Help: Not sure how to use the CT ILL Loan Policy? The following may help answer your questions:
For this summer, I suggest that we use a "brief ILL form." In the CT ILL Loan Policy (in the box directly above), the "Pre-populated E-mail" column has a list of cells for "E-mail form." When you click an "E-mail form" cell in the policy, it should (theoretically) open an e-mail message and pre-populate the message with:
This feature unfortunately will not work with all e-mail programs. It seems to work with most desktop versions of Outlook, but I’m not sure about other e-mail programs.
If the "E-mail Form" links in the CT ILL Loan Policy don't work, you can try the methods below.
You can create a text file and put it on your desktop. When you need it, you can open an e-mail and copy/paste the text from the file into the body of your e-mail message. Tip: when you create the file, add your library's "Ship to" information right into the text file so you don't have to re-type it each time you use it.
You can create a "Returnables" text file with these fields in the file:
Title:
Author:
Format:
Shelf Location / Call Number:
Other Info (ISBN, OCLC number, if known, etc.):
Ship to (incl. Ccar #):
You can create a "Returnables" text file with these fields in the file:
Author of article:
Title of article:
Serial/Journal title:
Volume:
Issue:
Date:
Pages:
ISSN:
Other info (OCLC number, if known, etc.):
Ship to (incl. Fax):
You could copy and paste the fields immediately above (in the 'Text File' section) and make them your e-mail signature. When you open an e-mail message, you can then insert your signature which would be the brief ILL form. This works best if your e-mail system supports multiple signatures. Tip: when you create the signature, add your library's "Ship to" information right into the form so you don't have to re-type it each time you use it.
The 2 links below should pre-populate the "Subject" and body of an e-mail message (does not work with all e-mail programs):
The links below are Word templates for ILL FAX requests.If you need to FAX a request to another library you can use your current ILL fax form or you can use the template below. I suggest you download the template, input your library's information, including the Ship to and Ccar route, onto the FAX template and then save the document to your computer. When you need to use the FAX form, you won't
The full ALA ILL forms are in the box "Other ILL Forms" at the bottom of this page.
Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan on a Shoestring by
Written specifically for libraries facing budgetary constraints, limited resources and inadequate training, this invaluable guide outlines the time-management skills and technical ingenuity that will help transform Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and document delivery service into an efficient and organized operation. Author Emily Knox considers the unique challenges of ILL for the librarian juggling multiple roles, and provides a comprehensive overview of best practices, policies and service guidelines that can be easily and practically applied no matter how busy you are. Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan on a Shoestring provides a jargon-free breakdown of the laws, codes and regulations that govern ILL and document delivery policy decisions. There is guidance to help you develop compliant and cost effective policies, streamline borrowing and lending procedures, and optimize workflow. While there is a thorough overview of the field's newest time-saving technologies, Knox also explains the many ways in which smaller institutions can go paperless for less, with practical tips for using widely available office technology and free open source products to receive and track ILL and document delivery transactions. The book also includes helpful illustrations and appendices with templates for easily reproducible forms, as well as examples of best practices and real life policies used in both public and academic libraries.
Interlibrary Loan Practices Handbook, 3rd Edition by
In their definitive new Interlibrary Loan Practices Handbook, editors Weible and Janke clearly explain the complexities of getting materials for patrons from outside the library. This collection presents a complete view of the interlibrary loan (ILL) process, with contributions from all areas of the technical services community, providing Guidance on how to do ILL efficiently and effectively, with advice on how to be a considerate borrower and lender Details of preferred staffing and management techniques, showing how best practices can be implemented at any institution Discussion of important issues that can fall between the cracks, such as hidden copyright issues, and the logistics of lending internationally Consortia and other library partnerships are now sharing ever larger fractions of their collections, and this book gives library staff the tools necessary for a smoothly functioning ILL system.
Library Information and Resource Sharing by
Through the perspectives of interlibrary loan (ILL) specialists, this book examines what ILL departments are doing, the value of ILL librarians in the evolving library environment, and how library collections and services are being affected by new ILL policies. * Taps a knowledge base of more than a dozen ILL practitioners who offer diverse viewpoints on all that ILL specialists can do to help connect people and information * Enables library administrators, whose support ILL needs to succeed, to grasp how ILL is essential to fulfilling the information-sharing mission of all librarians * Emphasizes how the ever-increasing interconnections between ILL and other areas of library activity behoove non-ILL librarians to be more aware of emerging ILL developments
Resource Sharing Today by
Budget constraints challenge collection development in unprecedented ways. Collection development has increasingly become a cooperative effort among libraries in geographic proximity. When their own library doesn't have certain books or journals, users turn to interlibrary loan to obtain the resources they need. However, many library science degree programs don't cover interlibrary loan. Resource Sharing Today is a practical guide to resource sharing starting with the library across town and ending with libraries on the other side of the globe. Chapters cover everything from the ALA's interlibrary loan form to successful innovations such as Virginia Tech's ILLiad to New York's IDS (Information Delivery Service). Appendices include regional, state, national, and international ILL codes, ALA and IFLA forms, open access agreements, and purchase on demand plans.
This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.