and free) available through the Connecticut State Library (CSL). Some subscription databases have remote access which require a card from CSL.
more...less...
See the box of icons which explain access.
The Victims of Unethical Human Experiments and Coerced ...
Article available through the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Endeavour. 2016 Mar; 40(1): 1–6.
doi: 10.1016/j.endeavour.2015.10.005
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine
The side navigation has links to related articles.
Site: "Some sets of experiments and locations, ... The impact of Nazi medical experiments on Polish inmates at Dachau, Auschwitz and Ravensbück. PhD thesis ..."
Medical Experiments on Human Beings in Concentration Camps in Nazi Germany
Article available through the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Br Med J. 1947 Jan 25; 1(4490): 148–150.
The side navigation has links to related articles.
Human Guinea Pigs and the Ethics of Experimentation: The Bmj's Correspondent at the Nuremberg Medical Trial
Article available through the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
P. Weindling
BMJ. 1996 Dec 7; 313(7070): 1467–1470.
PMCID: PMC2352949
PMID: 8973237
more...less...
Abstract: "Though the Nuremberg medical trial was a United States military tribunal, British forensic pathologists supplied extensive evidence for the trial. The BMJ had a correspondent at the trial, and he endorsed a utilitarian legitimation of clinical experiments, justifying the medical research carried out under Nazism as of long term scientific benefit despite the human costs. The British supported an international medical commission to evaluate the ethics and scientific quality of German research. Medical opinions differed over whether German medical atrocities should be given publicity or treated in confidence. The BMJ's correspondent warned against medical researchers being taken over by a totalitarian state, and these arguments were used to oppose the NHS and any state control over medical research."
Medical War Crimes
Article available through the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
M. H. Armstrong Davison
Br Med J. 1958 May 10; 1(5079): 1121.
PMCID: PMC2028747
Medical War Crimes
Article available through the U.S. National Library of Medicine
I. H. Milner
Br Med J. 1958 Sep 20; 2(5098): 744.
PMCID: PMC2026670

Other Institutions

Nazi Medical Experiments
Article from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Ravensbrück - United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's article on Ravensbrück concentration camp.
Medical Ethics - from MedLinePlus
Information on current medical ethics. Includes a link to historic timeline.
Textbooks of Military Medicine from the Borden Institute Site description: "The Borden Institute, Army Medical Department Center and School (AMEDDC&S), publishes the Textbooks of Military Medicine. The volumes in the series ... constitute a comprehensive treatise on the art and science of military medicine, covering such diverse topics as biological and chemical warfare, military preventive medicine, military medical ethics, combat and operational behavioral health, harsh environments, and care of combat injuries. Other Borden Institute products include volumes on military medical history, monographs, and specialty titles such as Emergency War Surgery. ... Copies of Borden Institute publications may be ordered free of charge by eligible personnel. Anyone may download PDF versions free of charge. www.cs.amedd.army.mil/borden."
Caroline Ferriday - search results from USHMM.org
The USHMM has a Caroline Ferriday Collection, but the few items I checked have not been digitized. The description of the collection seems to indicate the collection has not been digitized.
Chapter 14 Nazi Medical Ethics: Ordinary Doctors?
Chapter in book: Military Medical Ethics, Volume 2, Chapter 14, Nazi Medical Ethics: Ordinary Doctors? From the U.S. Army's Borden Institute
more...less...
Site: "Medicine under the Nazi regime flourished and physicians participated, not as pawns but as pioneers, in the horrors of genocide and unethical experimentation. The reasons for this are varied and have many factors, but do not lessen the terror of physicians killing and torturing patients."