Government Information
Reference Services
Eventually, these federal government documents will be uploaded on the Coltsville page on the National Park Service's website. At that point, files will be replaced with a link to their publications page.
Check the National Park Service web site for updated content.
= On-site at CT State Library
= Remote access with a CT State Library card
= Freely available resource
= Remote access for Connecticut public, K12, and academic libraries and their users.
Below is a list of selected databases that might be helpful. See our complete list of databases here:
Public policy issues from Congressional Research Service. Coverage: CRS reports, 1916 - ; Committee Prints, 1830 -. Updated continuously. National and international.
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
Find U.S. Federal government information from 1744 to present that aggregates foundational governmental document indexes and current collections to create a single index to U.S. government publications. Many collections include links to full text. Includes GPO and non-GPO distributed publications.
Each year covers activities of U.S. Congress with review and analysis of major legislation and policy for the congressional session. Arranged in thematic chapters; ability to browse by subject, decade, table of contents, policy tracker. Tables cover voting, interest group ratings and more.
A HeinOnline digitized collection of the bound and daily versions of the Congressional Record, and its predecessors. Coverage: 1789-.
This Readex database provides reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Coverage: 1817-1980. For online content beyond 1980, try ProQuest Congressional or U.S. Congressional Serial Set from HeinOnline.
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is considered an essential publication for studying American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate documents, House and Senate reports, and much more. The Serial Set began publication in 1817 with the 15th Congress, 1st session.
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Comprehensive historical collection of legal and law-related material, including many North American legal journals. Coverage: From 1800s to present. Continually adding new content.
These are some suggestions. See also collection of Connecticut Newspapers in microfilm.
You can also filter the list of databases by selecting "newspaper" from the Subject menu.
Newspaper. Coverage: Access to 1764 - 1999 is a separate subscription provided by the Connecticut State Library and requires a CT State Library card.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Historical New York Times with Index.Coverage: Full-text: 1851-2019. Index: 1851-1993.
Full text of the New York Times newspaper, 1980 to current. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Full-text of American newspapers, 1690-1922.
Historical newspaper database covering over 100 newspaper titles from cities and towns in Connecticut from 1786 to 2005. You may find newspaper articles, births, deaths, and more with browse by location, date and publication.
These are just some suggestions. See our full A-Z list (link above, at top of Database section) and researchIT CT (link below, may be accessed with a library card from participating public, school, or academic libraries, depending on the resource selected).
Digitized images of over 1,100 American magazines and journals that began publication between 1740 and 1900. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
Extensive backfile volumes of more than 2,500 full text, core scholarly journals in History, Political Science and other disciplines. The backfiles begin with the very first issues, many of which reach back to the 1800s.
Official case law of some of the most important United States government institutions. Coverage: Varies, earliest is 1894.
Primary judicial documents presented to the United States Supreme Court. Coverage: 1832-1978.
It includes biographies, obituaries and photographs. Most of the biographies come with full text, abstracts, and citations.
Covering the regulation of firearms in the United States, includes periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more.
Please search our catalog and archives finding aids for additional resources.
Colt : A Collection Of Letters And Photographs About The Man, The Arms, The Company by These are a few examples.
