Skip to main content

Statistics for Connecticut Public Libraries: Annual Report

Start here for information on obtaining and using library statistics for your library, and for libraries throughout Connecticut and the United States.

Annual Report Information

The Annual Report for FY 2020"Because CT's Libraries Want to Remain Ahead of the Curve"  Libraries Transform

The FY 2020 report form will be available in mid-July.

All Connecticut public libraries, including non-principal public libraries, are expected to complete the Annual Report form before the deadline of 4:00 pm, Monday, November 16, 2020. The Report is the source for all information provided to the federal government (IMLS) regarding public libraries in Connecticut. The Report is also the source of information for Connecticut's Public Libraries: A Statistical Profile and other resources available in this Guide.

How to Complete the Report Form

  • A list of the questions and instructions/definitions for the FY 2020 report are provided below, so that you can prepare answers in advance.
  • Review the video on "How to use the Annual Report Form" or the "2020 Guide to Completing the Annual Report" linked below. They cover the same information.
  • When you are ready to complete the report, download the 2020 Excel (.xlsx) report form linked below.
  • Return the completed Annual Report form by email to maria.bernier@ct.gov by 4:00 pm on Monday, November 16, 2020.
  • Contact me (Maria.Bernier@ct.gov, 860-704-2204) if you have any problems with the report form.

Online info session about changes to 2020 Annual Report:

Table of Contents:

Additional New COVID-19-Related Questions from IMLS 

  • Number of Weeks a Library Closed Due to COVID-19. This is the number of weeks during the year that due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, a library building was physically closed and the public could not enter, when it otherwise would have been open. [NOTE: Round to the nearest whole number. If building did not close to the public due to the pandemic, enter zero. An library is considered physically closed when the public cannot access any library buildings or bookmobiles, regardless of staff access. A building can be physically closed but still offer virtual or “curbside” services outside the building.]
  • Number of Weeks a Library Had Limited Occupancy Due to COVID-19. This is the number of weeks during the year that a library implemented limited public occupancy practices for in-person services at the library building in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. [NOTE: Round to the nearest whole number. If building did not have a limited occupancy or similar practice due to the pandemic, enter zero. Limited public occupancy practices can include limits on the number of public members inside the physical building, appointment only on-site library use, visitor time limits, closed stacks or meeting rooms, etc.]
  • Were any of the library’s outlets physically closed to the public for any period of time due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: An outlet is considered physically closed when the public cannot access any library buildings or bookmobiles, regardless of staff access. A building can be physically closed but still offer virtual or “curbside” services outside the building.]
  • Did library staff continue to provide services to the public during any portion of the period when the building was physically closed to the public due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Services to the public can include activities such as answering calls, emails, or texts with answers to information requests from the public; hosting virtual programming or recorded content; offering ‘curbside’ collection access; managing IT services to ensure external Wi-Fi access; and providing other types of online and electronic services, regardless of the location of library staff when they provided services (i.e., working from home or in the building that was closed to the public)]
  • Did the library add or increase access to electronic collection materials due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Types of electronic materials include e-books, audio and video downloadables, e-serials (including journals), government documents, databases (including locally mounted, full text or not), electronic files, reference tools, scores, maps, or pictures in electronic or digital format, including materials digitized by the library. These materials can include those the library did not pay for itself, such as those provided through the state library administrative agency, library consortium, or vendor at no cost.]
  • Did the library allow users to complete registration for library cards online without having to come to the library before the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Electronic library cards provide users access to electronic collection materials and databases without having to be physically present at a library outlet to register for the card. Refer to the definition of Registered User.]
  • Did the library allow users to complete registration for library cards online without having to come to the library during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Online library cards provide users access to electronic collection materials and databases without having to be physically present at a library outlet to register for the card. Refer to the definition of Registered User.]
  • Did the library provide reference service via the Internet or telephone when the building was physically closed to the public during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Refer to the definition of Reference Transactions . Include references service provided via email, chat, and text]
  • Did the library provide ‘outside’ service for circulation of physical materials at one or more outlets during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Includes any contactless or minimal contact provision of circulation items. Similar terms could include curbside, vestibule, or porch pickups or drop-offs, delivery,drive-thru, etc.]
  • Did the library provide live, virtual programs via the Internet during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Live, virtual programs are conducted via a Web conferencing or Webinar platform such as Facebook, YouTube, or Zoom, during which a library staff member (or other party sponsored by the library) is presenting to or interacting with an audience in real-time.]
  • Did the library create and provide recordings of programs via the Internet during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Recorded content includes video or audio recordings created by a library staff person (or other party sponsored by the library) and posted to a video or audio hosting platform for the audience to view or listen to on-demand. Do not include promotional or marketing content.]
  • Did the library provide WiFi Internet access to users outside the building at one or more outlets before the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Includes “parking lot access,” bookmobiles or other mobile facilities with WiFi capabilities.]
  • Did the library intentionally provide Wi-Fi Internet access to users outside the building at one or more outlets during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Includes “parking lot access,” bookmobiles or other mobile facilities with WiFi capabilities.]
  • Did the library increase access to Wi-Fi Internet access to users outside the building at one or more outlets during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Includes “parking lot access,” bookmobiles or other mobile facilities with Wi-Fi capabilities. Increasing access could mean removing restrictions on sign-in authorizations, expanding router reach, leaving Wi-Fi service on 24 hours, installing or moving access points to promote or improve external access, etc.]
  • Did library staff work for other government agencies or nonprofit organizations instead of, or in addition to, their normal duties during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic? Yes/No [NOTE: Include reassignments to other government agencies (e.g., to process unemployment claims), as well as other activities such as the use of library staff to distribute school lunches and other materials. Volunteering during work hours would count but volunteering off hours would not.]

New Connecticut Questions on Virtual Programs, Virtual Program Attendance, and Views of Program Recordings

Questions 2.20a, 2.22a, 2.24a, 2.26a: Number of Virtual Programs 

Explanation: Virtual programs are delivered via an online platform or software such as Zoom, Facebook Live, YouTube, Instagram or Discord. The programs could be offered live and/or as recordings. Count a virtual program, whether live, recorded, or both, as 1 program. Count these in the same age ranges (children, YA/teens, adults, other) as you usually count programs. Starting on July 1, 2020, count live programs separately from recorded programs, as they'll be reported separately in the 2021 Annual Report.

Questions 2.21a, 2.23a, 2.25a, 2.27a: Virtual Program Attendance 

Explanation: Count the number of unique viewers if possible or count peak usage views (called "peak concurrent viewers" in YouTube or "peak live viewers" in Facebook). Count these in the same age ranges (children, YA/teens, adults, other) as you usually count program attendance.

For live programs: Count the audience while the program is live as attendance. Do not count views of a recording as attendance. (Enter recording views in new Questions 2.33-2.36.) 

For pre-recorded programs such as story times & craft programs that are scheduled to run at certain times (say from 10-11 am): If a count is possible, count the views of the program during its scheduled time as program attendance. Otherwise count recording views in questions 2.33 through 2.36.

Questions 2.33-2.36 Views of Program Recordings

Explanation: Views of programs produced, recorded, and posted online by the library for watching at any time. Capture a final count of the number of views of each recording as of June 30 (if the recording stays up that long) or as of the date you remove the recording. If you posted a video to multiple library social media accounts (e.g. children's page and main library page) or to multiple platforms, then add the views in each account and each platform. Count these in the same age ranges (children, YA/teens, adults, other) as you usually count programs.

Other new questions

Question 1.30. If your library offered curbside pickup this year, enter the start and end dates of this service. If your library did not offer curbside pickup, enter N/A.

Question 2.16a. Reference Transaction Reporting Method: Regarding the number of reference transactions you entered, is this an:
_ annual count
_ annual estimate based on a typical week or weeks.

Question 4.0. Does your library automatically renew physical items? Y/N 

Question 6.16. Optional: If your library offered curbside or outdoor service, enter the number of transactions/appointments.

Question 6.17. Optional: If your library offered curbside or outdoor service, enter the number of patrons who used this service.

Clarifications to current questions

Question 2.1 and 2.2a Annual Public Service Hours: Count the hours when the library building is open to the public. Unless you keep an actual count, take 52 weeks multiplied by the # of hours open in a typical week, deduct any summer hour reduction, and deduct any emergency or planned closings that last more than 2 days. (Note: Minor variations in scheduled public service hours need not be included.) Do not include hours when staff were working in the building, providing curbside service, holding online programs, etc. 

Question 2.2 and 2.2b Total Number of Weeks the library building was open to the public. (Count all weeks the library was open for at least two days.)

Question 2.5: Total Annual Library Visits to June 30, 2020 - this is the total number of persons entering the library for whatever purpose during the year.

Question 2.7 Regarding the number of library visits you entered, is this an:
_ annual count
_ annual estimate based on a typical week or weeks

Question 2.16 Reference Transactions – official revised definition from IMLS 

Reference Transactions are information consultations in which library staff recommend, interpret, evaluate, and/or use information resources to help others to meet particular information needs.
Reference transactions do not include formal instruction or exchanges that provide assistance with locations, schedules, equipment, supplies, or policy statements. 
NOTES:
(1) A reference transaction includes information and referral service, unscheduled individual instruction and assistance in using information sources (including websites and computer-assisted instruction).
(2) Count Readers Advisory questions as reference transactions.
(3) Information sources include (a) printed and nonprinted material; (b) machinereadable databases (including computer-assisted instruction); (c) the library’s own catalogs and other holdings records; (d) other libraries and institutions through communication or referral; and (e) persons both inside and outside the library.
(4) When a staff member uses information gained from previous use of information sources to answer a question, the transaction is reported as a reference transaction even if the source is not consulted again.
(5) If a contact includes both reference and directional services, it should be reported as one reference transaction.
(6) Duration should not be an element in determining whether a transaction is a reference transaction.
(7) Do not include transactions that include only a directional service, such as instruction for locating staff, library users, or physical features within the library. Examples of directional transactions include, “Where is the reference librarian? Where is Susan Smith? Where is the rest room? Where are the 600s? Can you help me make a photocopy?”

Questions 2.20, 2.22, 2.24, 2.26: Number of In-Person Programs 

Explanation: In-person programs are offered face-to-face in real time, with the presenter and attendees in a shared physical space. 

Questions 2.21, 2.23, 2.25, 2.27: In-Person Attendance 

Questions 2.26 and 2.27 "All Other Programs" includes intergenerational, family, and all-ages programs. 

Definition for questions 4.50 and 4.51 about ILL: “An interlibrary loan occurs when an item of library material, or a copy of the material, is made available by one library to another upon request. The item itself does not subsequently need to have been checked out or used by a library patron. The libraries involved must not be under the same administration. Do not include borrowIT CT, swaps, CLC media circuits, or Service Center loans. You should include patron placed holds if your library provides that service and consortium holds if your library is part of a network.” 

Deleted question

Question 3.4 Current serial subscriptions in print - no longer needed for national survey

State Aid has been suspended indefinitely

  • There has been no funding for State Aid in the FY2018 through FY2021 state budgets.
  • Connecticut public libraries are still required, by statute (CGS  Sec. 11-25 (a)), to submit an Annual Report.
  • borrowIT CT (Connecticard) funding is not affected by changes in State Aid funding, but only those libraries that submit their Annual Report by the deadline will be eligible for borrowIT reimbursement payments.

To obtain completed Annual Reports for your library from previous years, contact Maria Bernier (maria.bernier@ct.gov or 860-704-2204).

Interlibrary Loan Statistics

Public Libraries - use the Annual Report to submit their ILL stats.
ILL Monthly Worksheets (provided below) - to help libraries keep track of ILL stats:

State Data Coordinator

Maria Bernier's picture
Maria Bernier
Contact:
Middletown Library Service Center
786 South Main St.
Middletown, CT 06457
860-704-2204

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.