LibGuides Home: Woman Suffrage: Home

Banner for C.W.S.A. Greenwich

Banner - Litchfield County C.W.S.A.

Banner CWSA Votes for Women

Pennant Votes for Women

Votes for Women Pin

Sash - Votes for Women

Inez Milholland Boissevain

Woman Suffrage

The 19^th Amendment gave women the right to vote throughout the entire United States. It passed in Congress in 1919 and was ratified by the necessary 36 states by August, 1920.

The Connecticut General Assembly (CGA) passed a public act in 1893, An Act Concerning the Right of Women to Vote for School Officers, that enabled women "to vote at any meeting held for the purpose of choosing any officer of schools or for any educational purpose under the general or special laws of this state."

At the time, the CGA convened during odd numbered years, and was not scheduled to convene in 1920. At first Governor Marcus Holcomb would not call a special session, as he did not consider the passage of the 19th Amendment an emergency (a requirement of Connecticut Constitution to call a special session). On September 14, 1920, a special session of the CGA was held and Connecticut became the 37th state to ratify the 19th Amendment.

Women's Suffrage (CTDA)
Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) collection includes selected resources from the Connecticut State Library's collections related to women's suffrage.
Connecticut Suffrage Centennial
WayBack Machine archived website of the committee launched by the Secretary of the State in observance of 100th anniversary of 19th Amendment.
Connecticut and the 19th Amendment (NPS)
From the National Park Service (NPS)
Connecticut Collections at the Museum of Connecticut History
The Museum has many physical exhibits, some of which include Woman Suffrage.
more...less...
Site:" "This exhibit is a sampling of the museum’s artifact holdings representing its three major collecting themes: Connecticut government, State military history and State industrial history."" "Among the objects relating to the early governance of the state are Connecticut’s original manuscripts of the U.S. Declaration of Independence, U.S. Constitution and Articles of Confederation, a display of political signs and buttons, women’s suffrage banners and a voting booth from the early 20th century. Historic photographs and personal mementos linked with prominent Connecticut political figures include a photo of the legendary showman P.T. Barnum, who served several terms in the State legislature and as mayor of Bridgeport."
Voices of Woman Suffrage (CRIS)
Site: "CRIS Radio is collaborating with the Connecticut State Archives, The Connecticut Historical Society and Hartford Public Library to bring Voices of Woman Suffrage to life."
more...less...
Site: "The project is made possible by a grant from the Pomeroy Foundation.

The collection of items that CRIS has put into audio format for this project includes letters, essays, meeting minutes, leaflets and news articles."
Women's Suffrage (CHI Featured Topics)
Connecticut History Illustrated (CHI) collections may include items from CSL Archives.
more...less...
Connecticut History Illustrated (CHI): "The Connecticut History Illustrated (CHI) Women’s Suffrage featured topic brings together and provides an access point to selected resources from CTDA contributor organizations that pertain to the women’s suffrage movement in Connecticut, and the attainment of the vote in 1920. It includes links to public and organizational records, oral histories, photographs, newspaper articles and other artifacts from the post-Civil-War period through 1920, organized into format- and topic-based sub-collections. In addition to entire collections, such as the Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association records, selected resources from those collections, such as photographs and letters, are also included in the relevant sub-collections. The creation of this collection is one element of the Connecticut Collections Alliance project funded by Connecticut Humanities, which seeks to make resources in Connecticut cultural heritage organizations more accessible, discoverable and usable for a wide range of audiences."

Connecticut State Library Resources on Woman Suffrage

These are some examples of what the Connecticut State Library has in its collections. Other pages in this guide will have more detailed information. We have many resources not listed, so please be sure to check our catalog, Primo; look at our databases (especially newspapers of the time); and ask a librarian. See links in left side of page.

Connecticut State Resources

The items listed below are found in several different Connecticut State Library (CSL) collections.
This is not an inclusive list of suffrage related state documents and records in the CSL collection. It focuses on CSL items that are available online. Many federal government publications are available either freely online or through our subscription databases. There are many more resources available for researchers onsite. As always staff is available to or assistance.

Online

Public Act 19-152 AN ACT DESIGNATING VARIOUS DAYS AND WEEKS (CGA)
Connecticut General Assembly (CGA) description: AN ACT DESIGNATING VARIOUS DAYS AND WEEKS.
To designate various days and weeks in order to honor or recognize certain groups or raise awareness regarding certain diseases and to create a Centennial Commission on Women's Suffrage account.
An Act Extending the Suffrage to Women
Special Session 1920. Chapter 1

Election Laws Of The State Of Connecticut Passed At The Special Session Of The General Assembly, September 14, And September 21, 1920
Call Number: Online and Cage Conn Doc EL25L 1920 Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1920
Online through the Library of Congress

Selected Public Acts 1920 Sept. 23 Special Session
Selected public acts from the September 23, 1920 CGS Special Session regarding woman suffrage.

Joint Standing Committee Hearings on Woman Suffrage. 1905-1917. Connecticut General Assembly
Digitized copies of the hearing transcripts that are available at the Connecticut State Library.
Connecticut General Assembly Papers, Engrossed Bills (RG002:013)
Box 53: Bills and resolutions considered, passed and rejected by the General Assembly during two special sessions held in September, 1920 concerning the proposed amendment.
more...less...
The 19th amendment had been ratified by 35 of the required 36 states after the State of Washington voted in favor on March 22, 1920. Connecticut was on the list of "hopeful" states to be the 36th state to pass the amendment. On August 26, Tennessee voted in favor by a margin of one vote. Governor Marcus H. Holcomb, concerned about the validity of the 1920 presidential election if the proper procedures for women to register to vote were not in place, called for a special session of the General Assembly on September 14 to set up the necessary legal mechanism for women to register to vote in the upcoming November election. The General Assembly, however, went beyond the session call and the governor's wishes and passed a bill ratifying the 19th amendment. Out of feared of a court challenge to the legality of the General Assembly’s vote, the governor called for a second special session for the purpose of ratification. The legislature met on September 21st and ratified the bill twice more.
Governor Marcus H. Holcomb, Numerical Files (RG005:022)
Box 276: Subject Correspondence. Folder 118: Correspondence from representatives of various states, organizations, and individuals to Governor Marcus H. Holcomb trying to convince him to hold or not hold a special session of the legislature in order to ratify the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution giving women the right to vote

Federal Suffrage Amendment, Petitions to Gov. Marcus H. Holcomb, 1920

In Archives, RG 005 Office of the Governor, Subgroup 22. Marcus H. Holcomb, 1915-1921

Bound volumes of correspondence calling special session of the General Assembly to ratify the 19th amendment.
	A-C	Vol. 1
	D-J	Vol. 2
	K-S	Vol. 3
	T-Z	Vol. 4
	Miscellaneous	Vol. 5

1909 Chpt 96
An Act Amending an Act Concerning the Qualifications of Women Voters

An Act Concerning the Right of Women to Vote for School Officers
1893 Connecticut Public Act
Voices of Woman Suffrage (CRIS)
Site: "CRIS Radio is collaborating with the Connecticut State Archives, The Connecticut Historical Society and Hartford Public Library to bring Voices of Woman Suffrage to life."
more...less...
Site: "The project is made possible by a grant from the Pomeroy Foundation.

The collection of items that CRIS has put into audio format for this project includes letters, essays, meeting minutes, leaflets and news articles."

Suggestions of A.F. Mitchell, to the Committee, on the Merits of a Bill Granting Suffrage to Women on All Educational and School Matters, Referred to Them by the General Assembly for Their Careful Consideration and Report. by Mitchell, A. F. and Connecticut. General Assembly. Committee Granting Suffrage to Women on All Educational and School Matters.
Call Number: Conn Doc G252ws mi and online through our library catalog
Publication Date: January, 1883
Report of the Joint Special Committee on Woman's Suffrage by Connecticut. General Assembly. Joint Special Committee on Woman's Suffrage
Call Number: Conn Doc G259ma Item does not circulate. In-house use only.
Publication Date: [1870]
Available online through our catalog
Report of the Committee on Woman Suffrage. Minority Report. by Connecticut. General Assembly. Joint Special Committee on Woman's Suffrage, author.
Call Number: Conn Doc G259mi Item does not circulate. Online available through our catalog
Publication Date: [1870]
Minority report. "May Session, A.D. 1870"
Online CTDA
Susan B. Anthony, the Amistad and Civil Rights Act, historical documents [videorecording] by CT·N
Call Number: CT·N 3906
Publication Date: 2004

State Law Resources from American Women: Resources from the Law Library (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) site. Addresses certain state laws and the ramifications for women through U.S. history.

Finding Aids

RG 002:013, Engrossed Bills, 1859-1994
Archives Finding Aid
more...less...
The finding aid is online to help researchers. It does not mean that all contents have been digitized.
Office of the Governor, 1630-2018 (RG005)
Finding Aid to State Archives Record Group 005, Records of the Office of the Governor

Federal Law

For additional resources, see pages on left hand menu.

19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Women's Right to Vote (1920)
From The Our Documents initiative - includes a summary as well as links to image of the document, text version and more.
more...less...
The Our Documents initiative is a cooperative effort among National History Day, The National Archives and Records Administration, and USA Freedom Corps.
19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Primary Documents in American History (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) Digital Collection site : "The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of primary source materials associated with the 19th Amendment and the women's suffrage movement, including manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, sheet music, and broadsides. Provided below is a link to the home page for each relevant digital collection along with selected highlights."
Women’s Suffrage Rights. Nineteenth Amendment
CONAN Rev. 2014 from GovInfo.gov
S. Doc. 112-9 - Nineteenth Amendment - Women's Suffrage Rights
Download links on the left.
From GovInfo.gov - from the Constitution Annotated Centennial Edition Interim Edition: Analysis of Cases Decided by the Supreme Court of the United States to August 26, 2017, S. Doc. 112-9.
Joint resolution expressing the sense of Congress with respect to the women suffragists who fought for and won the right of women to vote in the United States
Public Law 109-49 (119 Stat. 457)

Our collections have many resources - these are a few that are highlighted. There are many more that have not been digitized.

Connecticut Archives

If you are not familiar with using archives, please feel free to ask us for assistance.

Online Items

Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association Records (RG101)
Selected items from the organizational records of the Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association (CWSA), which was organized at a meeting in Roberts’ Opera House, Hartford, October 28-29, 1869. The Association carried on a spirited and energetic campaign to obtain the vote for women, first in school and local elections and then on a state and national level, working in collaboration with many other equal rights, equal franchise, and constitutional union groups. After achieving its primary aim with the ratification by Connecticut of the 19th Amendment on September 14, 1920, the Association voted to dissolve on June 3, 1921. The collection includes records of meetings, membership and attendance registers, correspondence, reports, publications, photographs, newspaper clippings and political and legislative campaign materials.
Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association clippings, reports, correspondence and photographs, 1872-1921 (RG101)
Digitized items from RG 101 Box 4.
Reports, newspaper clippings, newsletters, constitution and by-laws (copy), photographs, and letters related to the Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association.
more...less...
See also RG 101 Box 13 link
League of Women Voters of Connecticut Records (Restricted) (RG101)
Digitized items from the Archives RG 101, Box 13.
more...less...
Most of the contents of this box were removed from Box 4 because of their historic value or fragility. What remains in this box that are not copied in Box 4 are some clippings, a list of officers, the National American Woman Suffrage Association constitution, and one issue of a newspaper entitled "Labor".
League of Women Voters of Connecticut, Interview Notebooks (Gladys Bragdon) (RG106:006)
The Connecticut League of Women Voters (CLWV) was founded at New Haven, Connecticut on January 18, 1921 as the successor to the Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association (CWSA) after the ratification of the 19th amendment to the United States Constitution giving women the right to vote. The non-partisan league was organized to educate newly enfranchised women voters and use the voting power of its members to press for legislative reforms. The league spent its first sixteen years advocating for the rights of women to serve on a jury in Connecticut. The records consist of minutes, administrative records, correspondence, press files, scrapbooks, and notebooks. The records are arranged into five groups which document the organization and activities of the League of Women Voters of Connecticut including minutes, administrative records, correspondence, press files, scrapbooks, and notebooks."
more...less...
This notebook compiled by (Mrs. R.) Gladys Bragdon contains handwritten entries of interviews conducted with approximately 129 prominent men both in and outside local and state government about their position and views on giving women the right to vote. The majority of the men are from the New Haven area. The entries include name, job title or position in government, party affiliation, petitions signed, interests, changed views, and support for the 19th Amendment. She noted if the man was worth speaking to again or if his mind was made up. The notebook is arranged alphabetically by last name. The notebooks are also available online in Flicker
Gladys Bragdon Suffrage Interviews Notebook Available in Flickr (RG106)
The Gladys Bragdon Suffrage Interviews Notebook, 1918, (RG 106) is now available online at our Flickr site. The notebook contains handwritten entries of interviews conducted with approximately 129 prominent men both in and outside local and state government about their position and views on giving women the right to vote.
more...less...
"Bragdon recorded in the small black notebook the men’s names, job title or position in government, party affiliation, if they signed a petition,Gladys Bragdon Notebook, Section B, Page 01 interests, changed views, and if they supported the federal amendment. The interviews helped the Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association (CWSA) and the New Haven Equal Franchise League (NHEFL) gather information about who and who did not support voting rights for women."
On March 23, 2011, the League of Women Voters of Connecticut donated a notebook containing a record of suffrage interviews to the Connecticut State Library at a ceremony held in Memorial Hall of the Museum of Connecticut History.
Voices of Woman Suffrage (CRIS)
Site: "CRIS Radio is collaborating with the Connecticut State Archives, The Connecticut Historical Society and Hartford Public Library to bring Voices of Woman Suffrage to life."
more...less...
Site: "The project is made possible by a grant from the Pomeroy Foundation.

The collection of items that CRIS has put into audio format for this project includes letters, essays, meeting minutes, leaflets and news articles."

Finding Aids

These are standard archive tools for researching items within specific record groups (RG) or picture groups (PG).

Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association Inventory of Records (RG101)
Archives Finding Aid
more...less...
Overview The Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association was organized at a meeting in Roberts’ Opera House, Hartford, October 28-29, 1869. The Association carried on a spirited and energetic campaign to obtain the vote for women, first in school and local elections and then on a state and national level, working in collaboration with many other equal rights, equal franchise, and constitutional union groups. Its primary aim having been achieved with the ratification by Connecticut of the 19th Amendment on...
Dates: 1869-1921
League of Women Voters of Connecticut (RG106)
Archives Finding Aid: "The records were arranged into five series which document the organization and activities of the League of Women Voters of Connecticut. The series include Minutes, Administrative Records, Correspondence, Press Files, Scrapbooks, and Notebooks."
more...less...
"The Connecticut League of Women Voters (CLWV) was founded at New Haven, Connecticut on January 18, 1921. The league was formed as the initiative of the Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association (CWSA) came to an end with ratification of the 19th amendment to the United States Constitution giving women the right to vote. The non-partisan league was organized to educate newly enfranchised women voters and in turn use the voting power of members to press for legislative reforms. The league spent its first sixteen years advocating for the rights of women to serve on a jury in Connecticut. The records consist of minutes, administrative records, correspondence, press files, scrapbooks, and notebooks."

Woman Suffrage

More Info

Contact Us

Banner for C.W.S.A. Greenwich

Banner - Litchfield County C.W.S.A.

Banner CWSA Votes for Women

Pennant Votes for Women

Votes for Women Pin

Sash - Votes for Women

Inez Milholland Boissevain

Woman Suffrage

Connecticut State Library Resources on Woman Suffrage

Connecticut State Resources

Online

Finding Aids

Federal Law

Connecticut Archives

Online Items

Finding Aids