History Day - by Subject

Library of Congress (LOC) Site: "Chronicling America provides free access to millions of historic American newspaper pages. Listed here are topics widely covered in the American press of the time. We will be adding more topics on a regular basis"

Description from GODORT research guide "Education resources are distributed across many websites and program offices at NOAA and on NOAA partner websites. This portal is designed to assist educators in accessing these materials from one centralized interface. The content here is a sampling of NOAA's education resources and more can be found at each linked location."

Most of the photographs in the Dudley collection are of war-related activities in Hartford during 1917-1919. All are believed to have been donated by William G. Dudley, a commercial photographer located on Main Street, Hartford during the war years. The subjects of the World War I photographs include the induction and embarkation of Connecticut soldiers, prominent Hartford citizens, military reviews, parades, Liberty Loan bond drives, Red Cross activities and armistice celebrations. Material of similar content is found in the Crocker Collection (RG69:002). Photographs attributed to Dudley can be found in the Crocker Group, while some pictures in the Dudley Collection were taken by another Hartford photographer, Frank Chudoba. Crocker, Dudley and Chudoba were all associated with the Hartford Courant. Many of the photographs in the Dudley Collection can be found printed in the Hartford Courant and citations are provided where applicable. In 1977 all of the negatives were placed in acid-free envelopes and 460 of the 573 glass plate negatives were printed. There were also 244 nitrate film negatives of Connecticut soldiers on the Mexican Front in 1916 which were digitized in 2014.

Be sure to check the second page, linked on the left menu.
Library of Congress (LOC): "Established in 1881, the American Red Cross became a major humanitarian organization during World War I. This guide provides access to material related to the "American Red Cross in WWI" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."

Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "Clara Barton was a nurse, teacher, patent clerk and founded the American Red Cross. This guide provides access to materials related to the "Clara Barton" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers"

The Blizzard of 1888, also known as the "Great White Hurricane," lasted for three days, from March 12-14. The blizzard buried an unprepared Northeast in up to 50 inches of snow. The precipitation was accompanied by winds reaching 60 mph that piled snow drifts up to 38 feet tall. Horse cars, stagecoaches, and trains came to a halt, making the delivery of food and fuel difficult. Most communication by telegraph was disrupted by downed lines across the region and cities like New York, Boston, and Hartford were unaware of events around them. The blizzard left more than 400 people dead and caused upwards of 20 million dollars worth of property damage. The resulting cleanup effort was accomplished by plows drawn by horses and oxen or more often by shovel. This collection consists of 72 photographs taken of Hartford and its immediate surroundings both during and after the blizzard. The photographs are almost exclusively albumen prints taken by photographers E.P. Kellogg, R.C. Buell, William B. Lloyd, and William H. Lockwood. Lockwood compiled 37 photographs into a book entitled, "The Great Snow Storm," which he donated to the Connecticut State Library in 1916. Addresses for buildings and businesses were obtained from the Sanborn Insurance Maps of Hartford, 1885 and the Geer's Hartford City Directory, 1888. Addresses from 1888 may not corroborate with matching addresses today as street names and numbers in Hartford have changed. For example, The Wadsworth Antheneum was located at 206 Main Street in 1888, the number has since changed to 600 Main Street.

Library of Congress (LOC) research guide: "For three days in March of 1988, over three feet of snow fell from Delaware to Montreal. This guide provides information on researching the topic of "The Great Blizzard of 1888" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers"
CT State Library's newspaper collection will also include articles about the Blizzard of 1888.