Skip to Main Content

History Day - by Subject

Examples of resources, arranged by broad subjects, from previous Connecticut History Day competitions

LGBTQ+

LGBTQ+

(lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, transsexual, queer, questioning, intersex, asexual, pansexual, etc.).

This describes a person's sexual orientation or gender.

For Lavender Scare and other topics, see page under Civil & Human Rights.

For specific people, check the History Day Previous Topics guide to see if they are listed.

State Archives

State Archives

Betty Hudson

The CT State Archives received her papers.

Biographical Note (from finding aid)
Betty Hudson, née Elizabeth Bagi, was born on March 5, 1931 in Port Chester, New York, along with her identical twin sister, Mary "Re-Re." She attended Stamford High School and Michigan State University, married Donald Hudson, and settled in Branford, Connecticut. The couple had two children, Todd and Leigh, and eventually relocated to Madison, Connecticut, where Hudson began her political career. In 1974, she legally changed her first name to "Betty."

The CT Archives finding aid includes the following:

Bibliography
Articles
Roessner, B. T. "Former State Senator Continues Her Crusades From Governor's Office," The Hartford Courant, November 11, 1979, p. 37.
Books
Love, B. J. Feminists Who Changed America, 1963-1975, Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2006.
Websites
The Hartford Courant. Hudson, Betty: Obituary
The New Haven Register. Hudson, Donald and Doreen: Obituary
Roessner, B. T. "Former State Senator Continues Her Crusades From Governor's Office," The Hartford Courant, November 11, 1979, p. 37.
Love, B. J. Feminists Who Changed America, 1963-1975, Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2006.

 

Newspapers, Newsletters, etc.

Newspapers, Newsletters, etc.

Articles - Databases

Articles

Databases

These are only a few suggestions - there are many others that may have relevant articles, especially newspapers.

Subscription databases may require use within the Connecticut State Library (CSL) building, or a CSL library card.

Be sure to check researchIT CT databases that, depending on the database grouping, may be accessed with your school ID, a card from a CT public library, or a CSL library card.

 

Other Institutions

Other Institutions

Other Libraries

These are guides created by other libraries. The Connecticut State Library will have many of the federal documents listed (if any are listed). You most likely will not be able to access any of the subscription databases listed by other libraries. 

Gay Rights Bill of 1975

Gay Rights Bill of 1975

Also check the general History Day guide. There are numerous resources listed there that won't be repeated here.

Other

LBGTQ+ and the Military

Statistics & Data

US Census Bureau

In July 2021, the Census Bureau began collecting information on the sexual orientation and gender identity of respondents to its Household Pulse Survey. Not all surveys collect this information, making it complex to compare data across surveys without advanced statistical analysis. Remember that terminology changed over time. Finding historic data may prove to be difficult. 

These are a few suggested resources - you might want to explore information linked off these pages. Most resources report fairly current statistics, which may help when putting your research in context.

Education

Harvey Milk

Terminology & Usage Disclaimer

Please be advised that some of these resources--particularly those created in previous eras--contain descriptions for ancestral, racial, ethnic, and gender identity that may be offensive or harmful to individuals investigating these records, and are considered inappropriate to use in modern times. The descriptions and treatment of historically marginalized groups, women, and animals may be upsetting. Also, please note that inclusion in this subject guide does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the views therein--we encourage investigators to use their own judgment when evaluating books, websites, articles, documents, and other resources.

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.