History Day - Military & Events

Archives Finding Aid.
The Connecticut Peace Society appears to have been established in 1910, “to foster the spirit of amity and concord among the nations, and to create a public sentiment which will lead to the abandonment of war as a means of settling international disputes.”
Dates: 1910-1921

Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) collection.

"After World War One, the League of Nations was created as a forum for resolving international disputes. This guide provides access to materials related to the "League of Nations" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."

"On June 9, 1915, Williams Jennings Bryan resigns as Secretary of State due to antiwar ideals. This guide provides access to materials related to the "William Jennings Bryan Resignation" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers."

Library of Congress (LOC). There are also revised versions within LOC collection.

CTHistory.org

Central Connecticut State University (CCSU): "The library has begun digitizing selected items from the collection. The diaries of Burritt's nieces and letters to and from Burritt are now available in [their] digital repository."

Swarthmore College Peace Collection: "The Swarthmore College Peace Collection documents non-governmental efforts for nonviolent social change, disarmament, and conflict resolution. Established over 90 years ago, the Peace Collection is the most extensive research library and archive collection in the United States focusing solely on movements for peace around the world."

Library of Congress (LOC) digital collection: "The papers of suffragist, political strategist, and pacifist Carrie Lane Chapman Catt (1859-1947) span the years 1848-1950, with the bulk of the material dating from 1890 to 1920. The collection consists of approximately 9,500 items (11,851 images), most of which were digitized from 18 microfilm reels. Included are diaries, correspondence, speeches and articles, subject files, and miscellaneous items, including photographs and printed matter. The collection reflects Catt's steadfast dedication to two major ideals--the rights of women, particularly the right to vote, and world peace."

Library of Congress (LOC) digitized book.

Library of Congress (LOC)