History Day - by Subject

Contains a list of Committee members, 1991-1992; minutes, April-May, 1991 and February, 1992; and 1991 Joint Favorable List. 1991-1992

The Commerce Committee has cognizance of all matters relating to the Department of Economic and Community Development, the Connecticut Development Authority and Connecticut Innovations, Incorporated. Consists of meeting documents including notices, agendas, minutes, attendance, and roll calls; bill books, and correspondence.
Dates: 1993-1997

Overview Hiram Percy Maxim (1869-1936) was an inventor, engineer, designer, and writer. He was association with the Maxim silencer, Selden auto, American Radio Play League, Amateur Cinema League, etc. Correspondence, photographs, drawings, sketches, workbooks, and scrapbooks pertaining to Maxim, his work, and that of his father, Sir Hiram Stevens Maxim. ...
Dates: 1865 - 1945

Overview The Union Company was incorporated in 1800 to clear a channel in the Connecticut River from Hartford to Long Island Sound. After the channel was cleared, the Company was allowed to collect tolls from vessels using the river.
Dates: 1801-1862

Connecticut History Illustrated (CHI): "Invention and innovation have characterized the growth of Connecticut’s prosperity over the course of more than two centuries. In the post-Revolutionary War period, Connecticut began a process of industrialization that relied upon both established and new technologies to build an industrial economy and the infrastructure to support a growing population. While manufacturing lost its central role in the state’s economy in the latter part of the twentieth century, new technologies, and the research to support them, continue to provide opportunities and to require an educational system focused on the requisite scientific and technological skills and knowledge. The Science and Technology featured topic provides a sampling of resources that highlight innovation in a wide range of areas, and the application of scientific understanding to yield transformations to everyday life. It is one twenty-four curated sets created through the Connecticut Collections Alliance project funded by Connecticut Humanities, which seeks to make resources in Connecticut cultural heritage organizations more accessible, discoverable and usable for a wide range of audiences. To find more resources on science and technology in Connecticut and any related topics, use the topic headings and other keywords within records to extend your searches--terms such as “inventors,” “patent*,” “research and development,” (enclosing phrases in quotes, and using an * to allow for singular, plural or other forms)."

"The Windham Textile and History Museum (The Mill Museum of Connecticut), located in the historic former headquarters of the American Thread Company of Willimantic, Connecticut, is a non-profit educational institution housing a museum, a library, and an archive. Through its exhibits, programs, and collections, the museum preserves and interprets the history of textiles, textile arts and the textile industry, with special emphasis on the experiences of the craftspeople, industrial workers, manufacturers, inventors, designers, and consumers. The museum also promotes greater understanding of major trends and changes in technology, economy, immigration, society, environment, and culture that shaped Connecticut, New England, and the United States from the colonial period to the present."

site: "Websites are captured once per month, once per quarter, or twice per year and continue to be captured even if the company no longer appears on the list. For companies that have changed names, were part of a merger or acquisition, or have dissolved, we have tried to include notes in the description of the company website record.
Collection Period: March 2015 to present (this is an ongoing archive)."

Site blog: "The set includes historical background information and teaching ideas that support students as they analyze these unique primary sources. The set also gives teachers an opportunity to begin a discussion of the ways in which women have been represented in the historical record and to consider possible causes of those gaps." "The resources in this primary source set are intended for classroom use. If your use will be beyond a single classroom, please review the copyright and fair use guidelines."

Site: "OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTI’s home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect.
"OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. OSTI.GOV provides access to this DOE STI by offering numerous easy-to-use search capabilities and customization options; and for the DOE community, additional citation information is available to help researchers evaluate article impact and find related research."