LibGuides Home: Court Information: Connecticut State Courts

Contact Us

Law & Legislative Reference Services

Search

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

Case Law Research Databases

These subscription databases can be used with a Connecticut State Library Card.

Fastcase Includes primary law from all 50 states as well as treatise libraries on elder law, employment law, estate planning, evidence law, family law, insurance law, personal injury law, real estate law, remedies, and more.
User help at https://www.fastcase.com/support/#documentation
HeinOnline Comprehensive historical collection of legal and law-related material, including many North American legal journals. Coverage: From 1800s to present. Continually adding new content.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/getting-started/overview
Westlaw Thomson Reuters Westlaw (formerly WestlawNext) offers current and historical state and federal statutes, case law materials, periodicals, law reviews, and other legal resources. Coverage: 50 States; District of Columbia; U.S. Supreme Court; U.S. Courts of Appeal; Federal District Courts and Bankruptcy Courts.

The external links below are provided as an information service only. They provide free case law, but do not include a citator service.

About Connecticut Courts

The Connecticut Judicial Branch website explains the history, role, organization, administration, and operations of Connecticut courts. Below are selected links on the Connecticut Judicial Branch website and the Connecticut Probate Court website.

Selected Links on Connecticut Court Websites

For additional print resources, please see a librarian or search our catalog.

Connecticut Practice Book
Call Number: KFC4130 .C6
The Connecticut Practice Book is available in print in the Law Reference area. Our collection includes court rules of practice dating back to 1879. The 2009 edition through the current edition are available electronically.
Connecticut Practice Series
Call Number: KFC3680.C65
This 31 volume set covers many topics of law, including family, civil, criminal, appellate, elder, employment, construction, etc. Many volumes include sample forms. This set is in the Law Reference area. It is also available through the Westlaw database.
Connecticut Supreme & Appellate Court Records and Briefs
Supreme Court records and briefs in print (1786 - 2009) are located on the 4th floor of the library stacks. Supreme Court records and briefs (1986 - present) & Appellate Court records and briefs (1983 - present) on microfiche are located in the Law Reference area.
West's Connecticut Digest
Call Number: KFC3657 .W53
The digest includes case citations for state and federal courts using the Key Number System. It is located in the Law Reference area. The Key Number system is also included in the Westlaw database.
West's Connecticut Estate Practice Series
Call Number: KFC3744 .A3 C6 through KFC3744 .W54
This series of 9 books covers death taxes, settlement of estates, probate practice, powers of attorney, trust administration, etc. These volumes are located in the Law Reference area. They are also available through the Westlaw database.

For additional electronic resources, please see a librarian, view our digital collections (ContentDM and CTDA), or browse our list of databases.

Connecticut Law Tribune eBooks
Selected Connecticut Law Tribune (CLT) eBooks are available at the CT State Library. We also have many CLT books in our print collection.

Fastcase
Includes primary law from all 50 states as well as treatise libraries on elder law, employment law, estate planning, evidence law, family law, insurance law, personal injury law, real estate law, remedies, and more.
User help at https://www.fastcase.com/support/#documentation
HeinOnline
Comprehensive historical collection of legal and law-related material, including many North American legal journals. Coverage: From 1800s to present. Continually adding new content.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/getting-started/overview

Judge and Attorney Biographies
View Judge & attorney biographies that were printed in the Connecticut Reports.

Westlaw
Thomson Reuters Westlaw (formerly WestlawNext) offers current and historical state and federal statutes, case law materials, periodicals, law reviews, and other legal resources. Coverage: 50 States; District of Columbia; U.S. Supreme Court; U.S. Courts of Appeal; Federal District Courts and Bankruptcy Courts.

Rules of Court

Connecticut Practice Book
This publication includes the Rules of Professional Conduct, the Code of Judicial Conduct, Superior Court Rules, Appellate Court Rules, and information related to official forms.
Handbook of Connecticut Appellate Procedure
For Supreme and Appellate Court cases, this handbook can be used in conjunction with the Connecticut Practice Book.
Probate Court Rules of Procedure
This publication includes the rules for all types of probate cases with references to applicable statutes.

Connecticut Caselaw & Citations

Official copies of Connecticut opinions are located in the Law Reference area.

Connecticut Reports are the opinions of the Connecticut Supreme Court.

Connecticut Appellate Reports are the opinions of the Connecticut Appellate Court.

The Connecticut Supplement includes selected Connecticut Superior Court opinions (chosen by a committee of State Trial Referees for their significance).

Understanding Connecticut Legal Citations, a document prepared by the Connecticut Judicial Branch, explains the citation formats for Connecticut opinions.

Archival Court Records

State Archives Finding Aids
If you are seeking historic or archival court records, please see our State Archives finding aids.