LibGuides Home: Woman Suffrage: Articles

Centennial

The Connecticut State Library is a participating member of

Connecticut Suffrage Centennial

Voices of Woman Suffrage (CRIS)
Site: "CRIS Radio is collaborating with the Connecticut State Archives, The Connecticut Historical Society and Hartford Public Library to bring Voices of Woman Suffrage to life."

more... less...

Site: "The project is made possible by a grant from the Pomeroy Foundation.

The collection of items that CRIS has put into audio format for this project includes letters, essays, meeting minutes, leaflets and news articles."
Women's Vote Centennial
National 19th Amendment Centennial site by Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission

more... less...

Site has been preserved in the CyberCemetery at UNT.

Contact Us

Government Information
Reference Services

Selected Databases

These are only a few suggested databases. Be sure to check other ones on our A-Z list, especially newspapers.

Many subscription databases require a card from the Connecticut State Library. They will have an image of a blue library card.

Civil Rights and Social Justice
This HeinOnline database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more.
LGBTQ+ Rights
The LGBTQ+ Rights database is a HeinOnline collection of materials relating to the gay rights movement in America, including an interactive timeline, as well as subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, reports, and more. This collection charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.

Selected Articles

An example of some of the articles available at the Connecticut State Library and/or through our research databases. Please keep in mind that not all articles are online and/or available with remote access.

Inclusion in this guide does not mean the Connecticut State Library agrees, or disagrees, with a viewpoint.

Connecticut

Will Black Women be Celebrated on the Anniversary of Suffrage?
CTMirror CT VIEWPOINTS by STEVE THORNTON FEBRUARY 19, 2020
The Work Must Be Done Women of Color and the Right to Vote (CHS)
Connecticut Historical Society (CHS)
more...less...
previously at https://chs.org/WOCVotes/
The Connecticut Woman Suffrage Association Formed
From Today in Connecticut History Blog. Posted October 28, 2019
A Feeling of Solidarity: Labor Unions and Suffragists Team Up
From Connecticut History.org, March 7, 2015
Connecticut Is Stage for Campaign
From Chronicling America: Omaha daily bee. (Omaha [Neb.]), 02 May 1920.
Describes plans for rally in Hartford on May 7th
Today in History - January 11. Alice Paul (LOC)
Library of Congress (LOC) Today in History blog.
Women of the Nation Get the Ballot. Secretary of State Colby Proclaims Suffrage Today, The Bridgeport Times and Evening Farmer. (Bridgeport, Connecticut), August 26, 1920. (LOC)
From Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers. Front page of The Bridgeport Times and Evening Farmer.

Connecticut History Review Call Number: Stacks F91 .C668

"Ballots, Bandages, and Books: Connecticut Suffragists, Citizenship Education, and Women's Activism in the World War I Era." by Kelly Marino. Connecticut History Review 56, no. 1 (2017): 40-67. doi:10.5406/connhistrevi.56.1.0040. Call Number: Stacks F91 .C668
"Marching Shoulder to Shoulder: New Life in the Connecticut Woman Suffrage Movement" by Jessica D. Jenkins. Connecticut History Review, Vol. 50, No. 2 (Fall 2011), pp. 131-145 Call Number: Stacks F91 .C668

Connecticut Explored Call number F 104 .H3 H 64

Connecticut Explored website
Established in 2002 as the Hog River Journal. Site: "Through compelling stories and intriguing images, Connecticut Explored explores the state’s cultural heritage with the aim of revealing connections between our past, present, and future."
"We are published by a consortium of organizational partners that represent the best heritage, educational, and arts organizations in the state. That’s your assurance that this a high quality—and highly readable—magazine."
Connecticut Explored - Articles on Women and 100th Anniversary of Women’s Suffrage issue
This page links to the anniversary edition, and also includes previous articles on the topic.
Summer 2020, VOLUME 18/NUMBER 3
See web site for list of articles.
Also in the library's collection.
Connecticut Explored - 100th Anniversary of Women’s Suffrage issue
Summer 2020, VOLUME 18/NUMBER 3
See web site for list of articles.
Also in the library's collection.
Uncovering African American Women’s Fight for Suffrage
Connecticut Explored, Summer 2020
Connecticut Explored - Politics Issue
Spring 2016, VOLUME 14/NUMBER 2
This issue has several articles "about voting rights and civic engagement" (p.9), including articles on woman suffrage. See web page for list of articles.
The Long and Bumpy Road to Women's Suffrage
by Jessica D. Jenkins Connecticut Explored Volume 14, no.2, Spring 2016, pages 24-29 Call number F 104 .H3 H 64
Senator Brandegee Stonewalls Women's Suffrage
Senator Brandegee Stonewalls Women's Suffrage. by Christopher A. Griffin and Henry S. Cohn. Connecticut Explored Volume 14, no.2, Spring 2016, pages 30-35
Audacious Alliance: Mary Townsend Seymour
by Mark H. Jones (c) Connecticut Explored. Summer 2003.
more...less...
Article: "In early 20th century Hartford, Mary Townsend Seymour fought battles and formed daring alliances to promote the cause of local African Americans. She was a charter member of the Hartford chapter of the NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) and, during the First World War, served in various war relief groups. Her public life even extended into the arenas of union organizing and politics–she was the first African American woman to run for state office. The years 1917-1920 were Seymour’s most concentrated in terms of her public advocacy, but she remained influential in Hartford’s African American community for decades afterward. Hers is the remarkable story of the rise of an African American woman into a position of community leadership during the early decades of the 20th century."
Women’s Suffrage: Setting the Watch Fires of Liberty
By Mark Jones and Nancy O. Albert, Connecticut Explored, Fall 2005

Additional

Woman Suffrage in New England (NPS)
National Park Service (NPS) article by Heather Munroe Prescott
Between Two Worlds: Black Women and the Fight for Voting Rights
From the National Park Service (NPS) series Suffrage in America: The 15th and 19th Amendments
Heroes but Not Saints. How should we judge reformers and radicals who were also racists?
by Peter Dreier — September 13, 2018
"The discussion of racism within the women’s suffrage and other reform movements raises a larger question: What standards should we use to judge progressives and radicals who came of age 150, 100, or even 50 years ago? Should we hold them to today’s standards? If not, then what?"
Opinion - How the Suffrage Movement Betrayed Black Women (NYT)
New York Times Opinion piece by Brent Staples, July 28, 2018
Controversial Monument to Women’s Suffrage Redesigned to Include Sojourner Truth
Zachary Small on HyperAllergis site, August 13, 2019
The Suffragettes Weren’t Just White, Middle-class Women Throwing Stones
By Sarah Jackson. The Guardian, Mon 12 Oct 2015
(England)
On News of a Presidential Pardon For Susan B. Anthony on August 18, 2020. Objection! Mr. President, Susan B. Anthony must decline your offer of a pardon today.
The National Susan B. Anthony Museum & House response to Presidential pardon of Susan B. Anthony.
Statement from the Press Secretary Regarding the Pardon of Susan B. Anthony. Issued on: August 18, 2020 (White House)
White House Press Statement on President Donald J. Trump issuing an Executive Grant of Clemency (Full Pardon) posthumously to Susan B. Anthony. Archived at The National Archives.
Petition of Susan B. Anthony, praying for the remission of a fine imposed upon her by the United States Court for the Northern District of New York, for illegal voting. January 22, 1874. -- Referred to the Committee on the Judiciary and ordered to be prin
Date January 22, 1874
Session 43rd Congress, 1st Session
Volume Serial Set Vol. No. 1584, Session Vol. No.1
Document S.Misc.Doc. 39
SENATORS TO VOTE ON SUFFRAGE TODAY; Fate of Susan B. Anthony Amendment Hangs in Balance on Eve of Final Test. BOTH SIDES ARE CONFIDENT But All Concede That Result Will Be Close--Women Throng Capitol to Push Campaign.
Special to The New York Times.SEPT. 26, 1918.
Also available through our subscription databases.
Secrets of the Serial Set: Susan B. Anthony and Women’s Suffrage
HeinOnline Blog post.
We have the Serial Set in print as well the content in several databases.
more...less...
You must have a card from the Connecticut State Library to access items within the HeinOnline database.
How Midwestern Suffragists Won the Vote by Attacking Immigrants
smithsonian.com By Sara Egge, Zócalo Public Square, September 17, 2018
The Very Queer History of the Suffrage Movement
by Wendy Rouse. The Women's Vote Centennial blog post. Moved to National Park Service site.
These 19 Black Women Fought for Voting Rights
Article by Nsenga K. Burton. Special to USA TODAY. Feb. 8, 2020.

Current Discourse

Current Discussion and Discourse

Articles

Audacious Alliance: Mary Townsend Seymour
by Mark H. Jones (c) Connecticut Explored. Summer 2003.
more...less...
Article: "In early 20th century Hartford, Mary Townsend Seymour fought battles and formed daring alliances to promote the cause of local African Americans. She was a charter member of the Hartford chapter of the NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) and, during the First World War, served in various war relief groups. Her public life even extended into the arenas of union organizing and politics–she was the first African American woman to run for state office. The years 1917-1920 were Seymour’s most concentrated in terms of her public advocacy, but she remained influential in Hartford’s African American community for decades afterward. Hers is the remarkable story of the rise of an African American woman into a position of community leadership during the early decades of the 20th century."
Between Two Worlds: Black Women and the Fight for Voting Rights
From the National Park Service (NPS) series Suffrage in America: The 15th and 19th Amendments
Controversial Monument to Women’s Suffrage Redesigned to Include Sojourner Truth
Zachary Small on HyperAllergis site, August 13, 2019
Heroes but Not Saints. How should we judge reformers and radicals who were also racists?
by Peter Dreier — September 13, 2018
"The discussion of racism within the women’s suffrage and other reform movements raises a larger question: What standards should we use to judge progressives and radicals who came of age 150, 100, or even 50 years ago? Should we hold them to today’s standards? If not, then what?"
Opinion - How the Suffrage Movement Betrayed Black Women (NYT)
New York Times Opinion piece by Brent Staples, July 28, 2018
The Suffragettes Weren’t Just White, Middle-class Women Throwing Stones
By Sarah Jackson. The Guardian, Mon 12 Oct 2015
(England)
These 19 Black Women Fought for Voting Rights
Article by Nsenga K. Burton. Special to USA TODAY. Feb. 8, 2020.
Will Black Women be Celebrated on the Anniversary of Suffrage?
CTMirror CT VIEWPOINTS by STEVE THORNTON FEBRUARY 19, 2020
What Allies Today Could Learn from 'Suffragents' Who Helped Women Win the Vote
By Eileen Reynolds on New York University website, Aug 10, 2017.
more...less...
Site: "Journalism professor Brooke Kroeger finds lessons for contemporary activists in the story of the largely forgotten Men's League for Woman Suffrage."