Government Information
Reference Services
Elections are held for federal, state, and local offices. Connecticut does not have a county government system. Special districts elect their officers.
On the state level, the Secretary of the State is the Commissioner of Elections and responsible for elections and voting. On the local level, town clerks maintain the records of voter registration and are the chief local election official.
Connecticut has essentially three types of local government based on Home Rule and/or the town charter. Therefore, the election process for local offices may vary. There are also boroughs and special districts within municipalities.
Elections for the Connecticut General Assembly are held every two years.
General Election - winner assumes the office
Primary Election - held within a political party when a nomination is contested. In Connecticut, only registered members of a political party may vote within that party's primary. This is a closed primary system.
For nation-wide research, you might try resources on the Other Institutions page (see side navigation).
The Register and Manual lists elected (and many appointed) officials at state and local levels. The Connecticut State Library has an historic collection, with many digitized volumes available. The guide below has links to online volumes.
CGA FAQ page: "Members are elected in November of even-numbered years from the districts in which they reside. Members of the Connecticut House of Representatives and the Connecticut Senate serve for a two-year term."
These are only a few suggestions. Search our catalog, Primo, for additional resources.
An Introduction to Connecticut State and Local Government by
From LibGuides: "An Introduction to Connecticut State and Local Government is a timely, comprehensive, and well-referenced college level text for political science courses focused on state and local government. Author Edward Sembor covers the major governmental institutions and actors found at the state and local levels in Connecticut."
See also the sections on state and federal resources in this guide.
Connecticut has essentially three types of local government based on Home Rule and/or the town charter. Therefore, the election process for local offices may vary. There are also boroughs and special districts within municipalities. Special districts elect their officers. Connecticut does not have a county government system.
These are only a few suggestions. Check our library catalog, Primo, for additional items.
An Introduction to Connecticut State and Local Government by
From LibGuides: "An Introduction to Connecticut State and Local Government is a timely, comprehensive, and well-referenced college level text for political science courses focused on state and local government. Author Edward Sembor covers the major governmental institutions and actors found at the state and local levels in Connecticut."
Local Government in Connecticut by
From LibGuides: "Originally published in 1992 and revised in 2001, Frank B. Connolly's Local Government in Connecticut is one of the most useful and well-established resources on the state's local government. Written expressly for public officials and students, the book explains Connecticut's basic forms of local government and its many variants, as well as examining their inner workings, including governance, management, administration, municipal services, education, and land use. This new edition has been entirely revised, expanded, and updated, with new chapters on charter revision, municipal employees and unionization, education, homeland security and local government, pensions, and economic development. It includes references to key sections of the Connecticut General Statutes. This unique and indispensable resource for the state is published in cooperation with the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities."
These are only a few examples. For a full list of our databases, including online newspapers, see:
Comprehensive historical collection of legal and law-related material, including many North American legal journals. Coverage: From 1800s to present. Continually adding new content.
HeinOnline has several collections - scroll through the main menu page and click on items such as: Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
This HeinOnline database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more.