These are a few topics that you might consider focusing into a History Day Project. See sub-pages for subjects and a few suggested resources to get you started.
Collection of full-text newspapers published at United States prisons by incarcerated individuals, including Connecticut newspapers digitized by the Connecticut State Library.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Digitized images of over 1,100 American magazines and journals that began publication between 1740 and 1900. Remote access with a library card issued by the Connecticut State Library.
These are a few examples. For a full list, see:
This HeinOnline collection focuses on the various uses for water, from hydropower, to agriculture, to drinking water, and how increasing pressures on water supply from climate change exacerbates historical tensions over who has access to water for what purpose.
HeinOnline:"A collection of philosophical books, legislative histories, government documents, and more that analyze the development of animal rights and animal-related legislation."
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
Public policy issues from Congressional Research Service. Coverage: CRS reports, 1916 - ; Committee Prints, 1830 -. Updated continuously. National and international.
Index of Connecticut town officials requesting state aid for support of non-resident individuals in their municipality.
Covers U.S. immigration history from the earliest colonial settlements to the present.
This HeinOnline database presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
It includes legislative histories, books, treatises, periodicals, as well as focuses on copyrights, patents, and trademarks in the United States.
This HeinOnline database focuses on the structure, creation, actions, and oversight of the courts both at the state and federal level.
Comprehensive index and selected full-text source for Congressional publications. Coverage: 1819-
Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.
1920 saw the passage of the 19th Amendment, granting women the right to vote.
For resources see:
Prudence Crandall opened the Canterbury Female Boarding School, a school for girls and allowed girls of color to attend, thus creating what is believed to be the first integrated classroom. When White parents withdrew their children, Crandall decided to make the school for African American girls. For this she was arrested and brought to court.
For legal resources, see https://libguides.ctstatelibrary.org/hg/africanamerican/crandall
The Connecticut State Library has a unique collection pertaining to the long struggle for LGBTQ rights in Connecticut: the Betty Hudson Papers, RG 069:175. Betty Hudson (1931-2016) was a politician and activist who was Connecticut’s first female state senator in the 1970s. Hudson championed both women’s and LGBTQ rights during her tenure in office. Among her accomplishments was introducing a bill guaranteeing equal rights to gay people, which, while it did not become law, was the first LGBTQ rights bill to pass any legislative chamber in the United States. After her time in office ended, Hudson lived in Simsbury with her long-time friend and companion, Fran Roberts. She passed away in 2016.
This collection contains both political and personal papers, including legislative records, photographs, publications, and more.
1989 lawsuit that lead to 1996 Connecticut Supreme Court case. Sheff v. O'Neill, 238 Conn. 1, 678 A.2d 1267. Settlement approved Jan. 10, 2020.
Elizabeth Horton Sheff filed on behalf of her son, Milo Sheff lead plaintiff (of 18 Hartford area school children), suing the State of Connecticut, constitutionally elected officials, including Gov. William A. O'Neill, and others from various state commissions and agencies.
See https://libguides.ctstatelibrary.org/historyday/Sheff-v-ONeill
Redlining gets its name from "residential security" maps drawn by agents of the Home Owners Loan Corporation, a federal agency, between 1933 and 1940. On these maps neighborhoods would be grouped into four color-coded categories, with highly desirable neighborhoods shaded green and the least desirable neighborhoods shaded red.
See our guide:
The right to live or die, the to avoid cruel and unusual punishment.
For legal resources, see our research guide:
In the U.S., rights and responsibilities are granted by state and federal constitutions.
See our research guides:
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.
