Education & Connecticut - History Day - by Subject - LibGuides Home at Connecticut State Library.

Connecticut Education

Education Resources at the Connecticut State Library (CSL)

These are only some of the many resources available. The focus is remote access, when possible. There are resources for students studying Education as a topic, as well as resources for teachers and other educators.

Court Cases

See Law & Courts and its sub-pages, as well as specific people in Previous Topics Guide.

Sheff v. O'Neill - History Day
History Day page for previous topics. Contains resources that may be of help with future topics.

Archives

These are just some items in the Connecticut State Archives Collection. These Finding Aids might offer a glimpse into resources in our secured State Archives Collections. Many times, you may find relevant resources in other record groups. You can ask our History & Genealogy reference for more ideas.

Archives are part of CSL SECURED COLLECTIONS. Please read:

Using Archives & Secured Collections
Learn how to request and use archival collections.

See also specific town archives.

Department of Education records (RG010)
Archives Finding Aid.
Overview The origins of the Department of Education date from an 1838 bill creating a Board of Education to investigate and report on the condition of all common schools. The current State Board of Education dates from 1865. A commissioner, who serves as secretary of the board, heads the Department. Includes some attendance reports and some passports and birth certificates of work permit applicants, 1870-1930. ...
Dates: 1845-2007
RG 002:025, Education Committee, 1972-2007
Subjects covered include adult literacy, bilingual education, higher education, school construction, school integration, school equalization, special education, teacher and school administrator shortage. Records include meeting material, background material and legislative material.
Department of Public Health, 1799-2014, bulk 1887-2014. (RG016)
Archives Finding Aid.
Overview The Department of Public Health is the State's lead agency in public health policy and advocacy.
Dates: 1799-2014; Majority of material found within , 1877-2014
more...less...
In 1878, the General Assembly established a State Board of Health mandated to “take cognizance of the interests of health and life” of the people of Connecticut. It made sanitary investigations to inquire into and report on the causes of disease and the sources of mortality. It distributed sanitary information to local boards of health and compiled data submitted by these boards. It also had supervision of birth, death, and marriage registrations. Today the Department of Public Health is the State’s lead agency in public health policy and advocacy. Its major program areas include prevention/education, regulation, planning, emergency medical services, and local health administration.
Connecticut School for Boys, 1855-1995. RG178:001
The State Reform School opened in 1854 in Meriden Connecticut. The name was changed in 1893 to the Connecticut School for Boys. In January of 1970 the school came under the administrative control of the Department of Children and Youth Services. In 1972 the school merged with Long Lane School, the state reform school for girls, after experiencing internal troubles with staff and student discipline. Economic costs to the state were also an issue. All boys staying at the school were transferred to Long Lane School between 1972 and 1973. Items in this collection include student and staff records and photographs.
Long Lane School, 1867-2000. RG178:002
The Connecticut Industrial School for Girls was established in 1868 as a private institution for delinquent girls. In 1917 the State took control of the school and renamed it Long Lane Farm which changed to Long Lane School in 1943. Items in this collection include documents about staff and student life, photographs, paintings and artifacts.
Mansfield Training School, 1863-1992 (RG170:001)
The Mansfield Training School was established in 1917 with the merging of two institutions, the Connecticut Colony for Epileptics and the Connecticut Training School for the Feeble Minded (previously known as the School for Imbeciles) "to provide for the care, custody, education and employment of mental defective (feeble minded) and epileptic persons."1 On its opening on July 1, 1917 there were 402 students in residence.
See finding aid for more information.
Connecticut School Fund
Part of RG 007, Office of the State Treasurer, 1741-1979.
more...less...
The records of the Connecticut School Fund, 1793-1948, consist of correspondence, journals, reports, accounting records, and deeds for lands in Ohio, Massachusetts, and New York. Veterans’ Bonus Division files, 1947-1979, consist primarily of bonus application or claim files and card indexes, the bulk of which are only available on microfilm, and a small quantity of death claim files.
State Teachers’ Retirement Board RG023
Consists of information used by the Teachers' Retirement Board to determine benefits for individual teachers. Includes bound annual staffing reports listing individual teachers on a town payroll as of October 1st of a given year. The annual deduction reports list contributions made to the fund by individual teachers during the school year. The correspondence between board staff and individual teachers and school boards regarding policy decisions and procedures. The refund check registers list withdrawals made by individual teachers.
more...less...
The State Teachers’ Retirement Board administers the Teacher’s Retirement System that provides members, public school teachers and their beneficiaries, with retirement, disability, survivorship, and health benefits.
Connecticut State Teachers Association, 1846-1934. (RG144)
Finding aid not yet online.
more...less...
The Connecticut State Teachers Association was chartered in Meriden on April 7, 1816. The purpose of the Association was, “the mutual improvement of its members, and the elevation of the character of our schools.” The records include minutes of meetings, records of the Board of Directors, financial records, programs, correspondence, and related papers. Also included are records of the Fairfield County Teachers Association, 1877-1934.
Connecticut State Teachers’ League, 1903-1920. (RG145)
Finding Aid not yet online.
more...less...
The Connecticut State Teachers’ League was founded in 1903 to promote higher professional standards and training. Its membership was limited to women. The records consist of minutes of meetings, constitution, financial records, meeting announcements, and correspondence.
Connecticut Valley Kindergarten Association, 1985-1940 (RG146)
Finding Aid not yet online.
more...less...
The Connecticut Valley Kindergarten Association was organized in 1882. The object of the organization was, “to promote sympathy and helpfulness among its members and to stimulate interest in all branches of kindergarten work.” The collection includes meeting minutes, lists of members, and records from the treasurer.
Connecticut Teachers’ Annuity Guild, 1896-1927 (RG147)
Finding aid not yet online.
more...less...
The Connecticut Teachers’ Annuity Guild was formed in 1896 from various smaller regional teacher organizations around the state. The records consist of minutes of meetings and financial records.
Northwest Child Welfare Club RG115
Overview Originally organized as the Mothers Neighborhood Circle, it became the Northwest Child Welfare Club in 1936. The Club attempted to “promote child welfare in home, school, church and community . . . raise standards of home life. . . secure adequate laws for the care and protection of women and children.”
Dates: 1914-1959
more...less...
Originally organized as the Mothers Neighborhood Circle, it became the Northwest Child Welfare Club in 1936. The Club attempted to “promote child welfare in home, school, church and community . . . raise standards of home life. . . secure adequate laws for the care and protection of women and children.” In 1959, they agreed to disband, feeling their work had been successfully taken over by private organizations such as the Parent Teacher Association (PTA), and the state in the form of aid to dependent children and workmen’s compensation. Records include meeting minutes, financial records, directories and programs, and a card file of member names and addresses.
Connecticut Council of Churches and Religious Education records (RG134)
Archives Finding Aid
Overview The Connecticut Council of Churches and Religious Education was formed "to promote and extend the Christian religion in Connecticut by furnishing an interdenominational agency for cooperation in Christian education, comity, and social relations". Contains minutes, treasurer's records, convention records, printed materials, reports and statistics of the Connecticut Federation of Churches, Connecticut Sunday School Union, Connecticut Sunday School Teachers Association, Connecticut Sunday School...
Dates: 1832-1997
more...less...
The Council was formed as an interdenominational organization to promote the Christian religion. The records contain minutes, convention programs, and the financial records of several predecessor organizations, the Connecticut Federation of Churches, Connecticut Sunday School Union, Connecticut Sunday School Association, Connecticut Council of Religious Education, Highland Auxiliary of the Connecticut Sunday School Association, North Tolland Sunday School Association, Professional Religious Education Association, and Connecticut Council of Churches. Also included are printed pamphlets and newspaper clippings.
Permanent Commission on the Status of Women RG176
Finding Aid for what is in CT State Archives. Items are not necessarily online.
Overview The General Assembly created the Permanent Commission on the Status of Women in 1973. The Commission was charged to work to eliminate sex discrimination within the state.
Dates: 1972-1993
more...less...
The General Assembly created the Permanent Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW) in 1973. The Commission was charged to work to eliminate sex discrimination within the state. The Commission’s first task was to review existing statutes to ensure conformity with the 1974 state equal rights amendment. It continues its efforts to ensure equal employment, housing, credit, and educational opportunities for the state’s women. In addition to its legislative efforts, the PCSW assists individuals who believe they have suffered sex discrimination in employment and other areas. The PCSW offers advice on legal rights and assists with filing formal complaints with the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (RG 154). Records include materials created by the Executive Director, Public Information Office, Legislative Coordinator, Office Manager, and Intake Officer. The collection includes administrative files, correspondence, reports, subject files, photographs, newspaper clippings, and financial records.
Plainfield Historical Society records RG112
Overview The Plainfield Historical Society was established in a meeting held January 8, 1916 in the Town Clerk’s Office, Central Village. Judge John E. Prior was chosen chairman. The date of its last meeting was November 10, 1917.
Dates: 1820-1932
more...less...
The Plainfield Historical Society was established in January 1916 in the Town Clerk’s Office, Central Village. Materials transferred to the State Library include records generated by the Society as well as historical materials collected by the Society. Records created by the Society include correspondence, financial records, reports, scrapbooks, historical sketch of the town of Plainfield, essays submitted for an essay contest, and materials documenting the Society’s reorganization in 1916-1917. Materials collected by the Society include records of North Meeting House School District (1821-31), the Moosup School District (1831-78), the Central School District (1829-73), the Plainfield School Society Treasurer’s records (1833-71), and some anonymous account books.
Mystic Oral School records (RG010:038)
Archives finding aid.
The origins of the Department of Education date from an 1838 bill creating a Board of Education to investigate and report on the condition of all common schools. The current State Board of Education dates from 1865. A commissioner, who serves as secretary of the board, heads the Department. Includes some attendance reports and some passports and birth certificates of work permit applicants, 1870-1930. Dates: 1897-1979

State Documents, Books, etc.

These are just some examples.

Many items do not circulate. Contact a librarian for assistance.

Index to CT State Board of Education & State Department of Education, Connecticut School Documents 1884–1972
Publications produced by the Connecticut State Board of Education and the State Department of Education covering the years 1884 through the 1971-72 school year.
CSL Conn Doc Ed83s

Profiles of Our Schools : Condition of Education in Connecticut
Call Number: Conn Doc Ed83 psch
Some online through our catalog.
Check catalog record for additional titles in the series.
Continues: School District Profiles
Continued by: Condition of Education in Connecticut
Frequency
A Plan for the Mental, Moral and Physical Development of Children
Call Number: Online and Cage Conn Doc So43g Item Does Not Circulate
Publication Date: 1864
Online access through our catalog.
The Role Of The Schools In Wartime
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc Ed83 roL Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1942
Online access through our catalog.
Report of the Mansfield State Training School and Hospital, Mansfield Depot, Conn. to the Governor from, 1918/1920-1940
Call Number: Online and ConnDoc M317
Publication Date: 1918-1940
Published: Sept. 30, 1918 to June 30, 1920- Ceased with June 30, 1940. Frequency: Biennial. Note. Continues: Mansfield State Training School and Hospital (Mansfield Depot, Conn.). Biennial report of the Mansfield State Training School and Hospital, formerly Connecticut Colony for Epileptics and Connecticut Training School for Feeble-Minded, Mansfield Depot, Conn. for the two years ended .. Merged with: Southbury Training School (Southbury, Conn.). Board of Trustees. Report of the Board of Trustees of the Southbury Training School, Southbury, Connecticut, to the Governor, for the biennium ending ... To form: Mansfield-Southbury Joint Board. Reports to the Governor of the Mansfield State Training School and Hospital, the Southbury State Training School, the Mansfield-Southbury Social Service Department.
A Manual of Physical Education for Elementary Grades
Call Number: Online and Conn Doc Ed83 maph e - Item does not circulate
Publication Date: 1922
Online through the Library of Congress

School Fund

The School Fund
Call Number: Online and ConnDoc Sch63g
Publication Date: 189-
The School Fund, 1908/1909-1912/1913
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 1908-1913
The School Fund, 1908/1909-1912/1913
Published: 1908/1909-1912/1913. Frequency: Annual. Note: Report year ends Sept. 30. Continues: Connecticut. Commissioner of the School Fund. Report of the Commissioners of the School Fund, made to the General Assembly at their session in .. Continued by: Connecticut. Treasury Dept. Report of the condition of the School Fund for the fiscal year ended

Other Institutions

Busing in Connecticut (CHI)
Connecticut History Illustrated (CHI) -formerly Connecticut History Online (CHO) - This collection covers the years 19??-19?? about the busing issue in Hartford, CT."
A Co-Operative Study of New London Schools Volume 1
Internet Archive, Connecticut College's collection
A Co-Operative Study of New London Schools Volume 2
Internet Archive, Connecticut College's collection

Terminology and Usage Disclaimer

Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.

Terminology Policy
Please note that this policy is subject to change and expansion as we learn more about the needs and preferences of our diverse audiences.

History Day - by Subject

Connecticut Education

Education Resources at the Connecticut State Library (CSL)

See also:

Court Cases

Archives

Archives

State Documents, Books, etc.

State Documents, Books, etc.

School Fund

School Fund

Other Institutions

Terminology and Usage Disclaimer