LibGuides Home: Woman Suffrage: Other Institutions

Other Institutions' Woman Suffrage Resources

These are other resources found during research. It is NOT a comprehensive list. The Connecticut State Library does not endorse any other institution's guides.

The Connecticut State Library (CSL) has access to federal information, although we may not subscribe to resources listed in other libraries' guides.

When listed call numbers are in the SuDoc classification system, they will often translate to CSL collection. Call numbers listed in other systems may not apply to CSL.

Some institutions take down their resources after a time. When possible, we will link to an archived page in the WayBack Machine. These links may take a little bit longer to load.

Connecticut Institutions

These are only a few examples. See also the Connecticut commorative site.

Connecticut Suffrage Centennial
WayBack Machine archived website of the committee launched by the Secretary of the State in observance of 100th anniversary of 19th Amendment.
Suffrage Blog
Greenwich Historical Society blogs posts on suffrage.
The Work Must Be Done Women of Color and the Right to Vote (CHS)
Connecticut Historical Society (CHS)
more...less...
previously at https://chs.org/WOCVotes/
Connecticut Woman Suffrage Movement Collection (WCSU)
Western Connecticut State University (WCSU) site: "summary: Collection contains ... Robert Schnare's research on the Connecticut suffrage movement between 1910 and 1920, and additional information on the movement prior to 1910 and from the relatively recent past."
Women Win the Right to Vote
August 18, 2016 post from ConnecticutHistory.org
Katharine Houghton Hepburn, A Woman Before Her Time
March 18, 2015 post from ConnecticutHistory.org under Connecticut History Day 2017, Hartford, Social Movements, Women
Dis-ambiguity: Mother of actor Katherine Hepburn
Katharine Houghton Hepburn
From The Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame
Dis-ambiguity: Mother of actor Katherine Hepburn
Women – Primary Sources (CT Humanities)
From the Connecticut Humanities Teach It site.
Litchfield Equal Franchise League records
Litchfield Historical Society archival collection.
more...less...
Site: "A half-document box of records relating to the Litchfield Equal Franchise League, organized Sept. 5, 1913. It was an auxiliary of the Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association, which had as its mission the securing of the ratification of the 20th Amendment and preparing women for voting. Frances E. Hickox was the first president, serving 1913-1914. Adelaide Deming served next through at least 1920."
Adelaide Deming collection
Litchfield Historical Society archival collection.
more...less...
Site: "The Adelaide Deming collection (1954-46-0, .21 linear feet) contains papers related to Litchfield painter Adelaide Deming (1864-1956); her brother, physician William Champion Deming (1862-1954); and other members of her family, including her sister Charlotte (1868-), cousin John W. Quincy (1868-1950), and great grandfather Julius Deming (1755-1838)."
League of Women Voters of CT Briefing on National Voter Registration Day and Commemoration of Women of Color in the Fight for Women's Suffrage
CT-N Recorded On: 9/20/2022

Other Institutions

These are only a few selected resources, mostly with a Connecticut focus. Most of these institutions have many more resources - you may want to extend your research with them.

Black Women’S Suffrage
From the Digital Public Library of America: "The Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection is a collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960."
more...less...
Site: "The materials in this collection include photographs, correspondence, speeches, event programs, publications, oral histories, and other artifacts."

Library of Congress (LOC)

Women's Suffrage in the Moving Image and Recorded Sound Collections (LOC) Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "Presented in this guide are collection materials found in the Library's Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Division that explore the Women's Suffrage movement and offer an exciting glimpse into the struggle for the vote."
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection (LOC) Library of Congress (LOC) Collection: "The National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection is a library of nearly 800 books and pamphlets documenting the suffrage campaign that were collected between 1890 and 1938 by members of NAWSA and donated to the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress on November 1, 1938. "
more...less...
Includes links to digitized items, including scrapbooks
National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) - (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) - "The National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection is a library of nearly 800 books and pamphlets documenting the suffrage campaign that were collected between 1890 and 1938 by members of NAWSA and donated to the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress on November 1, 1938." Not everything is online
19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Primary Documents in American History (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) Digital Collection site : "The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of primary source materials associated with the 19th Amendment and the women's suffrage movement, including manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, sheet music, and broadsides. Provided below is a link to the home page for each relevant digital collection along with selected highlights."
19th Amendment: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide. "On August 20, 1920, the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution gave women the right to vote. This guide provides access to materials related to the “19th Amendment” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Mary Church Terrell Papers (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) description: "The papers of educator, lecturer, suffragist, and civil rights activist Mary Church Terrell (1863-1954) consist of approximately 13,000 documents, comprising 25,323 images, all of which were digitized from 34 reels of previously produced microfilm. Spanning the years 1851 to 1962, the collection contains diaries, correspondence, printed matter, clippings, and speeches and writings, primarily focusing on Terrell's career as an advocate of women's rights and equal treatment of African Americans."
Susan B. Anthony Papers - LOC
Library of Congress (LOC): "The papers of reformer and suffragist Susan B. Anthony (1820-1906) span the period 1846-1934 with the bulk of the material dating from 1846 to 1906. The collection, consisting of approximately 500 items (6,265 images) on seven recently digitized microfilm reels, includes correspondence, diaries, a daybook, scrapbooks, speeches, and miscellaneous items..."
Alice Paul: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "A prominent advocate for women’s rights, Alice Paul authored the yet to be adopted Equal Rights Amendment in 1923. This guide provides access to materials related to the “Alice Paul” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Amelia Bloomer: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
more...less...
Library of Congress research guide: "An early suffragist and social activist, Bloomer is best known for her work to change women’s clothing styles. This guide provides access to materials related to the “Amelia Bloomer” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Bachelor Maids: Topics in Chronicling America (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide for Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
CT State Library's newspaper collection may also include articles on this topic.
more...less...
Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "During the late 19th and early 20th century, single and independent women formed clubs with other Bachelor Maids. This guide provides access to materials related to "Bachelor Maids" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."
Carrie Chapman Catt Papers (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) digital collection: "The papers of suffragist, political strategist, and pacifist Carrie Lane Chapman Catt (1859-1947) span the years 1848-1950, with the bulk of the material dating from 1890 to 1920. The collection consists of approximately 9,500 items (11,851 images), most of which were digitized from 18 microfilm reels. Included are diaries, correspondence, speeches and articles, subject files, and miscellaneous items, including photographs and printed matter. The collection reflects Catt's steadfast dedication to two major ideals--the rights of women, particularly the right to vote, and world peace."
Blackwell Family Papers (LOC)
There is a link to the finding aid on the page.
Library of Congress (LOC) digital collection: "The Blackwell Family Papers span the years 1759-1960, with the bulk of the material dating from 1845 to 1890. Consisting of approximately 29,000 items (58,002 images), most of which were digitized from 76 reels of microfilm, the collection predominantly represents two generations of the Blackwell family and twenty individual family members. Nearly two centuries of the family’s daily lives are documented in correspondence, diaries, speeches, and other papers, exemplifying the family’s long commitment to social reform movements, such as abolition; women’s rights, including the right to equal education; women’s suffrage; and temperance."
more...less...
Site: "The collection features the papers of Lucy Stone; her husband, Henry Browne Blackwell; and their daughter, Alice Stone Blackwell, all of whom were prominent in the women’s rights and women’s suffrage movements. Also included in the collection are papers of Elizabeth Blackwell, Henry Browne Blackwell's sister, who as a doctor pioneered in the role of women in medicine, and Kitty Barry Blackwell, Elizabeth Blackwell’s adopted daughter and companion. Other Blackwell family members are also represented within the collection, including Emily Blackwell and Antoinette Louisa Brown Blackwell. "
Women's Suffrage: Their Rights and Nothing Less (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) Classroom Materials. Links to resources and lessons. Includes list of dates, and federal legislation, and more.
The Right to Vote (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) classroom materials - current and historic information on suffrage - the right to vote.

Library of Congress (LOC) Images

Please read descriptions on LOC site for proper attribution and copyrights. These images belong to the Library of Congress.

Edmonston, Washington, D.C. Mrs. W. D. Ascough of Hartford, Conn., chairman of the Connecticut branch of the Woman's Party. United States Connecticut, ca. 1915. Photograph. https://www.loc.gov/item/mnwp000005/.

Library of Congress image: "

Notes

- Title and information transcribed from item.
- Summary: Formal portrait, head and shoulders, Lillian Ascough, facing right, head turned toward camera.
- Verso (struck out): "A speaker in the demonstration this afternoon."
- Photograph published in The Suffragist, 3, no. 26 (June 26, 1915): 5; The Suffragist, 4, no. 44 (Oct. 28, 1916): 7; and The Suffragist, 4, no. 50 (Dec. 9, 1916): 9.
- Lillian Ascough of Detroit, Mich., served as Connecticut State Chairman, NWP. Studied for concert stage in London and Paris. Abandoned concert stage to devote time to suffrage. Sentenced to fifteen days, August 1918, Lafayette Square demonstration, and five days, February 1919, in watchfire demonstration. She was a speaker in the "Prison Special" tour of Feb-Mar 1919. Source: Doris Stevens, Jailed for Freedom (New York: Boni and Liveright, 1920), 355."

GovInfo.gov

Susan B. Anthony, Icon of the Women's Suffrage Movement
From GovInfo.gov - information about Susan B. Anthony. Links to related documents in GovInfo.gov

National Park Service (NPS)

Women’s Rights National Historical Park
From National Park Service (NPS): "Women’s Rights National Historical Park tells the story of the first Women’s Rights Convention held in Seneca Falls, NY on July 19-20,1848. It is a story of struggles for civil rights, human rights, and equality, global struggles that continue today. The efforts of women’s rights leaders, abolitionists, and other 19th century reformers remind us that all people must be accepted as equals."

National Archives (NARA)

Remembering WWI - Women's Suffrage (NARA HistoryPin)
National Archives (NARA) HistoryPin.org collection: "Beginning in the mid-19th century, several generations of woman suffrage supporters lectured, wrote, marched, lobbied, and practiced civil disobedience to achieve what many Americans considered a radical change in the United States Constitution. Suffragists used tactics such as parades, silent vigils, and hunger strikes. The records of the National Archives and Records Administration reveal much of this struggle. This collection was compiled by the United States National Archives and Records Administration, and draws primarily from its nationwide holdings."

GODORT (Government Documents Roundtable of ALA)

Reading Lists

Institution's lists of reading - often for pleasure reading (as opposed to research) - including adult and children's books.

Read a Book -Woman Suffrage ALL-AGES Reading list
Includes a link to download the list.
Site description: "Commemorate the 100th anniversary (February 14, 2020) of the founding of the League of Women Voters and the 100th anniversary of Women's Suffrage (August 26, 2020) by reading a book about suffrage history or the continuing battle for voting rights.
Access the LWV of Ohio Woman Suffrage All-Ages Reading list [link on their page]. This book list was curated by Carol Lasser,Emerita Professor of History at Oberlin College, Dr.Treva Lindsey, Associate Professor at the Ohio State University, and Sarah Hedrick, Dayton Area children's librarian."

Exhibits

An Unfinished Revolution: The Woman’s Suffrage Centennial
Digital Exhibit from Greenwich Historical Society. Click link to enter the exhibit.
Rise Up, Sisters!
Click on link to see digitsl version of banners.
Site: "In honor of the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th amendment, the Connecticut Women's Hall of Fame (CWHF) and the Connecticut Historical Society (CHS) are working together with the support of CTHumanities to provide Connecticut citizens with two identical copies of a 6-panel freestanding banner exhibit."
more...less...
Site: "This display will chronicle the diverse group of Connecticut women who were instrumental in the movement for woman suffrage. The banners will tell many different stories, from the Smith sisters of Glastonbury who spoke up about injustices against women and helped to spark others to follow in their footsteps, to Alice Paul, who put her life on the line to force the issue on a national level and whose tenacity helped to sway public opinion in the final hours. These panels will be available for loan free of charge to libraries, schools, civic groups, women’s groups, and other organizations across the state in 2020 and beyond."