LibGuides Home: Court Information: United States Supreme Court

Contact Us

Law & Legislative Reference Services

Search

Search Primo (Library Catalog)
Primo is the CT State Library catalog. Search for books, articles, and more!
Digital Collections - ContentDM
CSL Digital Collections - CTDA
Connecticut State Library (CSL) digital items in the Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
more...less...
Other institutions' collections may be searched from CTDA home page.
CT State Archives Finding Aids

Case Law Research Databases

These subscription databases can be used with a Connecticut State Library Card.

Fastcase Includes primary law from all 50 states as well as treatise libraries on elder law, employment law, estate planning, evidence law, family law, insurance law, personal injury law, real estate law, remedies, and more.
User help at https://www.fastcase.com/support/#documentation
HeinOnline Comprehensive historical collection of legal and law-related material, including many North American legal journals. Coverage: From 1800s to present. Continually adding new content.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/getting-started/overview
Westlaw Thomson Reuters Westlaw (formerly WestlawNext) offers current and historical state and federal statutes, case law materials, periodicals, law reviews, and other legal resources. Coverage: 50 States; District of Columbia; U.S. Supreme Court; U.S. Courts of Appeal; Federal District Courts and Bankruptcy Courts.

The external links below are provided as an information service only. They provide free case law, but do not include a citator service.

About the United States Supreme Court

The United States Supreme Court is the highest court in the federal system, also known as the "court of last resort." This court is the final arbiter of federal constitutional law. Below are selected links from the official website of the U.S. Supreme Court that will further explain their role and function in our court system.

United States Supreme Court Website

Supreme Court of the United States: Official Website
A Brief Overview of the U.S. Supreme Court
Biographies of Current Justices of the United States Supreme Court
Justices Timeline (1789 to present)
Opinions of the United States Supreme Court
Docket Search (2001 to present)
Site: "The Supreme Court’s docket system contains information about cases, both pending and decided, that have been filed at the Court. The docket provided here contains complete information regarding the status of cases filed since the beginning of the 2001 Term."
U.S. Supreme Court Oral Argument Schedules and Related Information

For additional print resources, please see a librarian or search our catalog.

Records and Briefs of the United States Supreme Court
Our collection includes U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs from 1885 - present (some years incomplete). They are organized by docket number. 1980 - present are on the 7th floor of the library stacks. Please see a librarian to request items prior to 1980 from our offiste storage location.
The Supreme Court Justices by Clare Cushman (Editor)
Call Number: KF8744 .S86 2013
Publication Date: 2012, 3rd edition
This single-volume book profiles every Supreme Court justice from John Jay through Elena Kagan.
Supreme Court Practice by Stephen M. Shapiro et al.
Call Number: KF9057 .S8 2013
Publication Date: 2013, 10th edition
This treatise offers guidance on every aspect of prosecuting and defending a case before the Supreme Court. It includes a table of cases, an extensive index, a table of rules and laws, and more.
Treatise on Constitutional Law: Substance and Procedure by Ronald D. Rotunda et al.
Call Number: KF4550 .R63 2012
Publication Date: 2012, 5th edition
This multi-volume legal treatise provides up-to-date analysis of every area of federal constitutional law, focusing primarily on the Supreme Court.

For additional electronic resources, please see a librarian or our list of databases.

Fastcase
Includes primary law from all 50 states as well as treatise libraries on elder law, employment law, estate planning, evidence law, family law, insurance law, personal injury law, real estate law, remedies, and more.
User help at https://www.fastcase.com/support/#documentation
HeinOnline
Comprehensive historical collection of legal and law-related material, including many North American legal journals. Coverage: From 1800s to present. Continually adding new content.
User help page at https://libguides.heinonline.org/getting-started/overview
LLMC-Digital
LLMC-Digital is an extensive archive of historical primary and specialized legal materials covering the U.S. federal and state governments, the British Commonwealth, other foreign countries, and various international organizations.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1823-1978
Primary judicial documents presented to the United States Supreme Court. Coverage: 1823-1978.
Westlaw
Thomson Reuters Westlaw (formerly WestlawNext) offers current and historical state and federal statutes, case law materials, periodicals, law reviews, and other legal resources. Coverage: 50 States; District of Columbia; U.S. Supreme Court; U.S. Courts of Appeal; Federal District Courts and Bankruptcy Courts.

Rules of Court

United States Supreme Court Rules
This page includes the court rules, a summary of rule changes, guidelines for argument, and guidelines for electronic brief submission.

Cornell Legal Information institute

LII Collection: U.S. Supreme Court Decisions
The Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute (LII) is freely available on the internet. Please see the link above for coverage dates and search options.

Official Supreme Court Reports

All United States Supreme Court opinions are published. The official reporter and its citation abbreviation are below.

United States Reports
- U.S.

United States Reports Bound Volumes
U.S. Supreme Court Opinions.
Site: "Caution: Only the printed bound volumes of the United States Reports contain the final, official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. In case of discrepancies between a bound volume and the materials included here--or any other version of the same materials, whether print or electronic, official or unofficial--the printed bound volume controls."

Unofficial Supreme Court Reports

Two legal publishers, West and LexisNexis, publish unofficial U. S. Supreme Court opinions. Both publishers include editorial enhancements to facilitate the research process. The reporters and their citation formats are:

Supreme Court Reporter
- S. Ct.

United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition
- L. Ed., L. Ed. 2d