It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Site: "The Colt’s Patent Firearms Manufacturing Company Factory Collection was given to the Museum of Connecticut History in 1957. The collection constitutes one of the finest assemblages of early Colt prototypes, factory models and experimental firearms in the world."
This collection includes images of company administrators, employees, visitors to the Armory, interior and exterior factory views (including from the fire of 1864 and floods of 1936 and 1938), other Colt properties, events, promotional materials, and many firearms. Another exhibit of Colt firearms can be found at the State Library`s …
American heritage, 1957 March 7 - Documents the transfer of Colt Museum to the State of Connecticut in 1957 by the Penn-Texas Co. Includes also segments on Samuel Colt, the inside at the factory, and the transfer ceremony in Memorial Hall, Connecticut State Library Building on March 7, 1957.
Site: "The Elizabeth Hart Jarvis Colt Collection came to the Wadsworth Atheneum upon the death of Mrs. Colt in 1905. A time capsule of Victorian Hartford, the collection includes American and European paintings and sculpture, the furnishings and contents of Armsmear—the mansion-house built by Samuel Colt in 1857—and Colt’s personal collection of firearms, edged weapons, and armor from around the world. The latter gathering not only includes prototype weapons from Colt’s firearm company, but also rare and historic pieces given as gifts to Colonel Colt by czars, princes, and sultans."
Wadsworth - Art
Elizabeth Colt donated much of her personal art collection to the Wadsworth Atheneum.
Call Number: WA MSS S-2948
Correspondence, diaries, printed material, business papers, personal papers, photographs, postcards, and maps relating to Samuel Colt and the Jarvis-Robinson family. Colt's business activities, correspondence from the Jarvis-Robinson family, and printed ephemera relating to Colt's Manufacturing Company and the family's social engagements are especially well represented in the papers. Colt's national and international business ventures, particularly with Texas and Russia; family travel diaries; and an 1868 map of Hartford are also present.
HPL: "The Hartford City Parks Collection at the Hartford History Center documents the growth and extent of the city’s pioneering efforts in creating and developing municipal parks at the turn of the twentieth century. Among the government entities that were part of the City Parks Department was the Street Commissioner’s department; a number of glass negative images that depict the development of the city’s street and related infrastructure in the early decades of the twentieth-century are included in the City Parks Collection.:
Videos on Coltsville
There are DVDs by CTN (ConnecticutNetwork) in the Connecticut State Libraries collection that may be found by searching our catalog. Many may not been found online.
Here are a few other videos from other organizations:
Site: "Hartford’s Coltsville neighborhood is transforming into a national historical park showcasing the industrial innovation of the famed Colt firearms. Coltsville National Historical Park Supt., James Woolsey, joins Eric Clemons from Infinity Music Hall."
U.S. Congressman John B. Larson is joined by site: "U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar and other Connecticut officials in front of the old Colt Factory in Hartford to discuss Coltsville becoming a United States National Park."